We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What is Wrong with this Place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montreal Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What is Wrong with this Place.”
Reviewed August 26, 2007

I booked our vacation to stay here with our 2 small children (ages 2 and 4) and was very excited since nearly all the reviews I have read have been pretty decent and the website for the Montreal Inn makes the rooms look really nice and modern. Well after just getting back from there, I have to take the time to tell you the truth about this place. I will make a list as I do not want to babble on as I know you have other important things to do like find your perfect vacation spot!!

1. We rented a suite which had a living room, small kitchen and separate bedroom with 2 queen beds. Upon walking into the room, we got the smell of smoke embedded into the furniture. The smell was seriously all over the couch and seemed to be coming up from the carpet even though it was a non-smoking room.

2. The bathroom is so small and out-dated that I felt terrible to give my kids a bath in it. After myself having a shower, I did not even feel clean afterwards. When I picked up the blowdryer, it was sticky. Needless to say I put hand sanitizer on me and the kids ALL the TIME.

3. The balancy faced the ocean which I will say was a nice view, however, the balancy itself is dirty and the cement floor needs a good power wash. I made my children wear their shoes when they went out there.

4. The one day we went on the beach, since we left after 2 nights out of our 5 night stay....there was nobody out there helping us with beach chairs. On the website, it indicates that the staff will provide you with the beach chairs and also menus so you can order lunch on the beach. Well, we had to carry their beach chairs out onto the beach since nobody was there and as for menus to order lunch............non-existent!

5. The parking spaces are so small that is was so difficult to park our mini-van. As you can imagine, the place was swarmed with SUV's and mini-vans in such tight spots you can hardly get out of your car.

6. The Inn only has one small elevater located in the back of the hotel. So if you go out to the beach and have kids with you and all your beach stuff.......you have to walk all the way around the building just to get to your room. The hallway in the back is so small it is single file only so when the maid has her trolley to clean the rooms it is very difficult to get by.

We tried calling other hotels the first night we arrived but everywhere we called was booked. Please think twice before staying here. I don't know what some of these people consider as "NICE" but this was no where near a Hilton or Marriott or even a Red Roof Inn.

The place is out-dated and over-priced and after 2 nights we left and came home. Sorry but this is the absolute truth and I hope you re-consider your stay.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank LandM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    192
    52
    24
    18
See reviews for
234
267
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2007

We have been vacationing at Montreal Inn, Cape May, New Jersey for about 10 years. The "Inn" just gets better and better every year.

The rooms, pools, and all facilities at the Montreal Inn are clean, modern, and the owners and staff are very friendly and helpful.

The Inn has entertainment for every age group; pools, restaurant with bar, miniature golf, exercise room, large decks for great dolphin watching, and every room faces the ocean.

The Montreal Inn is the BEST!!!!!

Freddie and Marianne Letterio
[--]

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Does not apply to the Montreal Inn
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mariucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2007

My best friend and I just got back from a girls weekend in Cape May. We stayed at the Montreal Inn. It was outstanding. The staff was extremely friendly and very attentive. Upon arrival, we were able to check in a little early, since the room was ready and we each received a little welcome beach sack with some candy. The thing we loved the most about the Montreal Inn was its location. It was away from the hustle and bustle. It's walking distant to everything and the restaurant (Promanade Cafe) was fabulous. It was our favorite place to eat. We tried other places in Cape May, but always ended up back at the Promanade Cafe. The food was very tasty, tender and fresh. The service was great. Whatever we asked for we received, and received it promptly. The hotel was clean and is very family friendly. We spent most of our time on the sun deck on the 4th floor. It's rarely used, so we felt like it was our private area. We had coffee every morning out there and had a glass of wine with some fruit and cheese in the evening. We will be booking next year's girls weekend very soon. The only downside was that the pool hours are from 9-6. We would have liked to enjoy it in the evening, but it was closed. Besides the pool, we were extremely happy with our stay. Kudos to the Montreal Inn.

  • Liked — The location of the hotel and the Sun Deck.
  • Disliked — I wish the pool hours were a little longer.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank roxyqs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape may
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2007

We were in town for just one night in early June for a quick getaway. The desk staff was busy with another guest but was quick to smile in our direction to let us know she was aware we were there. She was friendly and warm during the check in process and really made us feel welcome. The room was spotless and had just the right amenities. The balcony had an awesome ocean view-perfect for a sunrise cup of coffee.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2007

This was to be our first time in Cape May, having tired of the crowds of Rehoboth beach of recent years. We thought we were taking a big chance because of a disaster 6 years ago at the Grand Hotel in Wildwood Crest just to the North (everything, including the weather went wrong...especially the hotel).
The Montreal Inn lived up to it's own billing. The place is located across from the spectacular beach (cleaned and combed by tractor every night) of Cape May. It's within walking distance of all the sights, the churches and the shopping area: a pedestrian mall with wonderful restaurants, shops, benches, visitor information booths, park with gazebo and live, free entertainment, dinner theater (Elaine's). Bike racks are everywhere (bring your own bikes or rent them there). The local history is explained by many articulate and lucid docents who provide free or inexpensive tours of the cottages and the lore. The streets are lined with beautifully kept cottages built during the 18th century. It's like taking a trip back in time. The beach walk may be taken along the sand or the paved walkway atop the sea wall. The only time we drove the car was to enjoy a nice par three (75-150 yard) golf course in nearby Rio Grande (exit 4 off GSP).
The hotel itself was always clean with friendly staff buzzing throug all the rooms daily, maintaining clean linens, towels and carpets. The rooms are attractive and have clear views of the ocean acros the street. The adjoining restaurant was our favorite stop for Breakfast. It also has lunch, happy hour and entertainment early evenings. The pool is popular with the kids and is clean and the kind you'd like to have in your own back yard. Outdoor furniture is solid, clean and comfortable. 2 outdoor decks (2nd floor and 4th) are perfect for delivered meals or just hanging out and taking in the views. Each room also has it's own balcony ,chairs and tables with sliding doors providing access. I've already booked for next year. If you wait you won't get a room

Enjoy your stay!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank runaground
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware County, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2007

Just got back from a one-night stay at the Montreal Inn. this was our first time here and it probably won't be our last. From the moment we arrived, I could see why they say they are the "most accommodating" hotel. The front desk staff during check-in was quick and friendly. We had an oceanview room with fridge, microwave, 2 burner stove, 2 queen beds, 2 TVs (with HBO), balcony, and sofa bed. The room was very clean and large and we had a great view of the ocean! We had one minor problem (with the safe) and the maintenance person came right up to rectify the problem after we informed the front desk. The front desk was helpful each time we called with a question. We were here for my birthday and they had a little goodie bag with spring water, snacks, and candy waiting when we arrived in the room, which was a nice personal touch. We received a beach voucher for chaises and umbrella (7 bucks--well worth the money and better than schlepping our own chairs and umbrella across the street and beach) at check-in and a Montreal Inn staffer is directly across the street on the beach. He promptly set up our chairs and umbrella. The only negative experience we had was at breakfast the next morning in the Cafe Promenade connected to the inn (we received a discount coupon at check-in). No waiter acknowledged our presence for at least 10 minutes and the only reason he did at that time was because my husband asked who was going to take our order. Waiter wasn't very friendly. They were definitely understaffed in there, during breakfast anyway. Then, we had to hunt our waiter down for our check. Food was pretty good and the fresh squeezed OJ was great!

We would probably go back to the Montreal Inn for longer than a night next time! We were pleased and glad that we chose it for our mini getaway.

  • Liked — Distance from beach, view
  • Disliked — Restaurant service
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emh71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2007

Fantastic place to stay when visiting Cape May. Rooms are clean and spacious. Hotel Staff is very pleasant and helpful. They make sure you are taken care of. Owners are always around to speak with you and to ensure your stay is pleasent. My two kids love staying here. This was our second year and we will probably stay here agian next year. If you are interested in goining be sure to make reservations early. Repeat customers book a year ahead. When you find a good thing you stick with it!

  • Liked — Rooms and Staff
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamRPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.5 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
0.7 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montreal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Beach Resort

Property: Montreal Beach Resort
Address: 1025 Beach Ave, Beach at Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613 (Formerly Montreal Inn)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cape May
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Montreal Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who call The Montreal Beach Resort their second home, our resort is more than just a summer getaway. It's a family tradition, handed down year after year, decade after decade and has become one of our guests' favorite hotels in Cape May, NJ.The reason is simple - this is where memories happen. Memories that bring families closer together. Memories that last long after the snapshots fade. For generations, our families have known the secret to great Cape May vacations. And now that you've found us, you can know it, too.Hotel features a restaurant which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Indoor and outdoor bar (best Bloody Mary in Cape May), convenience store, and liquor store. Our restaurant can serve you food and beverage to the beach for you. We have several room types, many with kitchens and suites. We even have a specially appointed Honeymoon Suite. Montreal Beach Resort is located right on the beach. It's a great place to stay and Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Montreal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Hotel Cape May
Montreal Inn Cape May
Montreal Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing