We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room too small”
Review of Congress Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Congress Hall
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Room too small”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed same time last year and paid same amount of money for a much better room. The room was definitely not worth the high price. The location is great, but next time we will probably opt to stay someplace else.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bbscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    345
    136
    42
    43
See reviews for
324
522
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on a Monday late in December having spent the night before at their sister hotel, the Virginia. As usual, we are sp pleased with everything. Front desk staff is helpful and welcoming. The room is beautiful. We ate in front of the fireplace at the Blue Pig. Lovely Christmas decorations with a 13ft. Blue spruce in parlor. Never want to leave...

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Zinniaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed with friends last week - 12/8/12 - and the place was decorated fantastic. Lots of hustle and bustle - and really put you in the holiday spirit.

The room - 22# - for over $200.00 a night - we got to hear the band in the "Boiler Room" until 1:00 am - we couldn't hear TV over the band. Not that I mind bands, music and fun - I just want to hear it - in the "Club"..or the lobby - doesn't matter - not my room.

The Front Desk - offered to turn down the noise???...Are you kidding? My point is that the "Front Desk" has to know far the band music travels - and don't book guests in those rooms unless they are warned...then charge $49.95 - like the Econo....Book the wedding parties there...or band lovers....or offer the paying guests - ear plugs.

I'll visit Congress Hall again - but not stay there.

Room Tip: If you love music - and like to stay awake until after 1:00 - ask for room 224 - because you'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I've stayed at Congress Hall and it is generally nice. The rooms are quaint. The Christmas ambiance is uplifting.

So this year we book a two night stay. Three weeks ago I am in accident - walking is now very difficult. We tried to cancel the reservation. READ THE FINE PRINT CANCELLATION POLICY.

YOU LOSE 100% IF YOU CANCEL WITHIN 21 DAYS OF YOUR STAY. Twenty-one days is unconscionable. 100% is unconscionable. Talk about adding insult to injury. Life is too unpredictable to justify this kind of penalty.

Too many other good places in Cape May to put up with this kind of rough business. We won't be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Delaware-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Excellent overall everything! Congress Hall is where you want to be in Cape May! It is right in the heart of the historic district and is in a perfect location for dining, shopping and relaxing! It has great views of the beach and Victorian Homes. The spa services are high end and everything was perfect from the planning of the trip to check-out!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jydvsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Congress Hall was the most romantic, beautiful hotel my husband and I have ever stayed at. Every aspect of our weekend was perfect. The staff, the gorgeos holiday decor, the room, the food, even the fireplace in the lounge... all incredibly first-class from start to finish. I also loved the location and the wonderful shopping and dining across the street. I will make it a habit to visit Congress Hall every November/December from now on. I cannot put into words how much I enjoyed our weekend!!

I will say, however, the room that ajoined ours was occupied by children... they were a bit noisey but that did not bother me. They did not keep us up at night! An air vent in the bathroom did though. It made noise that bothered my husband.

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner room that was supposed to be a town view but we actually had a lovely view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We came here in summer several time and really loved it. It is right by the ocean. The property is so beautiful and the staff is very friendly. Recently we stayed there in Nov. I have to say it had a different flavor from summer. It is much quieter. We saw ocean from our room. Had breakfast in bed - we enjoyed the property even in winter! There were stores open in town. Some restaurants were open. Ebbit room is delightful. The only downside is the walls between the guestrooms are thin. You can hear some noise from next room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room you can see the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulianaPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
691 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 37 in Cape May
1,312 reviews
0.7 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,202 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#8 of 37 in Cape May
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hall

Property: Congress Hall
Address: 200 Congress Place, Cape May, NJ 08204-5306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#12 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Congress Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Congress Hall in Cape May is America's First and Oldest Seaside Resort Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Congress Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Hall Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing