We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love CM”
Review of Congress Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Congress Hall
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Turnersville, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love CM”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Have been going to Cape May ever since I was a young child. I remember when Congress Hall was in sad shape. Ever since the restoration, my husband and I have been staying at least several times a year. Love to stay on the 2nd floor, in one of the rooms with the balcony. What a great way to fall asleep....open the windows and listen to the waves. Wake up in the morning to the ocean and sunrise. The staff is very friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Any room on the 2nd floor with a balcony with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    339
    134
    41
    42
See reviews for
313
515
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Our visit to Congress Hall was fantastic! Great room, courteous service, 2 upscale bars and the Blue Pig Restaurant had delicious food!! There are some very nice, eclectic shops also. Very enjoyable stay. Would recommend highly!

Room Tip: The view from my oceanfront room was amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constance S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I have made it sort of a habit of staying at CH the past 6-7 years. We love the high quality of linens and personal products provided in the rooms as well as the high level of service received from the staff. Having the Blue Pig Tavern right there is icing on the cake. We enjoy sleeping in, then walking down to the Blue Pig for a hearty brunch. Then there's the amenities like the on-site shops and spa. A nice little slice of heaven for us every time we come.

Room Tip: Pick a top level room if you don't want to hear people walking above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My favorite place to visit in cape may. The best for dinner, drinks, music! Love the brown room and boiler room. Beautiful historic building across from the ocean. Rooms are not large but comfortable and well decorated.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ledfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcellville, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Congress Hall was warm and inviting on a cold November evening, the weekend after Hurricane Sandy. They were fully prepared for visitors. It was our first visit, and our reservation was made just the day before. The people at the front desk were friendly and helpful. They volunteered that they had wi-fi before we asked, and gave us the password. They gave us all sorts of local information, as well.

The lobby is fabulous, with several cozy spots to sit, in front of or away from the fireplace.

Our room was a regular room, in the front of the hotel. There was minimal noise, as there is a large front lawn between the rooms and the street. The room was large and inviting. The bathroom had a tub and a separate shower. The fixtures are "old" in the sense of having character, but functioned perfectly. The floor was not totally level, but given the age of the hotel, this wasn't unexpected. It added to the charm of the place.

Both the bar and the Blue Pig Tavern were lovely places to spend time. The staff there were equally friendly and helpful. The food in the tavern was superb.

The back of the hotel also has a huge lawn, with lovely plants, a pool, and Adirondack chairs. It faces the ocean across the street, but the view is unobstructed. It was very simple to walk across the street and onto the beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PubPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Congress Hall totally lives up to the hype of being a grand, high-end, full-service hotel on the beach. Cape May has suffered no real damage from Hurricane Sandy and the town is beautiful and open for business. At the Hall, dinner and breakfast at the Blue Pig were amazing; the staff was excellent. The rooms, hallways, lobby, lounges -- everything -- were comfortable and clean. We were a group of nine for the weekend and all that we asked for, including rooms down the same hall, was considered and granted, including our own parlor with kitchen and deck overlooking the ocean. The Spa services were top notch and John the GM went out of his way to greet us and make local recommendations. Amazing stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank obtrenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Husband and I went for an overnight getaway here. Hotel was great. Comfy room with balcony overlooking the ocean. Hotel had nice lounge and tavern. Beautiful property-very historic. Perfect location at the end of Washington Mall. Comfy bed with crisp white linens. Robes supplied. Great mini bar that provides you with various wine glasses.

Room Tip: Make sure you push the window up high enough when you open the balcony doors so you don't hit yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripmiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#17 of 37 in Cape May
668 reviews
0.9 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
178 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,176 reviews
0.7 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
681 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 37 in Cape May
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hall

Property: Congress Hall
Address: 200 Congress Place, Cape May, NJ 08204-5306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#12 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Congress Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Congress Hall in Cape May is America's First and Oldest Seaside Resort Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Congress Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Hall Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing