We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a solid "c" rating”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Congress Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Congress Hall
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
haddonfield nj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a solid "c" rating”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2008

We give them a "c" rating because the view and location are wonderful. The staff and lack of amentities are not. A cold, impersonal feeling resonates from the front desk to the gardner. Not a dresser or refrig. For $235 a night. We informed the hotel two weeks in advance that we were on our honeymoon and they not only failed to provide even a small token of welcome they placed a couple with two very young children next door. When I asked to have someone monitor all the noise I recieved a blank stare and a mumbled reply. The doors bang loudly, there was a gap between door and floor that let noise and draft in, zero water pressure in the sink, one window wouldn't stay open, our shower nozzle had to be replaced and self parking was a long walk. We had a great time in spite of it all and will return to cape may soon but not here.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gidget64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    331
    128
    41
    42
See reviews for
304
500
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2008

For my fiancee's 30th birthday, I booked a weekend stay at Congress Hall - we had originally visited a year ago, when we were considering having our wedding at the hotel, and both fell in love with the place.

The common areas of the hotel are gorgeous, so it was nice to see that same simple, classy style carried over to the rooms. We had a huge room, with an incredibly comfortable bed. Everything was done in beachy tones - pastels, and lighter colors, but in a way that made the room feel very classy.

The bathrooms were also huge, and the stall shower was a treat - with a shower head high enough that I didn't have to bend over to get my hair wet! I'm 6'3", and my fiancee is also tall - when you go into a shower built for tall people, you notice.

We were visiting in April, which meant that we were able to get a deal off the normal rates, and take advantage of some nice specials. I booked a "Snooze and Choose" package with the hotel, which included a $20 credit per person per day at the Blue Pig, Congress Hall's awesome restaurant (try the eggs benedict - amazing) and a choice of one of four activities: Spa treatments, Dinner at a nearby restaurant, Bike rentals or a round of golf. We picked the spa option, and got a free side by side massage on the last morning of our stay. It was a great deal! The whole package cost less than a typical stay would during the high season (summer)

All in all, a great experience, and we can't wait to go back there.

  • Liked — The design of the rooms & common areas - gorgeous!
  • Disliked — The price - but it was lower when we went than it typically is.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank brooklahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2008

We just stayed there during March spring break. When we approached the hotel, it was lovely. When we checked in at reception we were greeted with a very standoffish almost snobby attitude, not a hint of friendliness. Everyone was like that even the maids for turndown service. Not at all friendly and warm. We loved our room on the top floor. The children were amazed by the beautiful room. Everything was clean even the bathroom. It kind felt like a sterile efficient place with no real warmth or friendliness. We did have children and did receive a call from the front desk on our second night there that it was getting a little noisy. Well, there are wooden floors underneath the carpet. This is a remarkably updated hotel for being almost 100yrs old, love the lobby, love the colours of the hotel. Definitely a couples, honeymoon, romantic holiday hotel. Not necessarily family oriented or kid friendly, although there were other kids there during the time we stayed. All together I don't think it was worth the $200/night we spent here and this is during low season too! plus during this time most of the shops and restaurants were closed so we didn't really experience much. Didn't know so much was closed during the off-season. We eventually ventured out to Ocean City and found more things to see, do, and places to eat. Liked Ocean City and will probably stay there during the summer. Overall, Congress Hall is beautiful chic boutique hotel , a little pricey, but very clean and efficient.

  • Liked — the chic beautiful and extremely clean rooms and lobby, the closeness of the beach and historic mall
  • Disliked — the coldness of the front desk and staff
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sparklegirl_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenelg, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2008

We stayed at this pretty hotel - right on the boardwalk / beach. It is old, reasonably well maintained, clean however "tired" in several respects - plumbing that was close to fully functional in the tub yet a lovely shower - tiny TV yet huge room with a great view. Breakfast left something to be desired with cold potatoes yet an OK eggs Benedict. Fine for a beach holiday with the family, short of a wonderful romantic getaway. Pricing - pretty steep for this hotel however everything in Cape May is pricey.

  • Liked — Large Rooms, Convenient Location
  • Disliked — Everything is
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfinniga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2008

My wife and I just got back from our yearly trip to Cape May and as usual we stay at Congress Hall. This place is just wonderful. The food at the Blue Pig is really good, and the rooms are real cozy. We love the night club and the town. We go in the off season because its quite. We use the spa and get massages and we love the beach during the winter. The town has some cute shopping and some great places to eat. We love the Washington Inn for dinner at least one night. This is the place you go to get away for a quite weekend away from the kids.

  • Liked — The decorations and the big bath tub.
  • Disliked — Notihng
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kjaffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown Pa
Level Contributor
111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2008

My wife and I stayed here for our annual post Holiday respite. A grand hotel with friendly staff. The rooms were comfortable and it was the biggest tub I have ever been in.

  • Liked — The hotel
  • Disliked — The Blue Pig Resturant
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2007

We knew a yr. ago when we fell in love with Congress Hall this would be the perfect place for a wedding. Our family and friends had a wonderful time here. It's such a charming piece of history. The friendly staff and management was so helpful during our planning stages of our wedding and the on the day of the wedding. We will always keep congress hall as a special place in our hearts and we will definitely come back to visit!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank menkjessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.9 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
0.7 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hall

Property: Congress Hall
Address: 200 Congress Place, Cape May, NJ 08204-5306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#12 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Congress Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Congress Hall in Cape May is America's First and Oldest Seaside Resort Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Congress Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Hall Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing