We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Cape May!”
Review of Rhythm of the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rhythm of the Sea
Ranked #28 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
McHenry, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cape May!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was our first visit to Cape May and we spent 4 nights at Rhythm of the Sea. We stayed in the carriage house, which afforded us some extra room and privacy. The 2-room suite was very comfortable with views of the ocean from each room. We ate breakfast two mornings at the inn and the entree's were good, though not for calorie counters. I would have liked the option of oatmeal or cold cereal as a substitute. As such, we opted out of breakfast the last two mornings. The location of the property is perfect for beach lovers, and tucked away from the noise/congestion nearer the historic district. The home is well kept and managed. A few suggestions that would have made our stay more comfortable: complimentary bottled water in the room, new towels (all the towels in our room smelled musty each day, even when they were just delivered by the housekeeper), and healthier breakfast options. We enjoyed our stay and hope to return to Cape May again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chseipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwikraut, Owner at Rhythm of the Sea, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased you found our location to your liking and that you had the ultimate getaway staying in our detached Carriage House suite. With regard to our bath towels, they are new this season and are laundered every day. We will bring your statement up with our housekeeping staff and make them aware of the issue you had. A half dryer sheet is used so as not to take away the absorbency. We will make certain they are not put away damp! We are very sorry you missed two of our breakfasts because you felt they were too high in calorie. We wish you would have said something! We alternate each morning between sweet and savory. We do offer all the things you commented on. When we send your confirmation letter we ask for your preferences for breakfast so that we can accommodate modifications to our menu. It is very helpful to know before arrival so that we can be better prepared, however we always have oats and fruit and granola and multi grain breads, etc., on hand. Steel cut oats take a bit more time hence the advance notice is helpful. We would look forward to seeing you again at our Inn and beautiful Cape May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    23
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
80
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My wife and I spent a wonderful four-night visit here over the Labor Day weekend. The location couldn't be better -- across the street from the beach. The hospitality was first-rate, the breakfasts were scrumptious, the room was clean and beautiful and the building was open to the gentle breezes of the shore. We can't wait to go back.

Sewickley, Pa.

Room Tip: Go for the room with the private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomW15143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2013

From the first moment we arrived, we knew we had made the best choice in a B&B to celebrate 10 years together and 7 years married. The Inn was absolutely beautiful! Top notch service in every way (excellent breakfast and afternoon snack). We felt at home, relaxed and comfortable instantly. Rode bikes into town, enjoyed the beach, shopping, and each other. We stayed in the SeaSide Retreat and it was perfect for us. Thank you for an awesome memory...We highly recommend staying here and will certainly be back again in the future.

Room Tip: Every room in this Inn is absolutely beautiful. Very well decorated and comfortable. We stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This Inn is the most wonderful place to stay. The beautiful front porch with the view of the ocean is so relaxing. The rooms are beautiful and the afternoon snacks are home made and are wonderful. By the time you leave you will feel relaxed and pampered. The hosts and innkeeper are so helpful and friendly. You will want to go back time and time again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moesy855NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Love the glassed in front porch, across the street from the beach and boardwalk. Relaxing getaway. Could not resist hopping on one of the bikes in the garage for first time in many years and taking an early morning ride.

Room Tip: The carriage house suite above the garage is roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Rhythm of the Sea. The inn operates with an enthusiastic and accommodating staff. Our stay couldn't have been better. Robyn gave us great recommendations for restaurants and had a thoughtful answer for any question we asked. I particularly value the location of this inn directly across from the beach. Also, the inn is a bit removed from the commercial center which is an easy 15 minute walk away. And the inn provides well maintained bicycles which we enjoyed riding around town and to the Light House. This was our best B&B experience ever and we would very much like to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 which offered a glimpse of the sea. We liked it for its size. We did check out t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Baby-moon #2 went down at Rhythm of the Sea and it was spectacular. There were other baby-mooner comments left in the guest book in our room too and we met a great couple who are expecting their first child a day before us at breakfast one morning. Robyn and Jodie were amazing hosts, friendly, inviting and informational. Our room was exactly as seen on the website (#4 Sea breeze sleeping porch). We slept really well at night and ate like kings in the morning. The breakfasts were so well prepared and presented. We loved hanging around the b&b in the afternoon playing pool or lounging on the front porch with the floor to ceiling windows slid open with a nice sea breeze coming in. We took full advantage of the brand new beach cruiser bikes and went into town a lot to eat and shop. Having the beach right across the street was wonderful too. We didn't spend as much time as we thought we would have on the beach though because we were more interested in lounging and eating. A couple of hours each day was enough and the beach is very well maintained. Don't forget you have to pay your beach pass fee when you enter the beach though, it was $20/3 days for 2 people. We were also able to park on site from 10 am our first day there until 1 PM today, but if you need additional parking the street behind the house has free parking.

Little things we loved about the B&B:
-Beach towels provided and laundered nightly
-Beach chairs to use
-Outdoor hot/cold private bath with shampoo, conditioner, body wash
-Bikes to use with locks and baskets (to carry your items)
-Refrigerator downstairs to put any drinks you want in it and drink anywhere in the house and a liquor store right down the street
-All day soft drinks and water in the refrigerator for $1 each.
-Afternoon iced tea and lemonade with some kind of sweet treat (scones, muffins, cookies)
-Nice robes in the rooms for lounging around in
-Restaurant list and menus
-Downstairs main floor powder room
-Great location

We will definitely go back in the future! We were so bummed to leave today after feeling so pampered.

Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BR1SK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#10 of 37 in Cape May
531 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
693 reviews
0.8 mi away
Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Peter Shields Inn
The Peter Shields Inn
#9 of 39 in Cape May
249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buckingham Motel
Buckingham Motel
#33 of 37 in Cape May
108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 39 in Cape May
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhythm of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhythm of the Sea

Property: Rhythm of the Sea
Address: 1123 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2628
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rhythm of the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only thing we overlook is the Atlantic Ocean! We are the perfect blend of convenience, comfort and romance. Architecturally inspiring and in keeping with the Arts and Crafts Movement the simplicity is refreshing and therefore relaxing. We invite you to savor our sumptuous meals, peaceful privacy and 'gemuetlichkeit' any time of the year. You were drawn to the Rhythm of the Sea and will be mesmerized by the tranquility. Looking forward to greeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rhythm of the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhythm Of The Sea Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing