We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

We decided to take a quick trip to Cape May for the weekend. After doing some research there seemed to be many hotels that were not fully booked. My husband and I decided to take our chances and arrive without a reservation. We do not normally do this but due to the availability of rooms we tried it. I probably would not recommend this to people traveling with children but we were traveling alone and very flexible. We made a few phone calls and decided to stay at the Grand. There are many amenities if you are a family and the hotel is very clean. We only stayed 1 night here and that was enough, if I were staying longer I would pick a different hotel because the hotel is very busy. The pool is very crowded but clean.The hotel has a ballroom so they cater weddings also. We were going out to dinner one night and there was a wedding going on....you could hear the bass of the wedding music in the rooms. We were on floor 2 and the music was several floors above us and we still heard it. The hotel has a good restaurant, it is across from a beautiful beach, the trolley to downtown stops out front, and the service seems to be friendly enough. My husband and I like a quieter atmosphere so this is why we do not stay here often. If you do not mind busy places you will probably like it here.
Just a note...if you go out at night and take the car beware of parking when you return. The parking pass stipulates the hotel does not guarantee parking. You would have to street park and then move your car in the morning. Many people take the trolley into town but it does stop running so check the schedule. We were going to a late dinner and I did not feel like worrying about the trolley schedule.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajmcdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    375
    206
    112
    112
See reviews for
454
383
27
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
177 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

We just returned from a weekend at The Grand. We were 9 family members,adults and adult children, with 4 rooms. Check-in was very easy, Lauren at the desk was super sweet and very helpful and it seemed like all front desk staff was very helpful and professional. Our rooms were all pretty large, with a balcony that included 2 chairs. We were in Room 213 and had a partial view of the ocean. The rooms were very clean and neat and were probably recently redone. I was pretty nervous about this because 2 friends told us that the hotel was pretty old. The bed itself, for me, was one of the most uncomfortable beds I have ever slept on. It was a king bed and my husband felt differently and those in the other 3 rooms had mixed reviews about the bed comfort. Outside the second floor there is a very long patio which overlooks the beach. I think the 3rd floor has an outside patio, too, but quite a bit smaller. The pool is very long and pretty narrow. I suppose it was built that way to meet certain specifications, but it can get pretty crowded in the shallower end. Now, about the pool: I have never seen more "bathroom accidents" in a pool in my life. Besides the accidents, one would find diaper stuffing floating around. There is a baby pool, too. And there would be "accidents" in there as well. There is an indoor pool, too, and that would be very convenient if the weather was bad.
We are a family that loves to play games. Unfortunately, there is nowhere to play board games in the evening. But, the first night, Jennifer, at the front desk opened up a small banquet room for us and we were able to play. The second night, another lovely woman at the front desk opened the room so that we could play.
We had breakfast at the hotel the first morning. The breakfast is around $13.00 and it is a buffet. There are lots of things to choose from and at that price it is well worth it. The next day we were going to Mad Batter for brunch, so we did not eat breakfast at the hotel.
We did have dinner at the hotel's restaurant, Hemingways. I will review that in the restaurant section, but, it was very good. One of the issues we had with The Grand is that is is pretty far from everything and one needs to take a car to get to the main area of Cape May. Although, there is a trolley service that shuttles you back and forth. We also had lunch at the pool one day and the prices are very reasonable and there are choices for all palates. And the hot food came out hot! The bartenders poolside were very friendly and made good drinks.
We stayed at Congress Hall the year before and we would probably try there again next year, but I would not hesitate to recommend The Grand.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MITIJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

As a family we had 6 rooms of all shapes and sizes and prices. My favorite was my brothers loft with 2 beds upstairs, and a balcony, and a pullout couch in a living room with a kitchen. The view was great - both the pool and the ocean out a huge window. Our rooms were spread out across the hotel and it highlighted the fact that it is an odd place to get around. My mom was in a wheelchair and it was accessible, but not easy. The halls were very narrow.
They had a BBQ on fourth of July on the rooftop overlooking the water. It was great fun! There was food, a live band, a dj and games for the kids. We had a blast watching the kids compete in wheelbarrow races and a pie eating contest. There was some confusion over the time they served the food, but it was resolved fairly quickly and to the guests' satisfaction.
The help was very nice.
It was great location - right across from an entrance to the beach and at the beginning of the boardwalk. We walked up to the mall for dinner and shopping. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue_and_Jerry_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in July. While we enjoyed our stay at first, the last morning our daughter woke up covered in bites and welts. We are fairly certain that it was bed bugs.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
25 Thank hdh1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cape May hotels

Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
196 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

Go for the larger 2 or 3 room suites...definitely well worth it. Our kids used the sofa sleeper, it was closer to an actual bed then I have ever seen...The rooms have been remodeled, they are comfortable and immaculate.
My only complaints were that they close both the indoor and outdoor pools too early...and there is not enough parking for the hotels, and if you are forced to park on street it's metered parking.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyGirl715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

Reality:
Hotel is old. The rooms look like they have not been updated in over 10 years. The bathroom is very simple with no luxuries. There is no granite here for sure. The counter tops were made of plastic. The entire hotel has a floating ceilings where one can see all the leak stains all over. Its relatively clean place, but definitely not up to today's hotel standards. Very cheap looking place.
Pool: the outdoor pool is in the middle of the parking lot. there are no bathrooms nearby and you need to go all the way inside hotel to use bathroom. The outdoor pool deck is small with few chairs and little room for comfort.
The indoor pool isnt bad. Again, very dated.
Food: The restaurant has a good bkfst buffet.
Location: not prime, but not too far either.
There looked to be a really nice hotel next door that was being built. Wished i could have stayed there instead.
Parking is a pain, as the lot fills up. The day I checked out they said we can stay the day and use the facilities. But told us our car needed to be removed from lot to allow more parking? Sounds silly.
Didnt love this hotel at all due to poor overall quality of rooms.
Staff was nice, but dont even think about complaining about anything and getting a discount. They are trained to say no to everything.

Room Tip: Rooms are all the same quality, just different locations in hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ToddNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

We had a wonderful time and highly recommend staying at the Grand. We always found parking but as others state there were not a lot of free spaces. I can see parking being an issue during very crowded times. You can park on the street without having to worry about meters from 10pm to 10am.

We had a very comfortable room with a king sized bed and pull out sofa. Despite noisy neighbors we never heard noise through the walls. The pull out bed was a bit rough on the back. The room had a fridge and microwave. We had a balcony that overlooked the ocean which was right across the street. You have to pay for beach access for adults $5 day/$10 for 3 days but you can drive to Sunset beach where it is free access plus you can search for cape may diamonds - also hermit crabs are much cheaper here than at the boardwalk.

Loved the buffet breakfast at Hemingways. I thought it was pricey but the next day we went into town and paid more for less food. We checked out menus all around and I'd say even though its pricey the breakfast is a good deal. It opens at 8am which seems late for us early risers and the first day the staff seemed off and rude but maybe that was an off day because we never experienced an issue after that.

The pools were great. Loved the chairs in the indoor pool. It was really nice to have an indoor and outdoor pool. We actually used the indoor pool more than the outdoor pool even on sunny days because it was nice to be out of the sun.

They had meetings/events going on almost daily. The only time the staff seemed overwhelmed/distracted was the first day we arrived (which was a Monday) when some sort of business meeting was occurring.

They had special things for the kids each night like movie with popcorn and a magician. The magician was wonderful. They had a seafood buffet Thursday that we did not go to but looked great.

I did notice very minor issues but nothing that would stop me from returning to the hotel - they didn't have any towels out by the pool, people hog the shaded tables by the outside pool all day, the parking, no bathrooms by the outside pool, the slider to the indoor pool was not operating, at checkout there were not luggage carts.

The walk to town by the arcade was not far, however, we did drive to go to eat at the Ugly Mug (recommend eating here) after a long day and were glad we didn't have to walk back to the hotel after dinner. Bring quarters for the meters.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Southport-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.9 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Star
The Star
#19 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: 1045 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oceanfront Grand Hotel of Victorian Cape May is one of the largest Resort and Convention Centers along the Jersey Cape. The Grand Hotel can accommodate everyone, from Business Groups to Wedding Receptions and Vacationing Families to Family Reunions. The Grand Hotel of Cape May is dedicated to recreating the grandeur of a by-gone era while providing all of the modern comforts and conveniences for a most enjoyable stay. The perfect place to dance, dine, relax, swim and sun in Victorian Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cape May
Grand Hotel Of Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing