We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Cannot Wait to Go Back.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Heritage Inn
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cannot Wait to Go Back.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

So sad to be home after another fantastic stay at the Heritage Inn. We have stayed here a number of years and this will always be our home when we come to Cape May. The Staff Barbara, Gwen and Mark make you feel at home and tell you right from the get go if there are any problems to let them know. They do many things to make you feel welcome (Thanks for the Rita's coupons Mark!). They are always available and willing to help. The rooms are clean and spacious. We stayed on the third floor with a great view. Emma, ( the cleaning lady) is great and will do what she can to make your stay comfortable. The pool is clean and on the rare occasion you may find sand in it. I mean we are at the beach.............I know I contributed my fair share of sand in the pool cause I came across the street from the beach every night and had a swim. The pool was so refreshing. The ice machine is on the 1st floor but heck it is always full. We parked our car for 9 days and never had to use it to get places. Everything is conveniently located near by. We look forward to our stay at the Heritage every year and when we pull it we say "Hello, we are home!"

Room Tip: Although there is a nice sundeck on the top the rooms that face the beach on the third floor rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2670katek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    117
    32
    26
    34
See reviews for
118
210
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Garfield, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Unfortunately I had to end my stay here almost 24 hours early due to a personal situation but overall the room is decent. It is not a high end five star hotel but nor was I looking for one. The rates here are also reasonable for a place across from the beach. My only compliant would be that the room I stayed in had a handicap shower which floods the entire bathroom, as there is no barrier between the shower floor and the bathroom floor. Overall not a big deal as I enjoyed my stay while I was there. It was unfortunate I had to leave early. Would definitely go back.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueDallas, General Manager at Heritage Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your complimentary review. And we appreciate your information regarding the handicapp bathroom. We did just have that bathroom installed as required by the state and I agree with you that the water on the floor is an issue. As mandated we are not allowed to have a lip off the shower as a wheelchair has to be able to access the shower. However, we are going to have the floor pitched properly this fall so that the water flows directly into the drain provided. Again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having you return to the Heritage Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I don't understand how people rate this place as being nice. The only nice thing about it is that its right across the street from the beach...the rooms was clean but very, very old!! The bathroom I would say was even disgusting!!! So dated and old....there were dead bug marks all over the walls, and I found ants on the night table. They crawled all over my phone. For the price I paid, I think I got ripped off...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueDallas, General Manager at Heritage Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
You say "never again", I say thank the heavens for small blessings. I can only hope that you find happiness at another establishment....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We've stayed here 8 years in a row and plan to continue. Pricy during the peak of summer, but good when you can get in before the season. The rooms have always been very clean, although we did have ants on the vanity during our June visit this year. The location is ideal for the beach and for walking everywhere. We've made many good memories here.

Room Tip: Avoid getting the room directly over the office, as you sometimes hear the phone ring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmmreads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall-on-Hudson
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was our first stay at The Heritage inn. We decided to book here because of its location to the beach even though some reviews weren't so comforting. Our experience was very good. When I called to ask questions and make changes to the reservation, I was greeted with warm, friendly, and accommodating voices. When we arrived, it was the same. The Inn is a family run business and they all take great pride in it. We would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budd Lake, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Heritage Inn, for the first time last weekend. We are so in love with the place! We had only a short time, and everyhing was perfect. Easy, convenient, very clean and the nicest experience. When I got there, I had an injured foot, my husband went inside and I stayed in the car, while he checked in. The lady from office came out to me and offered me her cane, for the weekend!! I was so very touched, by her kindness. It turned out to be one of our best getaways, ever!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This was our first time at The Heritage Inn, and we loved it! The room was spotless, and the Inn has the best location in Cape May. We had our two children, 6 and 4, and we walked everywhere. We will definitely be back, because staying with Gwen and Mike is like staying with family!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eganssle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.9 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#10 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 575 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 1,021 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#17 of 38 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 stars 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#2 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 983 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#6 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#7 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn

Property: Heritage Inn
Address: 721 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Heritage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location...They say location is everything and the Heritage Inn is Cape May's Premier Beachfront Location in Historic Cape May. Within walking distance to Cape May's Victorian Mall, restaurants or a concert at the Convention Hall. Enjoy a day at the beach or a beautiful sunset on the Heritage's 4th floor sundeck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing