We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drinks at Congress Hall”
Review of Congress Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Congress Hall
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Drinks at Congress Hall”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Not realizing that it is standard in Cape May to come prepared with your own wine bottle to the local restaurants, we asked our server at Tisha's Restaurant for a recommendation as to where to obtain a cocktail. We were sent to Congress Hall, just two blocks away and were treated to expertly prepared cocktails in a beautiful, historic setting. The bar itself was a bit loud, so we took our drinks into the lobby for quiet conversation and a great view. Loved my Sour Cherry Bourbon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Potso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    334
    131
    41
    42
See reviews for
308
509
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Stayed here for a wedding and was extremely disappointed. At over $300 a night, we returned from the wedding at 10 pm to find out that our room was two floors above the hotel's night club and were kept awake until 1 am with live music. We called down to the front desk twice and were told that they would "regulate the noise". Needless to say, it continued and often seemed louder. The music and crowd sounded as if they were right outside the window. At 6 am we were awakened by a baby next door due to paper thin walls. Hotel management was snarky and unapologetic the next morning. Basically their attitude was "sorry but we're not sorry". We were told that if we stay again, we need to say up front that we want peace and quiet. Are you kidding me?! Can't believe this person works in the hospitality industry. We were comped a lowsy $50 off our bill. Infuriated to be treated this way, we called the general manager who also gave a whole bunch of excuses which included but was not limited to, "we assume that guests of a wedding will go down to the nightclub after the wedding". Again, how can you run a hotel business and make these kind of assumptions about your guests?! We are at fault because we wanted to go to bed before 11 pm and get a good night sleep? The GM offered a free night another time instead of comping the room. As if we would want to go there again knowing the noise problem and rude staff? I think we'll pass. So bottom line, if you want to stay here, make sure you tell them you want "peace and quiet" for $350 a night.

Room Tip: Tell them you do NOT want a room above the night club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Nikki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

My hubby and I spent two nights at this hotel we had a very nice time.
We took the Blue Pig special. The is a restaurant in the hotel called the
Blue Pig. They serve three meals and the service and food is good.
The hotel and rooms are very clean.

They also, have a bar called the Brown Room and they have entertainment there.
So, if you're planning on going to Cape May Look up the Congess Hall on the internet.
You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greatshots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We went to Cape May for our 10th wedding anniversary, it came highly recommended and we quite happy with everything...The room was very nice, updated bathroom and comfy bed and pillows.. Jim at the Brown Room was very accommodating !! We had breakfast at the Blue Pig and enjoyed the sun room! Having a cocktail out on the lawn was so relaxing! Highly recommend and we live in a resort a hour away on LBI!! Looking forward to my September visit!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deerwife55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
201 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We've been going to Cape May for years and remember when Congress Hall was a dilapidated, all-but-deserted eyesore. we were delighted when we heard that there were plans afoot to renovate the site and very much enjoyed staying at the hotel for the first few years after it opened, when off-season prices were quite reasonable. In recent years these prices skyrocketed and we preferred to stay at other, much more reasonably-priced, locations. We were thus pleased when Congress Hall emailed us a special offer for rates as low as $119 for the two-night period we were interested in being in Cape May. When we called, we were told that rooms at that price were no longer available but we could get a room with town view and a queen bed for approx. $135/night. We booked the room but when we arrived we found the room was very small, much smaller than the rooms we had stayed in on previous visits. When we asked the desk clerk whether a larger room was available, he explained that rooms with king-size beds were much larger but also more expensive. He indicated that such rooms were available, but that we'd have to pay the difference if we wished to switch. When he heard me complain to my wife that we should just have stayed at our other preferred location at a much lower price, the desk clerk offered to split the difference in cost between the queen and king rooms. Since these rooms were clearly going to be unoccupied, I complained that most other hotels would offer complementary upgrades to unused rooms and that his was not a very generous offer. He refused to budge but then Emily, another desk clerk who had overheard the conversation, interceded and said that she would be happy to oblige us. She found us an ideal, much larger room at no extra charge. The room we occupied was not only large but brightly painted and nicely furnished. Overall, we had a pleasant time at the Congress Hall during our stay -- we particularly enjoyed relaxing outside with a drink in their rocking chairs. Bottom line is that we share the view of others that this hotel has a lot of charm and could be a delightful place to stay with a better, more accommodating staff. They should take lessons from Emily in making customers feel like they mattered. Thank you, Emily, for helping make our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: As note above, rooms with queen beds are quite small -- you'd have to squeeze in with your lugga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adanacsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

A wedding brought us to Cape May. We had never been to this area - what a wonderful surprise. The town is friendly with lots to see and do. We really loved Congress Hall. The room was a bit dated, but large and very clean. We found the staff to be accomodating. Our meals were all part of the wedding weekend so I don't know about specific dining rooms, but we thought all the meals were delicious. We were in Cape May for what I would think is slow season - I can imagine it gets very crowded during the summer season.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howell, NJ
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We loved the location and the staff especially Jim the bartender who was really great. The food at the blue pig was very good and the staff was great. The room was nice and bathroom updated. The next morning a mouse was running by our room door. I caught it and brought it to the front desk to make them aware and I released it down the street. The girl at the desk was nice but the manager didn't even walk out of the door to apologize at all. We checked out and still no manager or apology. I emailed them and no response at all. I was there to celebrate my wedding anniversary not catch mice outside my room in an expensive hotel. Whatever manager worked the morning of may 5 needs to attend management 101 or find another vocation.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank jgorto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.9 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
0.7 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hall

Property: Congress Hall
Address: 200 Congress Place, Cape May, NJ 08204-5306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#12 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Congress Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Congress Hall in Cape May is America's First and Oldest Seaside Resort Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Congress Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Hall Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing