We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cape May”
Review of Heritage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heritage Inn
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
FORT LAUDERDALE
2 reviews
“Cape May”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

great spot opposite Convention hall. Great price for 2 nights. Close to everything. Very nice owners and there son was very efficient and accommodating. Highly recommend the Inn.
The room was very clean and the location was excellent! Zoe's is right next door and offers delicious meals with the friendliest of service. Two thumbs up for Zoe's!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FRONZIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    134
    42
    29
    34
See reviews for
132
243
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lewistown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Thanks to Gwen for getting us a room over Labor Day weekend for a last minute vacation! We have never been to Cape May and wanted to get away for the weekend but were unable to find lodging last minute (due to work scheudules). She called me back due to a cancellation and we were able to get a room! The room was very clean and the location was excellent! And the staff was very pleasant and accommodating and directed us to some great restaurants. You have made some new friends and we will be back!

Room Tip: Parking downtown is tight. Leave the car and enjoy the walks!
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and brought our 2 boys down for Labor Day Weekend. The Heritage Inn was was right across from the beach, a quiet arcade, upscale surf shop, candy shop, and McGlade's oceanfront restaurant. Right next door is Zoe's Restaurant with an adorable outdoor seating area. It was so easy unloading our car -the rooms are just steps away.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilou D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed at the Heritage Inn for three nights with my husband and two sons, ages 6 and 4. The boys looooooooooved the rooftop sun deck. The views from there were great (we could see dolphins rolling through the ocean), and there were tables and chairs available for having an impromptu, casual breakfast.

In addition to the sun deck, the boys couldn't wait to get into the pool! The pool is on the smaller side, but it was very clean and doesn't go too deep (4 1/2 ft.) which is nice for the kids. The poolside loungers were comfortable.

Location! Location! Location! I loved the location of the Inn! Not only was it right across the street from the beach, but miniature golf, shops and restaurants (I would NOT recommend The Beach House) were immediately nearby. Zoe's is right next door and offers delicious meals with the friendliest of service. Two thumbs up for Zoe's!

The rooms at the Inn were clean and remarkably free of sand. There was an outdoor shower available that was recommended to keep sand to a minimum in the room, and most especially in the shower/tub. I liked it for rinsing off the kids' beach toys, too.

The staff were incredibly welcoming and nice. When my youngest son put the lock on the bathroom door and closed it (thankfully he was on our side of the door), we were able to get fast and friendly service to have it unlocked in no time!

The owners have a rescue dog, Laila, who is like the Heritage Inn mascot. She is a sweetheart who lays on the first floor outside the office and welcomes all who want to greet her, but doesn't bother those who don't.

The only reason for not giving the highest rating is due to the condition of the Inn. It could use some painting and there were some soft spots in the balconies near the stairs that concerned me. There was also limited parking immediately next to the Inn (additional parking is available in a lot around the block.) However, these things were minor. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank staffy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boalsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have never stayed in a motel/hotel that did not provide soap, shampoo, conditioner, etc. Also, there were no hand towels; just very thin bath towels and wash cloths. The TV is very, very small. The pillows were thin foam; the beds small doubles and not very comfortable. All in all, very much over priced! Good points: location and cleaniness. I would not stay here again nor recommend this place to anyone. Not sure how this place won a Trip Advisor Award last year. Very misleading!

Room Tip: We paid extra for a larger room on the 3rd floor - not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen F, General Manager at Heritage Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
There may be those guest that we will never be able to meet their vacation expectations. For those guests I would suggest Atlantic City and reserving one of the "suites" at one of the many casinos/hotels. Not only will you have all of the amenities you are looking for but you will have a wonderful time on the Atlantic City beachs and boardwalk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was our second year staying at the Heritage Inn. The room was clean and quite spacious for the two of us. We were just across the street for the beach. Everyone from the desk folks to the housekeepers were very friendly and helpful. There are many restaurants close by. We parked out car on Monday and did not move it again until Friday when we checked out. It is so wonderful just to walk everywhere in Cape May. Hopefully we will be back again next summer.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor have a wonderful ocean view. If you would not be on the 3rd floor there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed three nights with my daughters, and we couldn't have been more pleased! Room was plain, but clean and cozy. Mark at the front desk was very friendly, helpful and polite. Beach is a stone's throw across the street. All rooms have a great view of the ocean. Rates very reasonable. Awesome 4th floor sun deck and a nice, small pool. Lots of food shops nearby. Close to everything! This will always be my first pick when I return to Cape May! We had a GREAT stay at Heritage!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn

Property: Heritage Inn
Address: 721 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2457
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Heritage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location...They say location is everything and the Heritage Inn is Cape May's Premier Beachfront Location in Historic Cape May. Within walking distance to Cape May's Victorian Mall, restaurants or a concert at the Convention Hall. Enjoy a day at the beach or a beautiful sunset on the Heritage's 4th floor sundeck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing