We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to my expectations”
Review of Congress Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Congress Hall
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I was very pleased with my stay at Congress Hall... the hotel is right on Beach and has excellent views of the ocean and right at Washington Street Mall. The staff was friendly and helpful! I must say I was impressed with my room. This hotel was built in the 1800's and since I did not see pictures of the rooms on the website I expected mediocre but found the room very nice and clean. W had breakfast at The Blue Pig and although it was very busy the service we had was very good. I would definitely stay here again. .

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view although the city view is nice
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandJSmith237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,167)
There are newer reviews for Congress Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

715 - 721 of 1,167 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night and being that this was our first time in Cape May this was a good choice. The location is great, there are bicycle rentals right outside and so is the beach. The beach across the property was wonderful. Our only issues were the room and the price. Our room didn't really have a view and the furniture was just a bit too dated for my taste. Also for what we paid (nearly $400 for the night in the summer) there were no perks, no breakfast or happy hours at the hotel bar (if there was one I didn't see it). Would come back only if we could stay with a discount or breakfast package.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BD83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Every year we visit Congress Hall in February / March. I would highly recommend staying. The Blue pig has the most professional staff that makes your dining experience relaxing.

The only thing i recommed is do not prepay. I had an emergency where i had to change the date 7 days in advanced and it appeared i hassled the rep that i spoke to. Although after a bit they did accomedate the change.

No matter what we love visiting Congress Hall and much appreciate the staff that takes excellent care of their occupents.

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms with the Balcony is worth the trip and money
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MICHELLE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Congress Hall in March 2013. We've been to the hotel's Blue Pig bar several times in the past, but this was our first stay overnight. Our impression of the hotel has always been positive, and this stay was no exception. Congress Hall has an authentic feel, somewhat old-fashioned (in a good way). Luxurious, yet its employees make it an extremely welcoming place to stay.

INSIDE: it's an old hotel but it's been kept up nicely. Ocean or Town view, you can't go wrong with any room. Hotel has all the modern amenities. Our room was large, the bed was very comfortable, nice shower. We ordered room service that was delivered with no additional surcharge!

LOCATION: can't be beat! Steps from the beach, and a short walk to everywhere within Cape May, a block from the Washington Street Mall, etc.

Negatives: there is really only one. The fridge was pre-stocked with expensive items so there was no room to keep our own drinks.

Unquestionably one of the best NJ shore hotels, with a lot of character and history. We hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akory99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Congress Hall is perfectly situated on the shore of the Atlantic Ocean. The old fashioned hotel has been renovated, but was not overdone. The kept the old dark wood in the first floor bar, and this handy stop opens to a walkout veranda that is lined with rocking chairs for enjoyment while you sip your drink. The expansive lawn that separated you from the ocean is beautifully tended, and the lawn is the canvas for a wonderful garden of hydrangeas and roses. There is croquet available, too!

See? A step back in time! The rooms are charming. The are individually decorated in old fashioned colors. The floors creak and seem a bit uneven as you walk through the halls, but this just rinds you that you are in an old hotel!

The hotel restaurant features a great breakfast for an additional ( but reasonable) charge. Meals are available all day, and there is a choice of indoor or outside dining. Bike rentals are available on site. Try the Congress Hall Inn on your next visit to Victorian Cape May!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dartmouthmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We arrived very early and the front desk personnel were very accommodating. The room (407) was very clean but I was surprised to see how small it was and that it had a low ceiling. We had stayed here once before and were on the second floor. A very different experience, Much bigger with high ceilings. Disappointed that there is not complimentary coffee and tea. Something so simple could change the entire experience of a guest. Seems odd they can't figure this out. Nice stay but some of the little things were missing to make it a great experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floors have high ceilings and are nicer than the 4th floor.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We've stayed at Congress Hall many times and have been generally pleased with it. Most rooms are a nice size, with comfortable bedding. Would like slippers to go with the robes though. Also there are no pens, only pencils to use. Most hotels of this caliber have coffee available, but not here. They used to give you coupons to use in their store to get coffee, but no more. Most guests are very considerate in regard to noise. We love to have a drink in the Brown Room. Breakfast in the Blue Pig can be very slow to get waited on and get your food. Overall it's a great place and we like the old time feeling. The spa is good, too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueandStu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
706 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
1,329 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#10 of 37 in Cape May
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
719 reviews
0.9 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hall

Address: 200 Congress Place, Cape May, NJ 08204-5306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#12 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: $146 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Congress Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Congress Hall in Cape May is America's First and Oldest Seaside Resort Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Congress Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Hall Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing