We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very surprised loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Montreal Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great experience I loved Cape May and the Hotel was NO 1
We came on a friday left on a saturday great accomodations
plus I parked and did not have to use the car evrything is on walking distance
awesome place

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 52MSwartz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. Cape May is such a marvelous walking town. Everything is within a short walk. I'm glad you enjoyed your short stay in Cape May and hope to see you for a more extended visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 737 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was our first trip to Cap May and stay at the “Montreal Inn”, already planning our retuning weekend getaway. We booked short notice, enjoying a modern, 4th level suite room w/balcony ocean view, incl. sitting area and fully equipped kitchenette. Rooms are very clean; hotel and restaurant staff always friendly and accommodating; complimentary beach pass and lounge chairs provided. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sabine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

We're so glad your stay was so enjoyable. We look forward to your next visit with us. Thank you for the priviledge of serving you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We picked Montreal Inn out of the blue when we visited Cape May in mid-June 2013. We were told they had one room left, and we decided to take it after checking it out. The room was spacious, with a nice kitchenette, and a patio overlooking the swimming pool and ocean beyond. Very clean, with the grounds well taken care of, and they had an exceptionally friendly and accommodating staff. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you.. We look forward to your next visit...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Fabulous place to make your own spa vacation. Location is perfect. Rooms are newly renovated and stayed in suite 2nd floor with kitchen and balcony view of pool and ocean. Recommend highly!! Staff attentive, capable, and genuinely care about customer service and the Montreal Inn. Amenities thought out!! Pool clean and delightful. Thank you Montreal Inn for a first-rate Cape May experience!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Codatrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to your next visit that we can again serve you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Please take that into account that I am very tough on the hospitality business when you read my review.

The Montreal Inn was very nice. The staff we dealt with was competent and friendly although the hostess at the restaurant required some real poking to get her to laugh. (It was a Monday breakfast so she gets credit just for coming to work since most kids under 25 won't even get out of bed that early.) I was slightly disappointed, wink wink, when Mr Hirsh, the owner, refused my offer of a great online review in exchange for discount on my suite rental.

We stayed in the recently redone Meridian Suite for three nites. It was about $300 night plus tax with no unexpected fees. It's a large but oddly laid out 3 room suite with a bar/sink/fridge area, bedroom, seating/tv area and bathroom. It was sufficient for two, and has a pull out sofa bed, but due to the configuration of the suite I doubt 4 adults could stay in this room without tripping over each other. There's really not enough seating for more than 3 and the small round table in the eating area is barely sufficient for two. The wall mount TV is about a 37” but it's only 6' from the sofa. No in room DVD.

The king size bed was comfy and had a great view of the ocean. They only had super fluffy and thick side/back sleeper pillows in the room. If you're a stomach sleeper bring your own or ask ahead if they have something thinner because Hollywood stunt men could have used these pillows for hi-rise falls. There is an in-room safe and air-filter in the bed room. There is also a wall mounted 19” TV.

The bathroom was nice and the shower system was great once you figured out how to use all 8 heads. Plenty of towels for 2 and 2 bath robes were available in the room. No tub, jetted or otherwise.

The pool was clean and clear. I've really grown tired of cloudy pools at hotels that don't seem interested in maintaining their pools correctly. Montreals' is on of cleanest I've seen in long time.

There is a nice looking outside bar area we did not use because of bad weather, but the night we arrived there were people enjoying the guitarist who was seemed enjoyable without being intrusive.

The attached liquor store was clean and offered a good selection of good to better wines and spirits without leaning to heavily on the low-end high-octane that always seems to attract riff-raff

THE PROS: It's on the beach with beach service for food and there are complementary beach chairs, beach tags and optional cabana rentals. The pool is clean. It's easily to get to without having to deal with downtown Cape May traffic and noise. The Hotel has just gone through a 3 year renovation so the beds and furniture are still fresh and clean. Decent on site restaurant. (We only had breakfast.)

I would stay at the Montreal Inn again and I would recommend it to others.

THE BAD: The suite was ridiculously far away from the elevator. There's not much the owners could do without spending a fortune to add another so if you're older or physically limited ask for a first floor room or to be near the elevator on the upper floors. – Auto parking spaces are insanely small. If you can afford this hotel you're not driving the tiny cars these parking spaces are made for. The parking lot was full of average sized cars packed so close to each other it was hard to climb in and out the car and equally tight to pull in and out of the spaces. I've got to wonder what the rate of fender and bumper scratches between guests is. – Wi-Fi was intermittent and painfully slow when we used it. The antennas for the Wi-Fi just outside our suite and even 20 feet away it was like molasses. (Your experience may vary.) – DVD players are not in the rooms. You have to ask for them from the front desk and then hook them up. Understandable at a Motel 6, but annoying in $300 a night suite. – Lastly we'd happily reuse the towels and “save the environment' per the sign in the suite, but there wasn't single one anywhere. Towel bars would be less then 100 buck for the entire place at Lowes, so don't nag me about saving the environment unless your going to provide the tools to do so.

Room Tip: If you're older or physically limited ask for a first floor room or to be near the elevator on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TuffyRickabaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was our 2nd trip to the New Jersey shore for a vacation and our first time at the montreal Inn. We loved it...The rooms are set up just right, with plenty of space and very clean, I repeat..very clean. The staff was very helpful to the point of me wanting to help them when I saw them needing a hand. We love it so much we booked again for next year the same week.

Room Tip: View from the 3rd floor was very good. they have a nice deck above the office for relaxing in the ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomBur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you, Thank you... It's wonderful that you enjoyed your first stay with us. Thank you for making your reservations for next year. We are committed to make your stay as enjoyable as possible!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at the Montreal Inn during Memorial Day weekend and it was our third visit to this destination across the street from the Atlantic Ocean.

The off season renovations add more sparkle to this total resort with its on site package/convenience store, restaurant-patio bar, hot-tub-pool and fitness center.

We stayed in a suite with two beds, kitchenette and balcony that overlooked the patio, pool and ocean. All bedroom areas have air purification systems. The sitting area facing the balcony has a hide-a-bed couch. Our room had two Tvs. The Montreal Inn makes cribs, etc. available to parents with young children at no charge.

The owners have thought everything out over the years for guest enjoyment. An onsite laundry is available. Want a burger from the Inn's Harry's Ocean Bar & Grille but don't want to leave your room? No problem. They deliver. Hate the hassle and expense of beach tags? For a refundable deposit, the Montreal Inn will provide them during your stay. They also offer beach chairs at no extra cost at their Montreal Inn Beach Club. Cabanas are also available for rental.

There is a complimentary continental breakfast during the week. Off street parking behind the Inn is available.

The service at Harry's is excellent. We especially enjoyed breakfast there. Guests may charge meals to their room. The live entertainment was never a noise issue for us.

Cape May's Washington Street Mall and other attractions are within walking distance but you may just choose to kick back, relax and enjoy what longtime Montreal Inn guests know to be a complete resort.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Thank you so much.. Your feedback is so appreciated. I will share your comments with our staff..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.6 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
719 reviews
0.2 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,190 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
569 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#12 of 37 in Cape May
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montreal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Beach Resort

Address: 1025 Beach Ave, Beach at Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613 (Formerly Montreal Inn)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cape May
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: $189 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Montreal Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who call The Montreal Beach Resort their second home, our resort is more than just a summer getaway. It's a family tradition, handed down year after year, decade after decade and has become one of our guests' favorite hotels in Cape May, NJ.The reason is simple - this is where memories happen. Memories that bring families closer together. Memories that last long after the snapshots fade. For generations, our families have known the secret to great Cape May vacations. And now that you've found us, you can know it, too.Hotel features a restaurant which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Indoor and outdoor bar (best Bloody Mary in Cape May), convenience store, and liquor store. Our restaurant can serve you food and beverage to the beach for you. We have several room types, many with kitchens and suites. We even have a specially appointed Honeymoon Suite. Montreal Beach Resort is located right on the beach. It's a great place to stay and Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Montreal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Hotel Cape May
Montreal Inn Cape May
Montreal Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing