We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suite stay in Cape May”
Review of Victorian Lace Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Victorian Lace Inn
Ranked #18 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Suite stay in Cape May”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Victorian Lace is a great inn 2 blocks from beach in Cape May, 5 blocks from Washington St. Mall. Very convenient to all. Nice inn-keepers, great breakfast each day. Visited for a girlfriends' weekend and we had entire third floor (Wicklow Suite plus the other room). Full kitchenette was a big plus. Only small minuses - the wicker furniture in suite was not comfortable for hanging out together in the evenings; many Cape May B&B lend guests full season beach tags - this isn't one of them, we all had to purchase beach tags which were $5/day or $10/3 days per person. Would definitely stay again. Highly recommend Union Park, 1.5 block walk, for dinner.

Room Tip: All are suites - since no elevator, avoid 3rd floor if have mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFPoolMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
609-884-1772, Owner at Victorian Lace Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We love accommodating "Girlfirends Getaways" because the groups always have so much fun together. All of our suites are furnished differently and Wicklow does have the wicker furniture which I must admit is not as comfortable as the overstuffed leather couch and club chairs in the Leitrim Suite. With regard to beach tags, we used to have beach tags available for our guests to use. However, about 8 to 10 years ago the City of Cape May passed an ordinance prohibiting that practice because the city was not getting enough revenue to clean the beaches, pay lifeguards,etc. So, reluctantly, in order to abide by the City law, we no longer offer that amenity. Thank you for posting a review for us. We always appreciate guest feedback and we do hope to see you all back again for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    18
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
41
111
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greer, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We've visited Cape May numerous times and usually stay at the same B&B. This time we choose the Victorian Lace Inn and what a pleasant stay we had. The Inn is beautiful, inside and out. Our suite was more than we needed as we were only in town for one night. The location is perfect - just park your car and enjoy. We definitely will return for another stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ-Archer-Miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
609-884-1772, Owner at Victorian Lace Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Once again a great stay at the Inn. Great hospitality from the owners and the staff. Food was great and just enough to make it to lunch!! Love the Cork Suite!! Can't beat the closeness to the beach the boardwalk and downtown.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
609-884-1772, Owner at Victorian Lace Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We always enjoy having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa
2 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have stayed at the Victoria Lace Inn many times over the past 5 years. This time we decided to bring our golden retriever with us. Baxter's room was great. It was large enough to accomodate my husband and myself comfortably as well as our 85 lb. golden. The private entrance was much appreciated and the private patio gave us the ability to sit outside with the dog in a nice setting. Although this room is geared specifically to guests with dogs it was immaculate and fresh. And of course, we loved the breakfasts as always. Can't wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LenexaZippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
609-884-1772, Owner at Victorian Lace Inn, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Glad you guys had a good time and enjoyed Seabee's room (which as you know we named after our Goldendoodle Seabee) It was great to see you again and to meet Baxter. Goldens are wonderful. Seabee was thrilled that Baxter was so comfortable, you called the room "Baxter's Room." Looking forward to seeing you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My Wife and I were not overwhelmed by or experience. For the price [VERY Expensive], the ammenities were old and decripid. The kitchen was something out of a 1962 NYC apartment and the bathroom tub was very cumbersome to get in and out of. The breakfast [s] was fair in quaility. We also had a bad experience at the SPA. Overall, I got the feeling that the owners did not care about making substantial improvements because, due to the Inn's close proximity to the beach, they will secure an abundance of buisness no matter how shabby the ammenities in the Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillies1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
609-884-1772, Owner at Victorian Lace Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and appreciate your feedback. We respond to every review whether positive or negative and make changes if appropriate. The upkeep of our Inn is extremely important to us and all of our rooms are reviewed, painted, re-wallpapered, etc. annually. Unfortunately, what you see as "shabby" many of our guests appreciate as the charm of an 1869 colonial revival home. The kitchens are there for the convenience of our guests and have to conform to the traditional decor or the suite. To put a "modern" kitchen in that suite would not be appropriate. The bathroom is the original bathroom of the house and therefore has a clawfoot soak tub and the original marble sink. Unfortunately, clawfoot tubs can be cumbersome to get in and out of. Perhaps you would have been more comfortable in one of our other suites, either with a stall shower, or with an oversized jacuzzi tub. Also, we are sorry that you found our breakfast "fair". This is not a usual comment as you will note by the positive review we received from guests who stayed with us at the same time you did. We do realize that we cannot please all tastes. I shared your comment regarding the spa with Andy and he was surprised since you had told him that you enjoyed your spa services. There was an issue that we dealt with regarding your services being a gift from your sister. The spa was training a new front desk person who failed to enter your sister's credit card number under your name. Our credit card policy, for the protection of our guests, is that any paper with credit card information be destroyed after services are entered into the computer. When you arrived the front desk person realized the error and had to call your sister to obtain her credit card information again. To compensate her for any inconvenience, we adjusted the charge by 20%. Again, we are surprised by your comment since you had even complimented our front desk person for letting Andy know that there had been a problem so that he could address it. Although Victorian Lace Inn was not for you, we hope that you enjoyed Cape May and will return again to enjoy all it has to offer. The good thing about Cape May accommodations is that there is something here for everyone and hopefully you will find one that suits you better next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My family and I have been going to the Victorian Lace Inn every spring for over ten years. For the first few years, it was just me and my husband. The spring that I was pregnant, when we were leaving, I woefully said, "See you in a few years," because I was familiar with their policy of no small children in the Inn itself. Oh, no, Carrie, one of the owners said. They had recently finished the condos across the street, and they brought us over for a quick tour before we left. Well, it was perfect for families with small children. The condos have a full kitchen and a washer and dryer.

When we stayed in the Inn, before our son was born, we stayed in the Leitrim Suite every year. This year, our son is six, and, after several years in the condos, it's the first year we've been back in the Inn.

We love the Leitrim Suite especially for the porch attached to it- my husband loves to lie out there at night and listen to the ocean, a block away (and easily visible during the day).

Our son has food allergies, and his allergies were accomodated with no issues whatsoever for breakfast each morning. (They made him a totally separate breakfast!)

The staff has always been warm and welcoming, and they were wonderful with my son.

I would recommend to anyone that they stay here when in Cape May.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
609-884-1772, Owner at Victorian Lace Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always fun for us to welcome well behaved children and your son was a delight!. Looking forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Overall the Victorian Lace Inn is a lovely place however, I stayed in the dog friendly room this past summer and was very disappointed.
The room is basically in a walk out basement that had a strong smell of mildew. It is 1 big room with a kitchenette a bed and a living room area with wicker furniture and cinder block walls.
There is a really nice patio attached to the room but I couldn't even use it at night because there is no lighting and without lighting it was pitch black.
This room was soooooooooo HOT in the summer!!!!!! I was sweating at all times. The air conditioning system is sub par!!! There were little black bugs coming out behind the bathroom sink and the shower is the tiniest one I have ever seen.
Most of the lights didn't work in the room. Nice breakfast but for $235.00 a night, I expected a better room.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank lovethebeach93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
609-884-1772, Owner at Victorian Lace Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments. 2012 was the first year that we opened Seabees Room in order to accommodate guests with pets. It was an experiment to see how it would work for folks who wanted to bring their dogs. It is our policy to explain that the room is a ground level room with a private entrance to the driveway as well as through the atrium doors to a private brick patio. We also explain how the room is furnished. Perhaps that was not explained to you when you reserved and for that we do apologize. With regard to the outdoor lighting, we are not able to use the outdoor flood light that we have because of neighbors being so close by. However, you raise a good point. We will make sure to have a small battery lantern available for guests who need a light on the patio. We have updated the mechanical system so that guests can now control the temperature themselves and we have had no issues of guests being uncomfortable. We are most particular about the cleanliness of all the rooms in our Inn and can definitely assure you that there is no mildew or mold in this room. As far as light bulbs not being on, I hope you asked the staff to take care of that for you. Again we appreciate your comments. Guests who have stayed with us this past year have really enjoyed bringing their dogs and found that the room worked out well for them. In fact, because we have had such a good response from people we have opened the Bantry Cottage to dogs and are now accommodating folks with dogs in two units. We'd love for you to visit again and see if the cottage works better for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.7 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#17 of 37 in Cape May
678 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
347 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,153 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
290 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wilbraham Mansion
Wilbraham Mansion
#10 of 39 in Cape May
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Lace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Lace Inn

Property: Victorian Lace Inn
Address: 901 Stockton Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andy and Carrie, Owner/Innkeepers invite you to Victorian Lace Inn, an all suite Inn just five doors from the beach featuring spacious one and two bedroom suites, all with fireplace, kitchenette, and private bath. Two suites have lovely ocean views and some offer jacuzzi tubs. In the summer, enjoy a relaxed conversation and a cool drink on our wrap around porch with ocean views. In the cooler months, curl up by a crackling fire to enjoy our homemade afternoon refreshmentsGetaway packages. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing