We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I want to stay forever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Montreal Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I want to stay forever”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

The Montreal beach resort is a one stop vacation destination. I went with my five bestie girlfriends and we had a blast . We didn't have to go off grounds for breakfast , lunch or happy hour as the onsite cafe was delicious with great service . A few short steps lead to the beach , a white soft bed of sand with our stay we were entitled to beach passes and comfy beach chairs and food service from the Montreal beach resort cafe. I especially liked the room with 2 tv s and a mini kitchen. The hosts are warm and gracious .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank malkiamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you. We try to bring everything into one resort. Each year we investigate on how to improve and ensure that your next stay gets better and better. See you soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    191
    49
    23
    18
See reviews for
233
258
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teaneck, NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This year was especially great. We really liked having a room that opened onto the sun deck where we could just walk down the stairs to the pool and bar. The owner Larry and his adorable son are amazing hosts. The room was terrific, renovated nicely, and this one had a full kitchen and 2 tvs which was great as we were 5 girlfriends. The hotel has many repeat customers and is a very good location on the strip. The business office was also a convenience when I needed the internet.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms off the lower sun deck, like 218 or 219. These are bigger suites but worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmotola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you on behalf of my son and myself. I know each year you all come down, you have a blast. I look forward to seeing you and your girlfriends soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshires, Ma.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Our room on the third floor had a nice view from the balcony, however there was a bright overhead light that stayed on almost all night, so you couldn't leave the door open to let the ocean breeze in at night. There were small windows along the outside corridor which opened right at the head of the bed, there was also a bright light outside there which shone into your face almost all night (3:00?), we had to stuff pillows in to try to darken the bed. There was garbage in trash cans outside the door the whole time we were there, we complained when we checked in and they said it was only that day as someone was out sick.(NOT). The towels at the pool and beach were absolutely threadbare. When we stayed at the ocean club next door last year, when you went to the beach, all the chaises and umbrellas were all set up in a row with beach service to everyone there. At Montreal, you had to go to their beach shed to show all your paperwork and they would take them out where you wanted. Unfortunately, the first day we had to wake the attendant up, who then got something to eat while we stood there, then he helped us, we then had to deal with the neighborhood people coming in all around us and squeezing us out. The food and waitstaff at Harry's was good, we were pleasantly surprised at how good the local stuffed flounder was. Breakfast was also good. In summary, although the front desk and staff was nice( except for the lie about the garbage), it was not a resort in feeling or services.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank pmp p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevan O, General Manager at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We are concerned that you were disappointed during your visit to our hotel. Your comments are very important to us to review and take action to correct any shortcomings that are within our control.

Your encounter with our Beach Boy was totally unacceptable per our standards and we have taken measures to assure that will never happen again.

Your other comments are being investigated and we hope to have you back soon to demonstrate the power of comments from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Always enjoy my stay at the Montreal. Rooms are clean and comfortable with great views of the ocean. Staff is great, you can clearly see the TLC this family gives to this beach resort. I have been a customer th or over 40 years and have never been disappointed with the services.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leica706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you.. for all your friendship and patronage! Each week it's like "home coming" here at the Montreal. We are so excited to greet all of you when you arrive. My best to you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Excellent place!! Been going for 21 years!!! It is family run where the owners are super friendly and personable! They make everyone feel like family . We love it and would nit go anywhere else. We go every year in August and are so looking forward to going in 3 weeks!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you..after all these year, you're family and we know what we have to do make sure our Family" remains happy. Look forward to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Loved this hotel! Rooms were extremely clean, loved the shampoo, conditioner, shower gel right there on the wall. Pool was clean. Beach passes and chairs are provided (with umbrellas for rent). Great location. Restaurant on site. Very friendly employees! Excellent place for families.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meow111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you.. your enjoyment and continued patronage is what makes our job so fulfilling. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Point, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

our recent stay, June 28-30, at the Montreal was fantastic, no complaints at all !! The room was clean, updated, and extremely comfortable. The hotel is located directly across from the beach, (which was clean and not crowded), and just a few blocks away from many shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel restaurant and shop was very good. This hotel is highly reccommended, we will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Wow...thank you so much. It's so exciting to hear such nice things about Cape May and the Montreal. We will continue to strive to ensure your next visit will be memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.5 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
145 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,137 reviews
0.7 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
1,106 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#5 of 37 in Cape May
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montreal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Beach Resort

Property: Montreal Beach Resort
Address: 1025 Beach Ave, Beach at Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613 (Formerly Montreal Inn)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cape May
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Montreal Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who call The Montreal Beach Resort their second home, our resort is more than just a summer getaway. It's a family tradition, handed down year after year, decade after decade and has become one of our guests' favorite hotels in Cape May, NJ.The reason is simple - this is where memories happen. Memories that bring families closer together. Memories that last long after the snapshots fade. For generations, our families have known the secret to great Cape May vacations. And now that you've found us, you can know it, too.Hotel features a restaurant which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Indoor and outdoor bar (best Bloody Mary in Cape May), convenience store, and liquor store. Our restaurant can serve you food and beverage to the beach for you. We have several room types, many with kitchens and suites. We even have a specially appointed Honeymoon Suite. Montreal Beach Resort is located right on the beach. It's a great place to stay and Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Montreal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Hotel Cape May
Montreal Inn Cape May
Montreal Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing