We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art Deco B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rhythm of the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rhythm of the Sea
Ranked #24 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Basking Ridge, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Art Deco B&B”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Love the glassed in front porch, across the street from the beach and boardwalk. Relaxing getaway. Could not resist hopping on one of the bikes in the garage for first time in many years and taking an early morning ride.

Room Tip: The carriage house suite above the garage is roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    22
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
78
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Rhythm of the Sea. The inn operates with an enthusiastic and accommodating staff. Our stay couldn't have been better. Robyn gave us great recommendations for restaurants and had a thoughtful answer for any question we asked. I particularly value the location of this inn directly across from the beach. Also, the inn is a bit removed from the commercial center which is an easy 15 minute walk away. And the inn provides well maintained bicycles which we enjoyed riding around town and to the Light House. This was our best B&B experience ever and we would very much like to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 which offered a glimpse of the sea. We liked it for its size. We did check out t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Baby-moon #2 went down at Rhythm of the Sea and it was spectacular. There were other baby-mooner comments left in the guest book in our room too and we met a great couple who are expecting their first child a day before us at breakfast one morning. Robyn and Jodie were amazing hosts, friendly, inviting and informational. Our room was exactly as seen on the website (#4 Sea breeze sleeping porch). We slept really well at night and ate like kings in the morning. The breakfasts were so well prepared and presented. We loved hanging around the b&b in the afternoon playing pool or lounging on the front porch with the floor to ceiling windows slid open with a nice sea breeze coming in. We took full advantage of the brand new beach cruiser bikes and went into town a lot to eat and shop. Having the beach right across the street was wonderful too. We didn't spend as much time as we thought we would have on the beach though because we were more interested in lounging and eating. A couple of hours each day was enough and the beach is very well maintained. Don't forget you have to pay your beach pass fee when you enter the beach though, it was $20/3 days for 2 people. We were also able to park on site from 10 am our first day there until 1 PM today, but if you need additional parking the street behind the house has free parking.

Little things we loved about the B&B:
-Beach towels provided and laundered nightly
-Beach chairs to use
-Outdoor hot/cold private bath with shampoo, conditioner, body wash
-Bikes to use with locks and baskets (to carry your items)
-Refrigerator downstairs to put any drinks you want in it and drink anywhere in the house and a liquor store right down the street
-All day soft drinks and water in the refrigerator for $1 each.
-Afternoon iced tea and lemonade with some kind of sweet treat (scones, muffins, cookies)
-Nice robes in the rooms for lounging around in
-Restaurant list and menus
-Downstairs main floor powder room
-Great location

We will definitely go back in the future! We were so bummed to leave today after feeling so pampered.

Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BR1SK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Highly recommend this inn. Right across from the beach with comfortable sitting area downstairs from which to behold the dunes and sea. Far enough from the crowded center to be peaceful. Well-decorated, Arts and Crafts style with absolutely lovely owner and staff. No frilly, silly decor as one often finds in Cape May lodgings. Quiet and relaxing with everything one needs to enjoy a holiday: tea and coffee service at all times, afternoon refreshments including freshly baked cookies, beach cruiser bikes at no add'l cost, beach chair and a pool table. Loved our stay. Look forward to returning. Met other repeat guests.

Room Tip: Shared the two room suite with my father at the back of the inn. Quiet and comfortable. Other room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiggylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Our stay was short. But it was sorely needed. Our schedules had been full and hectic for the first half of the summer, and a quick getaway to the shore called to us. We have never been to Cape May before. We were looking for something different from the routine hotel and motel experience, and of course, Cape May seemed to have an abundance of B&Bs. How to choose? My daughter made it simple, by asking me to pick one as close to the beach as possible. Rhythm of the Sea is certainly that, close enough to the beach to easily hear the surf and the gulls, see the waves breaking, and smell the clean salty air blowing in from the ocean. You are not just staying at the Rhythm of the Sea. You are immersed in the rhythm of the sea.

The porch is a wonderfully relaxing and comfortable place where you can absorb the sights and sounds of the beach that is found just steps from the inn, right across the street. The furnishings of the downstairs are attractive and inviting, including the pool table that we enjoyed a couple of times. The breakfast room was similarly inviting, and breakfast was very tasty.

We stayed in the Jersey Shore Suite, which included two bedrooms, a sitting room with a sofa, a full bath, and a half bath. It was exceptionally quiet, and the beds were very comfortable. We rested well!

I know there are many other B&Bs in Cape May. We past many of them in our walks around the town. But at Rhythm of the Sea, you will be at the sea, hearing it, seeing it, smelling it, and you can't help but be relaxed and refreshed by its closeness. We'll be back to this B&B if our travels take us to Cape May again, and I certainly hope the opportunity arises.

Room Tip: You won't see the ocean from the Jersey Shore Suite, but if you need the space of three rooms, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HersheyPAtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay here alot. Right on the beach. Even though it was fully booked, we felt like we had the place to ourselves and enjoyed relaxing on the porch. The only negative in our mind was the small double bed. A queen would have been more comfortable for us. Otherwise a great stay. The main room and porch were very comfortable, lots of seating, pool table, great views. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtmack13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwikraut, Owner at Rhythm of the Sea, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We are glad you got the respite you both so deserved! It does amaze us too, when we are fully booked that we feel we have the place to ourselves as it is so quiet. Just to let you know, though, we only have Queen beds in our individual rooms and King beds in our Suites. No Double Beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was my husband's & my first visit to Cape May, NJ and after much internet searching, we decided to go the route of a bed & breakfast. We loved the look of it first off, the arts & crafts style is a favorite of mine - and we were delighted to see that it was furnished with lovely Stickley furniture. Both the grounds and the interior rooms were kept meticulously - and there is obvious pride shown by the owners that was reflected in every aspect.
We were warmly welcomed and felt immediately comfortable and at home - which is quite rare in any sort of hotel setting. We were looking for a quiet, restful ocean vacation and that is exactly what we experienced! It doesn't get much better with the ocean directly across the street.
The food was wonderful - and again, obvious attention to detail and quality was very clear. We just loved it - and are looking forward to staying at the Rhythm of the Sea again - perhaps to experience Cape May in the autumn. We would highly recommend without any hesitation - we left feeling like we had made a new friend in meeting the owner Robyn. :)

-Maureen & Al Verone

Room Tip: Our room did not have a full ocean view - it had been booked before us...but we will look forward to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mverone9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwikraut, Owner at Rhythm of the Sea, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! This is exactly what we strive for. Cape May and Rhythm of the Sea are wonderful any time of year and September is our favorite time of all. We would look forward to greeting you again soon!
Robyn, Wolfgang and Jodie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Macomber
Hotel Macomber
#28 of 37 in Cape May
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Peter Shields Inn
The Peter Shields Inn
#9 of 39 in Cape May
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Buckingham Motel
Buckingham Motel
#34 of 37 in Cape May
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 39 in Cape May
608 reviews
0.8 mi away
Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhythm of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhythm of the Sea

Property: Rhythm of the Sea
Address: 1123 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2628
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rhythm of the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only thing we overlook is the Atlantic Ocean! We are the perfect blend of convenience, comfort and romance. Architecturally inspiring and in keeping with the Arts and Crafts Movement the simplicity is refreshing and therefore relaxing. We invite you to savor our sumptuous meals, peaceful privacy and 'gemuetlichkeit' any time of the year. You were drawn to the Rhythm of the Sea and will be mesmerized by the tranquility. Looking forward to greeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rhythm of the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhythm Of The Sea Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing