We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down the Shore”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The Grand provides a great venue for time away with friends. The management is very accommodating when assigning rooms as we were within a few rooms of each other. The setting
provided a warm refuge in the cold of winter. The ocean was across the street. Though there was snow on the beach, there was warmth at the indoor pool. For dining, there is Hemingway's right off the lobby. There they serve lunch and dinner as well as a breakfast buffet on the weekends. On Friday and Saturday night there is a DJ for dancing. All without leaving the hotel. For those who want to venture out, there is shopping a short walk away as well,as many beautiful Victorian homes to view. We've been going for over ten years and have never regretted it.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view room in the main building
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,329)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

765 - 771 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just returned from a fabulous "Girls Weekend" at the Grand Hotel in Cape May, NJ. Where to begin...the staff was so polite, patient, friendly and accommodating (thanks Mark), the rooms were spacious and lovely. The linens and bedding were very comfy and clean. The entire weekend was so very well thought out, planned and executed. The decorations, linens, give-a-ways, were all charming and very fitting with the theme. The activities were just what you would want in a girl’s weekend. There was plenty of food, drinks, chatting, dancing, a DJ, more dancing, activities "Surprise and Delight," indoor poolside leisure time, more dancing and a show with "Sir Rod." Our luxury Spa treatment was just perfect and very relaxing. The champagne reception was light and fun. The Rum Bar/Pool Party cocktails and appetizers were tasty and plentiful. The bartenders were friendly, polite, and funny. The “Surprise and Delight” were gracious, respectful, very sociable and fun! I'll be looking for those beverages on my local state store shelves. The lounge/bar at Hemmingway’s kept us in a festive mood and we have great memories from there as well (and if not the pictures will remind us, LOL). It was a varied program and well played out...kudos to all the party planners!!
Women can certainly talk and there was plenty of time for that, we met many nice women from several different areas as well as some that were close to home (PA).
The breakfast buffet in the ballroom was delicious, anything and everything you could want, hot and tasty. Again, the young staff was so very accommodating and pleasant. But…..by far, the best meal ever was the "Land and Sea Buffet" in the Penthouse. The venue is exquisite; the bar overlooks the ocean and is done in rich wood tones, elegant yet warm and inviting. Back to the meal…the buffet was out of this world. There were Alaskan king crab claws, Clams, Scallops, Shrimp, Salmon, Branzino, Fillet Mignon, and the best Crab cake (pure lump crabmeat) in the world, hands down! The salads and sides were superb. I can’t even mention all the other dishes! It was duly noted that the "carb count" was low! Much appreciated!
Desert however, made up for that low carb count! Cheesecake, lemon mouse, peach cobbler, and a Chocolate Caramel Tart that was to die for, topped off with a Chocolate Fountain and “Sir Rod.” What more could we ask for! It was an impressive evening.
Thank-you to John and his entire staff for a great weekend. I had a "Grand" time and hope to return next year with more girlfriends, and would certainly recommend this "Girls Weekend" package at the Grand Hotel. – KJ

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My husband and I chose to spend a cold winter weekend at The Grand Hotel and take advantage of their heated indoor pool and hot tub. We were warmly welcomed by the front desk staff and directed to our large room on the 4th floor. The room was spotlessly clean, with a comfortable bed and view of the ocean. The hotel is across the street from the beach, and we could hear the waves crashing, even with the windows closed. There was a nice balcony with two chairs so that in warmer months you can take full advantage of the view. The room was also equipped with a mini refrigerator and microwave, and a pull out couch, which would come in handy if we were traveling with a small child or two. The elevators were small, but certainly not slow, and most of the time we took the wide and spacious stairway. The pool was fabulous, we could have spent the entire weekend lazing in the numerous comfy lounge chairs, but opted to get out and visit the nearby wineries minutes away. We enjoyed a delicious dinner of filet mignon and crabcakes at Hemingway's, the onsite restaurant that appears to be popular with the locals. The décor was modern and looked to be recently updated.There is a lively middle-aged crowd happily dancing the night away after the dinner hour is over and they clear away tables to provide a dance floor. The Grand Hotel is a perfect getaway for couples or families.

Room Tip: The second floor has an access door to a large rooftop area for sunbathing.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hhtsLucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Beautiful when we walked in. A very welcoming staff. Rooms were clean. A little disappointed in that we had an ocean front room because it was actually positioned sideways - not facing ocean but you could go out on balcony and see it. Food and drinks are excellent. Location was very nice.

Room Tip: A room for four was either two standard beds or one king and a sofa bed. Turned out sofa bed was qu...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Just returned from a three day weekend. The Grand is awesome. The staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. Our room was spotless; beds very comfortable. The pool and hot tub area is outstanding, with plenty of comfortable chaise lounges. The Grand is the perfect getaway in the winter months.

Room Tip: In the winter it's best to stay in the main building. That way you don't have to go outdoor...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love2tour55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The hallways were very long and narrow. It was hard to navigate the hotel with all its stairways, and elevators were so slow. The rooms were nice and large, but the beds were not very comfortable. The atmosphere was sort of gloomy and there was definite need of some sprucing up.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Kim30Chip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed here for two nights and it was a nice clean hotel. The indoor pool and hottub were also nice. We had Sunday brunch in the resturant which was nice but we would have loved to have a Mimosa or Bloody Mary-even though we sat in the bar they didn't serve drinks. We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathi53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
706 reviews
0.9 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
561 reviews
0.0 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
201 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: 1045 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: $115 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oceanfront Grand Hotel of Victorian Cape May is one of the largest Resort and Convention Centers along the Jersey Cape. The Grand Hotel can accommodate everyone, from Business Groups to Wedding Receptions and Vacationing Families to Family Reunions. The Grand Hotel of Cape May is dedicated to recreating the grandeur of a by-gone era while providing all of the modern comforts and conveniences for a most enjoyable stay. The perfect place to dance, dine, relax, swim and sun in Victorian Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cape May
Grand Hotel Of Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing