We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great place”
Review of Heritage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Heritage Inn
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I have been going to the Heritage Inn for a couple of years now and we always have a wonderful time there. Gwen and her mother make you feel very at home and the room is spotless thanks to Emma who comes daily to clean and straighten the room. We had an ocean view room that was wonderful and it is so centrally located you can walk everywhere. We park the car when we arrive and don't get in it again until we leave. Not to mention the wonderful weather we had this past visit in September. Will be going back there again and again.
Dominic & Cookie

Room Tip: Room #26 has the best ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cookie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 552 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

Left a few weeks ago and can;t stop thinking about what a great time we had. 5 days that were filled with sunshine, a great location and the best hosts! Gwen & her son Mark were so nice and just made our stay so much better. Had a great room. fantastic time every moring & night on the rooftop deck.. mornings at the beach. afternoon at the pool and then off to dinner. this was our third time here and i know we will be back soon. !!!! Great hotel great price. Simple, Clean. Comfortable and safe.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I just had the pleasure to spend 3 nights at The Heritage Inn on Ocean Ave., Cape May, NJ. Barbara and Gwen treated you like you were staying at their home. Hotel is in a great location, the room was large, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Could walk everywhere. As a single woman traveling alone I felt I was safe and secure. Other guests were friendly and quiet. Just the right place for a September get away. I'll be back in late Oct. for Halloween or Dec.for Christmas. Won't stay any were else.

Room Tip: Older guests should request 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saundra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a few days, only because all other places were booked up. Our room had a smell to it even when we kept the window open for some fresh air. The women at the front desk was very nice to us in welcoming us in. On the bad side besides the smell, the beds are very squeaky and the walls are thin. So much so, that we heard "everything" the couple above us were doing (yup, you guessed it).

I would stay here again only if I'm in need of a quick room and have no other options.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jbarbieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I spent four nites at the Heritage Inn in early Sept. A great venue since all the kids are back in school. The hotel is at a great location directly across from the beach and easy walking distance to restaurants, shopping, bars, etc. We did not use the car the whole time we were there. The staff was courteous and professional. We had a king size room on the 2nd floor. The room was clean, the air conditioner and tv worked well, plenty of hot water and towels. If your looking for an elevator, pitchouli soap products, and monogramed bath robes this might not be your place. However, an excellent value at a great location. Beautiful rooftop deck to have a wine and watch the sunset.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John1067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Just left the heritage inn. It was our 8th time in cape may and our best.the hotel is very clean.close to everything.we stayed on tbe 3rd floor which had the best view. Gwen was great. It was also quiet. See u next september

Annamarie and steve

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRIDGET1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The location of the Inn is wonderful: close to the beach, Washington Street, places to eat. The pool is small, but well kept and refreshing. However, I found the room to be unpleasant and small for two people. It smelled moldy, though at first the mold smell was covered over by cleaning products. In unpacking my clothes once home I found I had to launder everything because it all smelled like mold from the room. There were very few outlets, and one of the major outlets didn't work, which meant that a third of the lighting was non-functional, making the room very dark. The kitchenette overhead was broken and cracked and a broken lamp was its substitute. The beds were comfortable. The staff was helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: An upper floor is probably a better choice than the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kim139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.9 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
717 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,346 reviews
0.5 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#2 of 37 in Cape May
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
736 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondale by the Sea
Avondale by the Sea
#18 of 37 in Cape May
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn

Address: 721 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2457
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: $122 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heritage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location...They say location is everything and the Heritage Inn is Cape May's Premier Beachfront Location in Historic Cape May. Within walking distance to Cape May's Victorian Mall, restaurants or a concert at the Convention Hall. Enjoy a day at the beach or a beautiful sunset on the Heritage's 4th floor sundeck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing