We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of character, right on the shore”
Review of Congress Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Congress Hall
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Congress Hall is an old, historic, and grand hotel overlooking the Atlantic Ocean on the southernmost tip of New Jersey. Meeting and sleeping rooms were both good. I like the brightly colored, striped carpet and light blue walls in the sleeping rooms and the bathrooms with old-timey black and white tiles, which was nice except the shower tile grout could have used a good scrubbing. The restaurant, bar, and store on the first floor all have a nice feel to them -- cozy and atmospheric. Our meeting rooms were fine -- food was just OK. Location is great (if you like Cape May) -- right on the beach, with a pool and countless Adirondack and rocking chairs for just hanging out. Do yourself a favor and pay $50 extra for an ocean-view room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElmCityAfficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

686 - 692 of 1,190 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

We were fortunate to take advantage of a TravelZoo offer to stay at the Congress Hall Hotel, We enjoy learning about historically significant properties and this one did not disappoint. The hotel was built around 1880 and has the charm of an old property (yes, including floors that are not level and walls that are a bit thin). Our room was on the 4th floor with a beautiful ocean view. The property is well maintained and well manicured. But the best thing of all was the comfortable bed---and that's a "biggie" in my mind. The room was well equipped with ample pillows and towels and fluffy robes. We enjoyed having a restaurant on-site and ate in the Blue Pig three times. The pool was quiet (there is an adult pool as well as a larger family pool). It was nice to have lunch and snacks available and served by friendly waitresses. The hotel is located within walking distance of shopping, carriage rides and many other activities. We were impressed with the friendly wait staff, cleanliness, and the general way the owners have presented this historical property. This being said, I would return to this hotel--but only if I could take advantage of a special "deal." The non-discounted rack rate and cost of meals are a bit over the top and beyond what I would budget for a few days at the beach.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room on the 4th floor for a fantastic view. Light-blocking shades keep out the sunny mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzq720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at Congress Hall for one night in May for a friend's wedding. While the hotel did a great job on the food at the reception (our waiter even asked us how we wanted our steaks cooked at a wedding!), the hotel itself was a real disappointment. I was surprised to see how bad the grass looked at our friend's wedding reception site.

Our room was on the 3rd floor and looked out onto the valet area in front of the hotel. I could clearly hear throughout the night: the people in the 4th floor room above us walking around (it must have been Godzilla up there it was so loud), our upstairs neighbors consummating their relationship for about 20 minutes, and everyone who was right outside the hotel (likely many of our drunk friends from the wedding, but still).

For $300 a night, I expect a lot more from a hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor, not overlooking the valet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetotravelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I can not say enough of how beautiful the hotel is and how accomodating the staff is. It is right on the beach and is very kid-friendly. The staff was so accomodating to make sure our stay was a terrific one. We wanted to stay one more night and the staff was able to keep us in the same room we were in. The Blue Pig restaurant had great food and service. The wi-fi was nice. The pool was perfect to play with children. We will be coming back when we stay in Cape May. The only suggestion I have is more clothing storage space. We were living out of suitcases.

Room Tip: Unless you really care about an ocean view, I would not pay extra for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was our first experience staying at Congress Hall and, sadly, we were disappointed, primarily with the staff & level of service. The front desk staff were not welcoming or friendly and the staff working in the Blue Pig for breakfast were incompetent. Out of four mornings, only one resulted in us receiving the meals as ordered and in a timely fashion. One morning we were brought the wrong meals twice - and never once heard the words "I'm Sorry." Truly inexcusable for a hotel & restaurant if this supposed caliber. Additionally, the noise level in our room was challenging. I believe the hotel should notify guests at that time of their reservation that there is a wedding on the property.
The Brown Room is beautiful and we had a lovely experience there one evening. We also thoroughly enjoyed the pool, along with the service of the pool attendants as well as the beach attendants.
The hotel itself is a lovely historic inn and we had heard many wonderful reviews of friends' experiences there. Sadly, we can not say the same and I doubt we will stay again.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a wedding booked for the property during your stay. Also, request a room that is NOT...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ALH-LSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHCapeMay, Manager at Congress Hall, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

We appreciate your feedback and take all points into consideration. We certainly hold ourselves to higher standards than were met during your stay. Our goal is to provide the best service possible for each guest, and I am sorry we fell short of that during your stay. Your comments have not gone unnoticed and we will be sure your concerns are addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We won an auction bid at a fund raiser and cashed it in this past Friday. All I can say is...what's the big deal? Our room - 419 - must be the one they put the winners in - not a level floor - non-existent water pressure - and paper thin walls. Rack Rate totaled over $425 - our bid was $400 - we thought maybe something bigger then 10 x 12.

I did do the Spa Sampler - Facial was great - massage by Stephanie was devine - the girl that does the Mani-Pedi's was beat from a long day and it showed in her services and demeanor. This was a good return on investment - despite the mani-pedi let down.

Overall it is now a been there done that stay. Our money spends better at the Grand or the Marq-De-Laffayette.

Room Tip: Not room 419
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NJappraiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

From the service to the room and hotel 5 stars Very happy , would stay again and recommended to friends.
Coffee shop has excellent coffee. Aveda and bathrobes and daily new york times extra plus in room

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreaBee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
569 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,349 reviews
0.9 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
718 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#12 of 37 in Cape May
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hall

Address: 200 Congress Place, Cape May, NJ 08204-5306
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#12 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: $121 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Congress Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Congress Hall in Cape May is America's First and Oldest Seaside Resort Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Congress Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Hall Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing