We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Congress Hall
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Star(Cape May)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victorian Motel(Cape May)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carroll Villa Hotel(Cape May)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alcott(Cape May)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,219)
Filter reviews
1,219 results
Traveler rating
627
360
140
45
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
627
360
140
45
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrown roomblue pigadirondack chairstown viewhistorical hoteloff seasonocean viewadult poolwinter wonderlandbeach servicebeautiful propertyper nightacross the streetturn down serviceking roomfourth floorlarge bathroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
695 - 700 of 1,219 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We spent 5 days at Congress Hall surrounding the wedding of our son. It is truly a beautiful space and I wish we had more time to just sit and do nothing while there. in the future I would pay the extra for the ocean view although the town view was of beautiful Victorian homes. The hotel is across the street from the mall which would be nice for those in vacation. I doubt a finer place exists in Cape May for a wedding reception. The food for the reception was excellent especially that served for the cocktail hour. The building is old but well cared for which may explain the price for the rooms, which seem considerable higher that would be expected for the types of rooms. However they were clean, bright and maintained by extremely fine housekeeping staff. Our bathroom was barely big enough to turn around in, however. In general the staff at CH is top line. My only staff complaint was the spa person who did my mani-pedi and disappeared without saying she was leaving. The manicure was only fair.
The food in the Blue Pig was very good on the weekdays but lacked something on the weekend and was not up to the cost on the weekend - Sat / Sun. Cheers to the valet staff!!! They were the best. Of note is a problem that should be solved. There is only one set of bathrooms on the entire first floor. It is a very long walk from the restaurants and ballroom. Many of our wedding guests expressed amazement and concern. That all said - I would seriously consider going back for a special event or a long weekend.

Room Tip: This is a very nice place, excellent location beautiful grounds, fine staff,but overpriced for the type of rooms. Recommend an ocean view - otherwise it is not unlike many hotels.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was my 6th stay at Congress Hall and it did not disappoint! I typically visit off season and do like that it is less crowded at those time, but the pool, the service, everything was fabulous as usual! Cannot wait to go back this fall!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMMcDonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Cape May is wonderful. Went to Coingress Hall just for cocktails, music & night out. Lovely, beautiful, amazing property. Had a great time between drinks outside, sitting on rocking chairs, Brown Room & Boiler Room-so much to do in one place. Chuck at the main desk was super helpful. He answered a ton of questions for us, even though we were not staying at the property. Excellent customer service from Chuck...thank you!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Prudence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our family loves Cape May. Staying at the Congress Hall was always on my wife's bucket list. "Been there done that" sums it up.

Our second floor room overlooked some ancient mechanicals that hummed away constantly and the other half of the hotel that actually has a view. They were not quite able to drown out the seagulls that were regular as roosters at 6am. Apparently the staff begin moving trash out at that time and the seagulls are opportunists. The other downside of being in a room above the dumpsters...the gulls have a come to breakfast scream that is annoying.

The staff are pleasant and helpful. That's a plus, because the kitchen is slowwwwwwwwww. 2 hrs to get breakfast on Saturday at the Blue Pig.

Generally I didn't expect a super modern hotel but some things are just annoying like no water pressure. The water barely flows from the shower. Seems like that could be fixed.

Closing the pool at 6...that's a problem with any family that has kids.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HPantry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We fell in love with this wonderful charming hotel 5 years ago and returned for a short stay this week. Regarding the descriptor 'charming'--I am still not bothered by the out of level floors in the guest rooms. It does not bother me to walk downhill from the bathroom to the closet. But architects and engineers, beware. My husband did not find this charming. Our room actually had rotting wood falling from the top of the window frame, hidden by a cornice board. We reported it to the manager, who was most appreciative. Just a reminder that this building really is old and must require an amazing level of upkeep. The lovely part--the bed is made to perfection with wonderful crisp linen, the room was quiet and the temperature just fine, the glass and chrome shelves and silver valet trays in the bathroom are little examples of the contemporary design touches throughout the room and the hotel. No stuffy Victorian decorating here!

We found the valet staff to be attentive, prompt and helpful. The front desk staff professional, the Blue Pig service, still begging for improvement. As before, we enjoyed the Brown Room --nice ambiance and a fun crowd of people.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews