We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just returned home”
Review of White Dove Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Dove Cottage
Ranked #38 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Gowanda NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just returned home”
Reviewed August 24, 2008

We just arrived home from a wonderful visit to Cape May and the White Dove Cottage. This is our fourth stay and cannot imagine staying anywhere else. I love our room, breakfast is amazing and we love to relax on the front porch in the evening. It is a short walk to the beach, cute shops and restaurants.......how nice NOT to have to drive. Alison makes us feel very special.........the only bad thing I can say.............you do have to leave when your reservations end............tried to find a way not to :) You will have a great stay.

  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdhink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, NJ
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2008

We have been visiting Cape May for a number of years and only stay at the White Dove Cottage.

The owner and proprietor Alison Bjork is one of the most pleasant and accommodating individuals we have ever met.

She treats all of her guests very special.

The White Dove Cottage is located on Hughes Street, a beautiful tree lined street that is only one short block from the Washington Street Mall and two walking blocks to the beach. We love this location because most of the properties on the street are private residences. It’s a very quiet street.

In addition, we love to sit on the front porch rockers during the day or in the evening as the horse drawn carriages and trolleys come up the street.

The White Dove also provides onsite parking which is a very important accommodation in Cape May.

Throughout the years, we have stayed in every room including the two suites. The rooms are exceptionally clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated.

We especially enjoy the breakfasts that Alison prepares each morning for her guests.

Once you stay here, the White Dove will become only place you stay in Cape May!

Russell & Linda Triolo
Clifton, New Jersey

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtriolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modernphoenixv2
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2007

My wife and I just got back from spending a weekend at the White Dove Cottage and it was wonderful. We stayed in the Countess Karen room on the 2nd floor and and between the antique 'fainting couch' and the gorgeous 4 poster bed, we were very comfortable.

The inn was decorated with a number of Courier and Ives prints, Victorian antiques and plenty of Christmas decorations to really put us in the holiday mood. As other reviewers noted, the White Dove is located on a quiet, tree-lined street near both the Washington Street mall and the beach.

It's also in the primary historic district, which means that you will hear the clop-clop of horse hooves walking by the house periodically and if you're lucky to visit during the holiday season, you'll also hear their sleigh bells. There's just something about sitting in the parlor of an old building, looking at all those antiques and hearing the horse-drawn carriages... it's like stepping back in time.

One of the best qualities of the White Dove, is the fact that it's run by a hands-on innkeeper named Allison, who will go out of her way to make your stay memorable. She lives on the property, so the inn is her home and she treats guests like they are a member of the family.

I had a wonderful time sitting at the dining room table while Allison was baking her wonderful Christmas cookies, enjoying casual conversation about Cape May. She knows the city well and will be a valuable resource to anyone who is new to the island. From restaurant recommendations to inside information on the many things there are to do in Cape May, Allison is there for you.

As for me, I am a columnist with Exit Zero magazine and it's my job to write about the history of Cape May. I author a question an answer column each week called "Cape Curiosity", along with a historical column called "The Way We Were," so it's fair to say I know the city pretty well. Even so, Allison taught me a few things that I didn't know and filled me in on all the recent Cape May news.

I highly recommend the White Dove Cottage!

  • Liked — The location, innkeeper, views and the overall experience
  • Disliked — Nothing, it was perfect
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2007

What a wonderful time my husband and I had at the White Dove Cottage for our weekend getaway! The delightful smell of Allison's delicious home cooked breakfast lured us down each morning. As Lea poured the coffee, she filled us in on all of the local happenings and Joan always joined in for some pleasant conversation!The White Dove Cottage is so charming and yet makes you feel as if your at home amongst old friend's. I can't wait to go back!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank sunsetgirl777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2007

We had never visited Cape May before and were referred to the White Dove Cottage by friends who are frequent guests there. We loved the central location of this inn and all the help with dinner reservations and activities from the innkeeper. Breakfasts were great and we made some new friends there who told us how nice Cape May was at Christmas time, so we booked another weekend at the White Dove for December. Cape May is a special place that we wish we had discovered earlier, but we will make up for lost time by frequent visits next year.

  • Liked — Great Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2007

We spent 4 nights at White Dove Cottage in August 2007, Allison was a wonderful host. We were treated with great hospitality and genuine warmth, and she is a wealth of information. The location is great - a quiet residential area and one block from the beach! The breakfast is delicious and plentiful - a great start to a busy day. The house is within walking distance from all the shops and restaurants. The only critique I have is the shower in our room was very small. Rooms were immaculately clean. The breakfast room is charming, and eating with the other guests allows you to meet other travelers you would otherwise have had no opportunity to cross paths. I would highly recommend a stay at this B & B.

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Disliked — Shower
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gypsies88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2006

The White Dove Cottage is in an excellent location. On Hughes Street, which is tree-lined, and quiet yet very close to the beach, shopping and restaurants. We stayed in a suite which we booked at the last minute and were pleasantly surprised. It was large with a sitting room, fireplace and shower for two in the room. Breakfast was either at 8:30 or 9:30am. Homemade treats and drinks were provided in the afternoon. Breakfast was somewhat formal. Everyone sat together at a dining room table and were served at the same time. Although breakfast was delicious each day, with a fruit appetizer, muffin, and then main course, there were no cereals or other light offerings. Also, eating on the porch did not seem to be an option. Alison and Joan were readily available during breakfast to share in the coversation. The inn is tastefully decorated, wel-kept and not overdone. The price for the room in the summer was comparable if not better to what other B&b's were charging for the weekend. Parking is also available on site which is a plus in Cape May. There are many B&B's to choose from in Cape May, and I would definitely come back to the White Dove again.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank klmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.2 mi away
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
#29 of 37 in Cape May
386 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Captain Mey's Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Dove Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Dove Cottage

Property: White Dove Cottage
Address: 619 Hughes St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2317
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
White Dove Cottage Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing