We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Victorian Lace Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Victorian Lace Inn
Ranked #19 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Allentown, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 16, 2009

I believe we wore out our welcome before we even arrived. When we did arrive we were not welcomed and no introduction was provided only a request of payment for our remaining balance. A tour was given of the Sand Castle Condo we stayed and then left. Service was not provided (mostly a misscommunication - twice) and no thank-you for your stay was ever mentioned. I believe we met the owner Carrie, but she never introduced herself. Breakfast was delivered to us because children were not permitted in the dining room only on the front porch. It was a chilly weekend, so we had it delivered and not even a good morning was uttered. Upon our departure the only thing mentioned was our check-out time was 11. Perhaps because we were not staying at the main house or because we came with children but we did not feel the one bit welcome and the 600 dollars I paid for two nights did not feel worth it in the least. The condo was clean and it was nice to have a fully equiped kitchen. Unfortunately, the hospitality was so poor to us, that I would not recommend this place or ever repeat my stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel4fun3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
609-884-1772, Owner/Innkeeper at Victorian Lace Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2009
We too are disappointed - disappointed that this guest did not have a good experience with us. We are one of the few bed and breakfast inns in Cape May that welcome children and we delight in having families stay with us. We are not able to accommodate children under five years of age in the main house but we do have a cottage and Sand Castle Suites that are perfect for families with small children. When we are unable to serve breakfast on the porch, we deliver breakfast to these families.

We are proud of our staff. The staff member who checked this party in has been with us for over ten years. She is a real favorite of guests who look forward to seeing her when they return year after year. The tour mentioned in this review is part of our welcome to the Inn. Instead of just giving a key and sending guests to "fend for themselves" in their accommodation, we walk them to their suite and show them all the rooms including the bedrooms, baths, and kitchen to make sure that everything is to their liking and to see if they have any questions. We also let them know what time we will be serving or delivering breakfast. As stated in our confirmations, we do ask for payment upon arrival. With regard to check-out, it is the policy of the Victorian Lace Inn to bid our guests goodbye, check that they enjoyed their stay, and wish them a safe trip home. However, we were not able to do that with this guest as they did not return the key to us, left it in their suite, and left without us even knowing it.

I am sincerely sorry that these folks felt that we were inhospitable. We pride ourselves on our hospitality and service as you can see from other reviews online. Hopefully, the children in this group enjoyed themselves. We think Cape May is great place for children and always look forward to beach season when families come to visit.

Carrie O'Sullivan
Owner/Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    18
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
40
112
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Level Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2009

The O'Sullivan's have a gem of a property that provides a wonderful atmosphere for any occasion during any time of the year. We visited in the quiet winter of January and it was R&R the whole stay.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BucksPATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

If you only go to a B and B one time, make it the Victorian Lace Inn! The Innkeeper Deborah was the best at reccommending dinner and activities for the weekend. We stayed at the Bantry Cottage and it felt very beachy, and private. But we still had the breakfast each morning and the special attention that only a quality B and B can provide.
Breakfast was delicious and the rooms were spotless.
I inquired about a local artist's painting of the Inn. Deborah contacted the artist and the next day it was ordered and shipped to my house. What service!!
The owners of the Inn greeted us the first morning at breakfast and sincerely wanted to provide help or suggestions for anything we wanted to do in town.
This was a 50th birthday present for my best freind and I came out of it looking like a hero, This Inn could do no wrong in her eyes or mine!
The Inn is located 1 block from the beach which was very convenient. The B and B provided beach chairs and towels for the beach. There was an outdoor shower connected to the Bantry Cottage which made it convenient for a beach day.
I would highly suggest a visit to this lovely B and B

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nsquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newjersey
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2009

From the time we booked our dates until we left, just a great time. Everyone was really friendly, the room was spotless and even better then the pics on line. Nicole, did a great job on breakfast and my bill was worth every pennie just to have her famous Macroons in the lobby. just steps from the beach, Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ace3557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

My friend and I spent a great weekend at the Inn for my 50th Birthday. This was our first time there. The Inn is quaint and the Inn Keeper, Carrie, is an absolute doll! Everything was lovely and our breakfasts were delicious. Between my friend and myself, we have numerous allergy issues and Carrie accommodated all of our needs. The room we were in was so comfortable and the beds were terrific!

We also spent time at the Cape May Spa which is also owned by Carrie and her husband. They went out of their way to accommodate us with our allergies issues there as well. They are incredible!!

I highly recommend The Victorian Lace Inn and the Cape May Spa!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewJerseySpaQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2009

We stayed in the Bantry Cottage and it was private, clean and very much a beach house. Great owners and experience all around.....looked at the Cork Suit as well...awesome....depends on what you are looking for they seem to have a great variety of choices....modern to beachy in the cottage. I only said average on the price because it was off season.....the high rates for peak season would be well worth it..if that makes sense.

The people were great, service, everything,,,,,,will definitely go back.....

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sldive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeepsguy004
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2009

My fiance and I stayed at the Victoria Lace Inn for a night in February 2009. It was just a nice relaxing time for us. We got a chance to bond like we use to before we had our 7 month old. The place was very clean and the staff was very helpful and nice. This is the best time to go to Cape May if you are looking for some quiet time. We will be making another trip to the Victoria Lace Inn next year at the same time for some more relaxation. I would recommend this Inn to anybody that is looking for some relaxation. Get the spa package also, it is owned by the same owner. The spa is relaxing and the staff was very nice.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeepsguy004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
1,247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,137 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 37 in Cape May
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Star
The Star
#19 of 37 in Cape May
207 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
653 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Lace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Lace Inn

Property: Victorian Lace Inn
Address: 901 Stockton Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andy and Carrie, Owner/Innkeepers invite you to Victorian Lace Inn, an all suite Inn just five doors from the beach featuring spacious one and two bedroom suites, all with fireplace, kitchenette, and private bath. Two suites have lovely ocean views and some offer jacuzzi tubs. In the summer, enjoy a relaxed conversation and a cool drink on our wrap around porch with ocean views. In the cooler months, curl up by a crackling fire to enjoy our homemade afternoon refreshmentsGetaway packages. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing