We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great location”
Review of Heritage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Heritage Inn
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This was our first visit to Cape May. As there are plenty of places to stay, we took a chance and drove down before making a reservation. I had seen the Heritage Motor Inn on Google Maps and rang them about 10 minutes prior to arrival to see if they had any rooms available. We managed to get the last one. Upon arrival I was initially anxious as it seemed to be run by teenagers, however they were extremely efficient and within a few minutes we had signed in and had the key to our room. We were on the third floor in room 32. The views from our room were amazing. We literally could see the shore and the waves. There is also a veranda on the fourth floor giving even more impressive views.

The room was what I expected, having stayed in a motel down in Florida a few years back. Two double beds, a kitchenette with microwave and refrigerator, kettle and coffee percolator. Everything was very clean and plenty of fresh towels provided. We decided that we wanted to stay another night and went to reception to see if they had anything available for the next night. The useful receptionist advised that another room would be available but we would have to move. We paid and went to find something to eat and take in the sights. The next morning we packed up and visited reception again to exchange keys for the rooms. This time a helpful lady exchanged the keys for us. We had room 7 on the ground floor. The decor in this room was a little dated and not quite as nice as the previous room. It also smelled a but musty, however it was perfectly adequate.

We both enjoyed out stay and will probably be staying here again.

Note: WiFi is available, but the signal isn't very strong. You would be fine if you were on the first floor a couple of doors down from reception but anywhere else you will struggle.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pacmania1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 552 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

First time visiting Cape May and The Heritage Inn. The parking was a little confusing at first. There is an area right in front (off beach ave) for check in/check out, then you can either park on the side of the pool (if there is room, only about 4-5 spots) or in their parking lot around the corner (1 minute walk). The rooms and beds are standard hotel rooms/beds, nothing special but comfortable enough. The staff was nice and helpful. The best part of this hotel is the location. It's close to many attractions such as the promenade, washington street mall, bike shops, minature golf, etc. It is also right across from the beach and you can get a great view from their observatory deck.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The location was great, the staff was great, the room was average. The beds were horrible, plastic on mattress and pillows as protection. Cheap quality beds and short. Great price.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueDallas, General Manager at Heritage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Thank you for your review. We do work very diligently to ensure a wonderful stay for all of our guests. As for the beds, we have just replaced 2 floors of mattresses this week in time for the Memorial Day holiday weekend. They were on order at the time of your stay. I am sorry you didn't get to enjoy our new Serta Premier Plush Collection of new bedding. However, I would like to invite you back to the Heritage, my compliments for a 1 night stay to enjoy our new accommodations. And again, thank you for the compliment to our staff and our Inn.
Gwen Finley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Well we drove to Cape May ! And we rang the Heritage Inn and they had a room as we arrived we spoke to Mark ( surfer dude ) I think lol, he was great and very friendly. We were given room 32 what an excellent view! A great room no complaints. We then decided to stay another night, and we contacted Mark and he was really helpful we had to move the following day to room 7 no issues there ! We were impressed with the motel and will be coming back ! Cape May is a great place and man got some good waves for my board !

THANKS GUYS

Room Tip: Go there !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dude069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

THis is a small motel ,with an excellent location. Pleasant inn keeper looking to help ones stay enjoyable and with out issues.This was not the Waldorf but I had the same service at a most reasonable cost and services. Would recommend strongly!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denville_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

It was a very nice hotel, loved the victorian style building my biggest complaint it the fact that the wifi didn't work other then that it was a very nice hotel

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

First time in Cape May and the Heritage Inn did not disappoint. 25 feet from the ocean and three blocks from the shopping center. It is a family owned and operated inn. As we were leaving the son who works at the hotel ran us down in the parking lot to give us a jacket we had forgotten. The rooms were clean new, and the owners even upgraded us to a king size bed with an ocean view. Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.9 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
717 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,346 reviews
0.5 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
736 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondale by the Sea
Avondale by the Sea
#18 of 37 in Cape May
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn

Address: 721 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2457
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: $122 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heritage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location...They say location is everything and the Heritage Inn is Cape May's Premier Beachfront Location in Historic Cape May. Within walking distance to Cape May's Victorian Mall, restaurants or a concert at the Convention Hall. Enjoy a day at the beach or a beautiful sunset on the Heritage's 4th floor sundeck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing