We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weather isn't anyone's fault. Hot water is.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heritage Inn
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Weather isn't anyone's fault. Hot water is.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Didn't get to enjoy accommodations while there; wound up arriving the same time a Nor-Easter did. That's nobody's fault. But waking up two days running to no hot water was not acceptable. To the management's credit (and ours) they partially refunded our fee, so I'll give them props for that.

It seems that the Heritage is very hit and miss for many people, and was so for us, too. Excellent location, but with largely absentee staff. Second morning without hot water, and no one in the office until 9am, just like it was a regular day. Could have been handled with more aplomb, but the rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, and while I can imagine how it might get quite noisy at night (it is on the main drag, after all) it was certainly quiet while we were there.

Room Tip: The Inn is L shaped with the ends closest to the streets and the pool in the middle. If you want qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank webwrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen F, General Manager at Heritage Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Considering the affects of the NorEaster we endured that weekend, I feel that I handled the situation the best I could. Most of our guests were quite pleased with our staff that weekend and were understanding that some things are just beyond our control. I am glad that you state that the rooms were clean and comfortable and hope that you re-visit us once again under better weather conditions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    131
    40
    28
    34
See reviews for
130
235
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shepherdstown, WV
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I will have to say that the Heritage Inn was a fabulous find. The location is perfect (we never needed our car for shopping, dining or entertainment). The customer service-fantastic, as well as the hospitality. From checking in to checking out, any question/inquiry as to directions, late check-out request, dining etc. were all answered with a friendly smile. The hotel has a very comfortable feel to it. The rooftop deck is fabulous. It is nice in the evening when it isn't quite so hot out. There are table and chairs and lounges up there. Great for viewing the fireworks!

Nutshell review: The hotel is clean, comfortable and has excellent customer service. The location is great. The room itself is a little dated i.e. small television/decor, but very clean. It has a small swimming pool in front and ample parking in the back. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 7 is across from the only ice machine FYI.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpgins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freehold
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

As mentioned by others room had musty smell.
Convenient to beach which is about only positive.
Had friends who just wanted to change clothes in our room for 5 minutes( not stay, not park,not use pool ) and we were charged
$20. Extremely poor customer service and very short sighted in my opinion.
Basically this is a $70 motel
That charges $250 a night.
Stay if you can't find anything else but there are many more friendly and welcoming options in cape may

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank si3904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen F, General Manager at Heritage Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
As stated in the policies of the Heritage Inn any additional guest using the facilities will be charged a fee. You stated that your guest were going to go to the beach with you, come back to the room to shower and change for dinner and spend the evening. The $10.00 charge per person was stated clearly in the policy and is standard for most hotels/motels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Pool was tiny and cheap looking, rooms barely adequate and service very rude. They do not change the sheets during your stay, there's an unnecessarily early 10AM checkout and they will require you to mail in a personal check long before your arrival date to reserve your room. Also found it noisy at night with a video arcade right across the street. Very unpleasant.

If you're looking for a lovely peaceful vacation in Cape May look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank voyager2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen F, General Manager at Heritage Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We were surprised to see your comment about "our service" and that you felt we were rude. We have built our reputation on having unparrelled customer service. Perhaps you felt we were rude because of our policies which are similiar to most of the other Cape May hotel/motels. That we change bed linens every 3 days for those guest with extended stays. We do not change linens on a daily basis. Also check out is between 10:am and 11:00am which is typical thus allowing the housekeeping staff to prepare the rooms for the next guests. I acknowledge that this was your 1st trip to the Cape May shore and hope that you understand the reasoning behind the policies and visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was our first time staying at the Heritage Inn. Three days prior to our arrival (June 24th-28th),I severly sprained my ankle and was in an air cast. Our original room was on the third floor. My fiance called and spoke to the owners to see if they could get us a room on a lower floor. They went out of their way to do so. When we arrived we were given a room on the first floor with a handicapped shower. I never would have been able to handle going up and down three flights of stairs during our stay. The rooms were very clean and inviting with plently of room. The entire staff was super friendly and curteous. Set right across the beach, boardwalk and adjacent to resturants was a big plus. Any questions we had about resturants, shops or other activities the owners happily answered all of our questions. We had some fabulous meals based on some of their recommendations. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a great place to stay with helpful friendly staff great prices and being just across the street from the beach. Thank you all for making our trip so special.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, and some rooms had a fridge and coffe pot but no microwave...so keep that in m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoonMermaid58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was our first time staying in Cape May and we had a wonderful experience at The Heritage Inn. You couldn't possibly ask for a better location and the staff was so friendly. We had questions about restaurants and the room and they were happy to accomodate everything that we needed. The room was extremely clean and the bed was pretty comfortable for a hotel. All of the other guests were social and kind. We loved having the ability to park the car and never having to move it again througout our entire stay except when we went out to dinner one night. It is steps from promenade and beach and only a few blocks from Washington Street. We will definitely be returning to The Heritage Inn - especially if it's on the third floor (the view is spectacular)!

Room Tip: Try to stay on the third floor if you can, the view of the beach is breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RSWilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was our 1st time staying at the Heritage Inn. Me and my husband plan on going back real soon to stay again, the rooms were so nice. The staff was so friendly and they made you feel so welcomed. I would recommend this hotel to everyone if you want great service and a enjoyable place to stay. Thank You for making our stay so great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlang0626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#15 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.5 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn

Property: Heritage Inn
Address: 721 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2457
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Heritage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location...They say location is everything and the Heritage Inn is Cape May's Premier Beachfront Location in Historic Cape May. Within walking distance to Cape May's Victorian Mall, restaurants or a concert at the Convention Hall. Enjoy a day at the beach or a beautiful sunset on the Heritage's 4th floor sundeck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing