We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for your wedding or a beach getaway”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I had my wedding at The Grand Hotel, and I couldn't recommend it highly enough. The elegance and the views make for a spectacular combo. The renovated rooms are very nice, especially for a beach town, and come with little kitchenettes which is very helpful when at the beach. The elevators are slow, though.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellearebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

812 - 818 of 1,346 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

We booked an impromptu stay on Monday night (9/30) for our son's 4th birthday. I hope it wasn't just us, but we had to walk in a few different entrances before figuring out where the actual lobby was.

Check in took about 20 minutes, which I considered a little long for an off-peak night. The women who checked us in was not overly friendly but not rude. Just business-like. We were given 2 keys, but neither worked when we got to our room. We continued to have issues the entire time, but hotel staff did check on us to ensure everything was okay.

Our room #202, was fine for 1 night, but we were directly in front of the elevators and it did get loud at times. The room had a little seating area (off the main room) with 2 rocking chairs which was cute, but our view was the black roof. If we looked to the left, the beach was clearly visible. In fairness, we did not book an ocean view or upgraded room. Our room was spacious, clean, with plenty of storage. There was a huge open patio area with lounge chairs directly outside our room - the view was incredible. The ice machine on our floor did not work, but I only had to go up 1 flight of stairs to get some. The room was $126 for one night - I would have definitely asked for a different room if we were staying longer.

The only reason I booked The Grand is that it's the only one with an indoor pool. Ironically, we had gorgeous temps and probably didn't need it. Our son loved the kiddie pool, which is separated from the main pool. We had the entire pool to ourselves, which was a nice perk of a late September Monday night stay. After the sun set, we used the indoor pool for a few hours. The hot tub was super relaxing!! The décor is a little dated, but nothing good or bad to note.

The proximity to the beach is ideal and it's only 1 mile from the Washington Street Mall; however, the walk is little long for small kids (aka our 4 year old). After walking the town, I'm not sure that any hotel could be considered a bad spot - everything is centrally located.

I would recommend for families, groups of friends, and beach lovers.

Room Tip: Room #202 is directly in front of the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allisonh51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

One nice thing about staying at the Grand is that you are guaranteed a chance to swim. The hotel is right on the beach - great for good weather. The hotel also has a cozy warm indoor pool with comfortable lounge chairs. If you want swim outdoors without the sand, there is also an outdoor pool. Rooms are adequate and well priced - details below

Room Tip: "Townhouse" suite are two stories with nice balcony. Good for family. Private Balcony roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PASpaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I was excited about staying at this older hotel across from the beach--the website looked Grand indeed. Sadly, the rooms didn't meet expectations and were worn down and in need of a remodel which I was told was underway. Elevators are slow, too. Otherwise, had a very pleasant stay. Enjoyed the indoor pool for swimming laps and the post-wedding crowds in the bar. Food was very good and the staff over-the-top helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBwrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Other than the relative affordability of their room rates and the excellent beachfront location, the Grand Hotel is a very average hotel. Service was OK but that's to be expected given the room rates. No issues with the cleanliness of the hotel but it seemed that there were a number of rooms that were in the process of being repaired/ upgraded so there was always a bevy of maintenance folks about. Downside is there is no room service but the abundance of eating places around the hotel made up for that. Sleep quality was average - we had a two bedroom efficiency room that supposedly sleeps 6. There were four of us and the second bed is really a sofa bed which wasn't too bad. The hotel however does have a very nice indoor pool. Another downside is that with the inhouse restaurant, you do not have the ability to add the cost of meals to your hotel bill, even for breakfast. In fact, for the buffet breakfast, you actually pay at the register before even being seated which seems quite unusual - particulalry if you tip based on the service you receive at the restaurant...despite all of this, we would likely stay at this hotel again on future trips to Cape May as the room rates are probably very competitive in the area for hotels of a similar class and at the end of the day, the room is just for sleeping! I would recommend this hotel for couples with young kids looking for an affordable getaway to Cape May as a family vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SNAIR46767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I liked this hotel. I needed a quiet place convenient to the beach for a solo trip. The room was very spacious and overall pretty comfortable. Decent view of ocean although roof top as well with small balcony. There was no coffeemaker in room so I requested one and it was provided. I brought coffee since I knew that hotel did not provide. Parking was scarce at times and walks from car were far when carrying luggage. The elevators in the hotel were slow and seemed to be insufficient for number of guest. Usually took stairs from 3rd floor down because it was much quicker.

Overall it was a nice stay in a decent hotel with large rooms. Parking and elevators were biggest drawback. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancoS1M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We come to Cape May a few times every year and like try our different hotels! The Grand Hotel is located on the waterfront, there is an indoor and outdoor pool! The beach is just across the road! Compared to other hotels we had stayed before The Grand Hotel is good for its value! Don't expect your room or the lobby like The Four Seasons since you are not paying that price! The room is clean and parking is ample! What makes the different is the service. We arrived on a day when there was a 50 year highschool reunion, the hotel was busy but our receptionist, Mark(after serving numerous customers before us) greeted as with very welcoming smile and professionalism! Mark was very efficient in arranging our room and catered to our needs! Made recommendation to our dining options, not many people in the service industry serve their customers with such initiative! This made us feel very welcome and great first impression of the hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HBasile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
717 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
736 reviews
0.0 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#2 of 37 in Cape May
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
568 reviews
0.9 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,186 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#12 of 37 in Cape May
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: 1045 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: $108 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oceanfront Grand Hotel of Victorian Cape May is one of the largest Resort and Convention Centers along the Jersey Cape. The Grand Hotel can accommodate everyone, from Business Groups to Wedding Receptions and Vacationing Families to Family Reunions. The Grand Hotel of Cape May is dedicated to recreating the grandeur of a by-gone era while providing all of the modern comforts and conveniences for a most enjoyable stay. The perfect place to dance, dine, relax, swim and sun in Victorian Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cape May
Grand Hotel Of Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing