We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Montreal Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2011

My wife and I returned home yesterday from spending a week at the Montreal Inn, It was not our first trip there and definitely will not be our last. Everytime we stay there, something is new - TVs, carpeting, dressers, something has been upgraded. This last time, the bathroom had been completely redone and is terrific. The private balcony overlooking the beach is simply fantastic! The staff are among the most courteous and efficient that we have experienced and we have stayed at other facilities in Cape May. We keep going back to the Montreal. Upon checking out this time, we reserved a weekend in late September and two weeks in 2012. The only down side of the newly upgraded rooms is the lack of a small table where you can eat something light or use your laptop with their free internet access. We will continue to stay there as long as we can afford it. And it is one of the more affordable places in Cape May.

Room Tip: Book your room a year ahead if you want to go during the summer season. It's that good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DanK57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (736)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 736 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2011

Out room was really nice we had a beach front. The people were nice too. Cape May is a great place to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank beanieandbonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We had a marvelous time and the Montreal Inn. The weather could have cooperated, but the staff and facilities made it a fun trip.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Boyrauch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

I did not stay at this hotel! Ihad to click on a date in order to write the review.. They do not value their customers. I booked a room online with a sofa bed and when I got my confirm, they gave me a room without a sofa bed and then charged me to cancel . Stay away froma a place like this

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
7  Thank teachcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lhirsch, General Manager at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2011

I anticipated this review. The guest did make a reservation online and it was NOT for a sofa bed. She acknowledged this in our email correspondence. The guest continued to fault the reservation system when indeed the mistake was hers. Rather than admit she made the error, she continued to place blame on the online reservation and management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We had a 1st floor room overlooking the beautiful beach. The warm outdoor pool (including whirlpool jets) was steps away from our door. The hotel restaurant had live entertainment some nights, which was enjoyable. Travelling with kids, it was fun -- and since mostly everyone else there were families, we didn't have to deal with loud parties all night long. The hotel also provided us with towels and chairs for the beach -- one less thing to schlep ourselves. We all hated to leave, but will DEFINITELY be back next year!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aileen86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed here several times a few years ago and returned this year after a hiatus. The rate was good esp. given the nice quality of the room with oceanview balcony and the pool; staff was friendly and accommodating. The fitness room was nice with restrooms and showers and there was a GREAT SAUNA! Also the common area sun deck has a ping-pong table, shuffleboard and 3-hole minigolf -- good to keep the kids busy. Location is great right on the beach-- and included in the rate are beach tags for everyone as well as two chaises at the beach. They allow you to use the pool and parking space the day you check out and they have a restroom and shower that guests can use after they check out. A really nice stay for families with kids or even with teenagers.

Room Tip: The first floor is a little "busy"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nycjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

The Montreal Inn provides a consistent, reliable and courteous experience for all visitors seeking a memorable ocean-front experience at competitive rates, The staff is professional and courteous, and the rooms are always very clean and secure. As well , the Montreal strives to provide full value for its guests by including such amenities as beach passes and beach lounge-chairs at no extra cost to its guests. Parking is more than ample and the Inn offers both lounge and restuarant facilities right on premises. In sum, The Montreal Inn is an ideal choice for anyone seeking a memorable ocean-front stay at a facility run by a team that always tries to "deliver what they promise".


R. Sullivan
Westfield, NJ

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank staylonger07090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.6 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
717 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,346 reviews
0.2 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
568 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#12 of 37 in Cape May
236 reviews
0.7 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montreal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Beach Resort

Address: 1025 Beach Ave, Beach at Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613 (Formerly Montreal Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cape May
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: $111 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Montreal Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who call The Montreal Beach Resort their second home, our resort is more than just a summer getaway. It's a family tradition, handed down year after year, decade after decade and has become one of our guests' favorite hotels in Cape May, NJ.The reason is simple - this is where memories happen. Memories that bring families closer together. Memories that last long after the snapshots fade. For generations, our families have known the secret to great Cape May vacations. And now that you've found us, you can know it, too.Hotel features a restaurant which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Indoor and outdoor bar (best Bloody Mary in Cape May), convenience store, and liquor store. Our restaurant can serve you food and beverage to the beach for you. We have several room types, many with kitchens and suites. We even have a specially appointed Honeymoon Suite. Montreal Beach Resort is located right on the beach. It's a great place to stay and Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Montreal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Hotel Cape May
Montreal Inn Cape May
Montreal Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing