We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home away from home!”
Review of Victorian Lace Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Victorian Lace Inn
Ranked #22 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I have been vacationing in Cape May ever since we met years ago. I surprised her one year by booking us at the Victorian Lace for our anniversary. We've been going there ever since and look forward to our stay every fall for 2 weeks of quiet peace, warmth and beauty. Never have we been treated so kindly. We've grown so fond of everyone at the Inn. The Innkeepers (Andy and Carrie) are wonderful. And Nicole is a gem. Brandy was a welcome addition to the staff this year and a perfect fit. Everyone goes out of their way to make sure we have everything we need while staying there. We love staying in the "Leitrim suite" with a big private deck that looks out over the ocean. Thank-you Andy and Carrie for your beautiful Inn! We will forever be your returning guests!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
609-884-1772, Owner at Victorian Lace Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thanks so much! You know we always look forward to seeing you both! Go Penn State!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 199 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

From the outside the inn is a typical Cape May ''gingerbread house'' - its charming, colourful and old fashioned. However, the inside is less appealing to say the least. Old furniture and bizarre ornaments fill this freezing air-conditioned sealed inn. You cannot escape the cold as the windows are sealed shut from the inside. The smell of fried food is therefore also kept in and never leaves the rooms or the surrounding spaces of this small house. On a more positive note, the bedrooms were only decent-looking but extremely clean and the breakfast was good. It had an optimal position as it was only a 2-minute walk to the beach and the main street.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinogingi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
609-884-1772, Owner at Victorian Lace Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

We are disappointed in your review of our Inn. Hopefully folks that are interested in staying here will read the excellent reviews of others who have stayed with us (particularly the reviews from August, the month when you were here with us.) In response to your comments regarding temperature, the Inn is on a central climate control system and therefore we ask that guests do not open windows in the heat of the summer as it will negatively impact the temperature throughout the Inn. And the windows are NOT SEALED either from the outside or the inside as this would be a fire hazard and against code. I recall your visit and that your daughter was not able to sleep in an air conditioned environment. We did provide extra blankets to accommodate her but unfortunately that did not satisfy her. As I am sure you understand, we could not turn the air conditioning system off in the heat of August with a houseful of other guests who were very happy to have it on. I suspect that the "smell of fried food" you refer to may be experienced in the early morning when we are preparing breakfast but I would like to make note that our breakfasts do not consist of fried food. Even the bacon is baked so that it does not come out greasy. And of course in late morning or early afternoon, our guests enjoy the aroma of homemade cookies and cakes being baked for afternoon refreshments.
Again I am sorry that Victorian Lace did not meet your expectations. Hopefully you enjoyed Cape May and the "not to miss" sights we chatted with you about. And we do hope you enjoyed your trip to Costa Rica before returning home to Italy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I have spent several wonderful vacations at the Victorian Lace Inn in Cape May, NJ. This year we stayed in the Cork Suite, which was fabulous!! Many thanks to Carrie and Andy for making every stay at the Inn so special. Everyone at the Inn is so friendly and hospitable that we feel like the Inn is our "home away from home" in Cape May. We have to say that every breakfast is delicious (and, of course, the afternoon cookies!) and we love meeting other guests on the beautiful Inn porch. We look forward to our next visit to Cape May and our next stay at the Victorian Lace!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My wife and I spent 5 wonderful nights at this B&B. We were treated wonderfully, from the breakfast service to the friendly conversations with the owners & staff. The location was perfectly situated 1 block from the beach and a short walk to the lively action of Cape May center. The house is beautifully maintained yet comfortable & homey. We'll return to The Victorian Lace Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLAtrumpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
609-884-1772, Owner at Victorian Lace Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Always love having guests from Lancaster County - Lancaster being my hometown! We enjoyed you folks so much and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I spent our 25th anniversary at the VIctorian Lace Inn. We stayed in the Bantry Cottage which was absolutely beautiful!!! Carrie and Andy were exceptional hosts. The food was delicious!! We plan to return yearly. Thank you for making this special landmark even more special....

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
609-884-1772, Owner at Victorian Lace Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

We are so happy that you chose Victorian Lace Inn to celebrate your 25th. Look forward to seeing you for the 26th (or even before!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is our second time at the Victorian Lace Inn. The Inn is fabulously located, spotlessly clean, quiet and ideal for a romatic getaway. The breakfasts are magnificent! The owners are wonderful! All rooms are suites. We stayed in the smallest and it was quite spacious.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rayjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
609-884-1772, Owner at Victorian Lace Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for reviewing us! It helps people looking for a place to get a sense of what we are all about. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed in the Bantry cottage. It is just lovely and is a perfect romantic getaway. It is spotlessly clean and the bedroom is beautiful with a comfortable king-sized bed facing a cozy gaslit fireplace. It has french doors off of the bedroom that lead to a breezy balcony. Staff is nice and the owner is friendly and hands on. Just a stone's throw from the beach. Just be careful about the old pipes in the bathroom. It would be very easy to clog the facilities. Couldn't be more pleased and plan to return soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
609-884-1772, Owner at Victorian Lace Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your short stay here with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
The Southern Mansion
The Southern Mansion
#16 of 37 in Cape May
275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn at the Park
Inn at the Park
#24 of 40 in Cape May
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gingerbread House
Gingerbread House
#7 of 40 in Cape May
545 reviews
0.6 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 40 in Cape May
723 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queen Victoria
The Queen Victoria
#4 of 40 in Cape May
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Lace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Lace Inn

Address: 901 Stockton Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1634
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: $125 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andy and Carrie, Owner/Innkeepers invite you to Victorian Lace Inn, an all suite Inn just five doors from the beach featuring spacious one and two bedroom suites, all with fireplace, kitchenette, and private bath. Two suites have lovely ocean views and some offer jacuzzi tubs. In the summer, enjoy a relaxed conversation and a cool drink on our wrap around porch with ocean views. In the cooler months, curl up by a crackling fire to enjoy our homemade afternoon refreshmentsGetaway packages. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing