We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (640)
Filter reviews
640 results
Traveler rating
365
159
47
31
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
365
159
47
31
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop deckacross the streetgreat locationconvention centerwithin walking distanceroom was cleanthird floorfamily owned businesssmall poolstay there againno elevatorcan't beat the locationmy husband and ibeach avenuepark the carrestaurants and shopsa great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
500 - 505 of 640 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Though we reserved late on this very popular weekend, management accommodated us with a very nice room. We stay here early summer and then again on Columbus Day/Victorian Weekend to say good bye to summer and for the great clearance sales. We stayed in a first floor room (a first for us, we usually stay on the 3rd floor). The room was clean. Everything worked in the room. Management was friendly. Since it is family owned and operated, you get that "homey" feel from the management. They make an effort to get to know you so they can make your stay with them better. Maid service was prompt and non intrusive. We asked for additional towels. They were brought to our room promptly. You can't beat the location, directly acrosss from the mini-boardwalk and a minute walk to the beach. There is a roof top eating area that gives you a view of the beach. We won't stay anywhere else. Give them a try...you won't regret it.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms have king beds, M/W and fridge. End rooms have windows to the side street. Book early for the best room locations
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandDPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Right across the street from the Promenade. Short walk to beach and local restaurants. Great bagel shop around the corner. Pleasant staff. But the place is old and definitely needs a coat of paint. Rooms are small. The heating/air conditioning system was very noisy. I thought I was in the Boeing jet engine testing facility when the system turned on. Don't expect the amenities of a Holiday Inn, Hampton Inn, etc. Plastic glasses and couple of small bars of soap. If it wasn't for the location, you wouldn't give this place a second look. Doesn't appear they are putting any money back into the property.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank qualitykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel was a joke! The decor needs updated and the sheets need fabric softner. I also paid $150.00 more than quoted on hotels.com because 1. they charged for my three year old to sleep in a king size bed with my husband and myself 2. they imposed a 14% sales tax on the room. Word of advise, take your money and stay at one of the beautiful hotels in Cape May.

Room Tip: Do not spend your hard earned money on this hotel!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rowbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen F, General Manager at Heritage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

It appears as if your complaint is really based on the "extra" fees you were charged which in fact are not "extra" fees but are standard fees. You reserved a room with 1 king bed and chose to have your child sleep with you which was your choice. The cost of an additional person in a room is $20.00 per night, a standard rate in most hotels in Cape May. Additionally, you were upset with the 14% tax you were charged which again is a standard charge for motels in Cape May and other New Jersey shore areas. I agree that it is a lot of tax but that would be an issue for the Governor of New Jersey who sets the tax rate, not the Heritage Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I have been going to the Heritage Inn for a couple of years now and we always have a wonderful time there. Gwen and her mother make you feel very at home and the room is spotless thanks to Emma who comes daily to clean and straighten the room. We had an ocean view room that was wonderful and it is so centrally located you can walk everywhere. We park the car when we arrive and don't get in it again until we leave. Not to mention the wonderful weather we had this past visit in September. Will be going back there again and again.
Dominic & Cookie

Room Tip: Room #26 has the best ocean view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cookie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Left a few weeks ago and can;t stop thinking about what a great time we had. 5 days that were filled with sunshine, a great location and the best hosts! Gwen & her son Mark were so nice and just made our stay so much better. Had a great room. fantastic time every moring & night on the rooftop deck.. mornings at the beach. afternoon at the pool and then off to dinner. this was our third time here and i know we will be back soon. !!!! Great hotel great price. Simple, Clean. Comfortable and safe.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews