We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from Home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montreal Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
ny
1 review
“Home away from Home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2008

My husband and I have stayed at the Montreal Inn 4 times. It has become our annual get away. We go back every year, and we love it. The view is amazing, the hotel is clean, and the staff is friendly, and always there to make your stay perfect. The Montreal Inn has become almost like home away from home to us. It is relaxing, food is great, and just love the cute little shops there. We always make our reservations for the following year before we come home. This way we have going back to look foward to, and it isn't so sad to leave. That's how much we LOVE it!!! Nothing fancy, but for us it is just what we are looking for when we go away.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank jwdlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    191
    49
    23
    18
See reviews for
233
258
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2008

We chose the Montreal Inn because it was right in front of the beach. This place is very convenient it has everything you need definately family friendly. The owner Mr. Hirch was a very friendly person too! It is very clean. The restaurant is very good and nicely decorated. We are definately going back next year! Plan to make it a yearly gathering tradition along with our close friends...........

  • Liked — convenience
  • Disliked — a little pricey
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewJerseyKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick Scotland
Level Contributor
182 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2008

My husband & I stayed at The Montreal Inn because of positive reviews on Trip Advisor and the value for money rates. Because we stayed 4 nights during the week (before Memorial Day), we even got a discount for one night. We enjoyed a queen suite with a balcony and view of the ocean. One night nature even provided fireworks with a lightening storm over the sea!

Reception was welcoming and helpful handing out Jelly Belly samples to thank us for staying with them. We enjoyed free newspapers as well. A special thank you to Julie, our excellent housekeeper who celebrated a birthday our last day.

When we return to Cape May, we will definitely stay again.

  • Liked — View and rates
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crewsaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2008

This is the 3rd time we've stayed at the Montreal Inn, and as usual, it was a great experience. The hotel staff is extremely friendly and accomodating. We got there on a Thursday (the week before Memorial Day weekend to get better rates!) and were welcomed with jelly beans.

Our room was on the 3rd floor, a "D Suite" which basically consists of 2 rooms (one bedroom with a tv and a connecting door to a "living area" with a table, chairs, couch, and another tv) and one bathroom. There are balconies pretty much for every room except for those on the first floor.

We received a coupon for the Cafe Promenade restaurant at the hotel, but didn't end up using it.

Everytime we left and returned to the hotel, there were cleaning staff or other staff welcoming you and saying hello. The location also is fantastic, you are directly across the street from the ocean.

There is a fitness room on the 2nd floor, but it is a little small. There is one treadmill, one stationary bike, and a total gym in the center of the room. If you're trying to work off all of the fudge you got from the Washington Street Mall, it'll do!

Other than that, what can I say-it's a great hotel at a great location with very friendly people. Can't wait to go back next year!

  • Liked — friendly staff, location, price
  • Disliked — nothing, everything was great
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank karjgr16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2008

The Montreal Inn in Cape May is the perfect motel on the ocean. We had a beautiful view of the ocean from our private balcony. In our suite we had a kitchen, livingroom and bedroom. We could sit at the table in the livingroom and watch the waves crash as we sipped our morning coffee. They even arranged our rooms( Two families traveling together) so we could enjoy the view over cocktails in the evening together. The people who run the inn were particularly kind in giving us the best places to eat and shop. We are returning this year at the same time and they had all our information so we had no trouble with reservations. They have great rates in the spring and fall but you must book early.

  • Liked — View from the balcony and seperate bedroom and livingroom.
  • Disliked — parking lot small
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AhWilderness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2008

Stayed here for one night for a weekend beach getaway. The room was right on the first floor facing the pool. Had a table and chairs right by the pool. The room was comfortable, and I found it clean. Nothing fancy, but had what I needed. The hotel is so close to the beach which we loved. I also enjoyed the pool. They had an outdoor bar and a happy hour. My favorite part was lounging by the pool after going to the beach and having a drink.We also ate at their restaurant on site for dinner which was yummy.

  • Liked — Pool, closeness to beach.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leia405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2008

Stayed here in October and was pleasantly surprised by the amenities of our room. We had a full kitchenette and plenty of seating. The sleeping area was small, still we had a beach front view which is what we wanted. I can imagine it would be noisey during the summer so do caution that you are not directly on the beach. There is a roadway between the hotel and the beach. The staff were very friendly and we had no problems at all. The pool also looked quite nice although was closed for the season. Everything was clean although the place could use an updating.

  • Liked — Directly across from beach, we were steps away.
  • Disliked — Furniture and room could be updated.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mblack61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.5 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.7 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montreal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Beach Resort

Property: Montreal Beach Resort
Address: 1025 Beach Ave, Beach at Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613 (Formerly Montreal Inn)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cape May
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Montreal Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who call The Montreal Beach Resort their second home, our resort is more than just a summer getaway. It's a family tradition, handed down year after year, decade after decade and has become one of our guests' favorite hotels in Cape May, NJ.The reason is simple - this is where memories happen. Memories that bring families closer together. Memories that last long after the snapshots fade. For generations, our families have known the secret to great Cape May vacations. And now that you've found us, you can know it, too.Hotel features a restaurant which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Indoor and outdoor bar (best Bloody Mary in Cape May), convenience store, and liquor store. Our restaurant can serve you food and beverage to the beach for you. We have several room types, many with kitchens and suites. We even have a specially appointed Honeymoon Suite. Montreal Beach Resort is located right on the beach. It's a great place to stay and Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Montreal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Hotel Cape May
Montreal Inn Cape May
Montreal Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing