We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montreal Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Hampstead, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Went to cape May for my sons wedding and stayed at the Montreal Inn. It was a little pricey for an off season stay but worth it. Steve Overby is the Manager of the hotel and he makes sure everything is perfect for your stay there.Everyone was so nice that worked there.Answered my questions about some of the places we wanted to visit.
We had a suite with the living room facing the ocean and the bedroom as you come in the door. The thing I didn't like was that you could here everything from the outside. It would have been quieter if the rooms were switched.The bathroom and kitchen countertops were granite which was nice. The rooms were large so you didnt feel cramped.The beds were very comfortable. Large closet space. 2 flat screen tv's that were very nice.
They have a small free contennental breakfast with your stay and there is someone there to help you and keep the tables clean for the next person. There is a nice fitness room and a deck on the top floor with lounge chairs to get some sun.I loved that!
I can't wait to stay in-season because they have a very nice outdoor pool and bar and hot tub.That was my 1st time to visit Cape May and definetly not my last!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room where the bedroom overlooks the ocean and not near the hallway.Too noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 283Tammy1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
I'm glad to hear that our manager was available to provide you the level of service we are proud. The summer is grand with so much to do in Cape May and the Montreal Beach Resort. Don't wait too long, it's going to be a fantastic summer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    191
    49
    23
    18
See reviews for
233
258
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
121 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

The rooms at the Montreal Beach Resort are newly remodeled and tastefully decorated with granite countertops in the bath & kitchenette. All rooms are oceanfront with full, unobstructed views of the beach. The separate living room in the suites are a nice plus. Kitchenettes have all the essentials including dishes, cookware, coffee, tea, coffee maker, toaster, dish towels and paper towels. Everything is extremely clean. All the staff from the front desk to the maids are super friendly and courteous. They treat you like family.

The hotel is in a perfect location. Park your car and put on your walking shoes. You can walk to everything within minutes. Great restaurants, shopping, grocery and liquor stores, the beach and boardwalk are just a few steps away. There are two large sun decks with ample chairs and tables on two levels. The beachfront pool is really nice. There's also a restaurant and liquor store at the hotel. A shower and bathroom are provided for guests that have already checked out but continued to enjoy their day at the beach or pool.

The prices are reasonable especially considering that most rooms are suites and have kitchenettes which is pretty rare in Cape May. Book months ahead for the high season. Most returning guests book a year in advance so there may be few vacancies during the summer months.

Room Tip: Our favorite rooms are 218 to 221 that open onto the second floor deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. I'm proud of our staff and their courteous and professional manner in which they treat our visitors. I'm happy that you feel part of the family...now as a family member can I ask you to work in the laundry (lol) ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

I stayed at Montreal Inn Easter weekend. Since it was not necessarily peak season for this area, it was great to have found such a nice hotel since we spent a little more time in the room than we normally would. We had a two room unit with bed in one room and a pull out couch in the other. It also had a nice, clean kitchen area. Primary utensils and cookware were included and made for a like-home feel. The room was clean and modern. The staff was friendly and helpful as well. Also, there was a sun deck on the top floor that offered a wonderful view!Overall, it was worth the price and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

Room Tip: If you want a ocean view from you patio, choose a higher floor. I did not ask for one so I can not b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
We look forward to your next visit!!! Thank you for you wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed here off season over a holiday. Enough room for 4 people. Clean room with small kitchenette. Rooms on the 2nd floor and up have great views of the ocean. Not a private balcony, but nice. I would choose to stay here again when visiting cape may. Less than 1 mile walk to shops. Staff is very friendly. I only wish the would not smoke near the stair wells and elevators.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fltopa4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for you review. It's sometimes challenging to get our smoking cliental to honor our restricted area for smoking. Certainly should this be an issue again, please let us know. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

I usually read in detail the negative reviews and try to understand what kinds of problems people had. However, given the many positive review I decided to book this for one night while passing thru town. Simply put, this is a 4.9!!! From the moment I made the reservation to the time I checked out everyone was friendly. The room was superb. Not a complaint at all. Why a 4.9? The back walkways could use an upgrade but who really cares about them anyway once you're in your room. Especially with the wonderful view of the ocean. Look past the negative reviews and see this place for the great location it is!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BKL23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
The views are really spectacular. I've been coming to work for 35 years as one of the owners and remain amazed at the views!!
In response yo the back walkways, we are presently addressing them and hope to improve shortly.
Thank you for choosing us, it appears you took sometime to make your decision and we are grateful you've chosen us.
I hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

My family has been coming to the Montreal Beach Resort for over 20 years. We still get the same great service and uninterrupted views of the ocean. The rooms have been remodeled recently and everything you could need is within walking distance or a short drive away. Make your reservations well in advance as they will book up quickly!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and continued patronage. We look forward to seeing you this summer and making your stay memorable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

When I pulled up to the building I thought I had the wrong address and kept looking around for the actual Beach Resort. But once I was inside the lobby, the staff was nice. My ocean front suite was small, however it was newly remodeled and beautiful and had a spectacular slider/balcony view. They have on site parking which is golden around here so another big bonus and they are a short walk to food and shopping. Other than outside appearances, this place is a gem

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingknights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
The view is grand. Shortly you will be able to watch the view 24/7 on our new webcam. As we speak, we are installing a webcam with great views in front of the Montreal. So, even when you are not with us, you can still watch and enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.5 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
0.7 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montreal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Beach Resort

Property: Montreal Beach Resort
Address: 1025 Beach Ave, Beach at Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613 (Formerly Montreal Inn)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cape May
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Montreal Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who call The Montreal Beach Resort their second home, our resort is more than just a summer getaway. It's a family tradition, handed down year after year, decade after decade and has become one of our guests' favorite hotels in Cape May, NJ.The reason is simple - this is where memories happen. Memories that bring families closer together. Memories that last long after the snapshots fade. For generations, our families have known the secret to great Cape May vacations. And now that you've found us, you can know it, too.Hotel features a restaurant which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Indoor and outdoor bar (best Bloody Mary in Cape May), convenience store, and liquor store. Our restaurant can serve you food and beverage to the beach for you. We have several room types, many with kitchens and suites. We even have a specially appointed Honeymoon Suite. Montreal Beach Resort is located right on the beach. It's a great place to stay and Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Montreal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Hotel Cape May
Montreal Inn Cape May
Montreal Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing