We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of Cape May...Perfect Getaway”
Review of Rhythm of the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rhythm of the Sea
Ranked #25 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
North Bergen, New Jersey
1 review
“The Best of Cape May...Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

If you want the perfect Bed and Breakfast in Cape May, then this is it. My partner and I stayed there last July and we enjoyed everything from the very very open layout of the first floor to the huge rooms and the 100% perfect maid service.

When you walk into the open first floor with the large number of doors and sliding doors that are open to embrace the ocean front breeze and all of the light that you could possibly imagine, you feel like you are a billionaire owner of your own beach house right on the beach.

Everything is decorated professionally and better than any bed and breakfast you will ever see. It is no wonder this bed and breakfast has won awards as one of the best in the nation (www.bedandbreakfast.com).

Breakfast is served in a very large dining room and you have your own HUGE table to share with your partner, but I am sure that you can share with another couple, but I did not see any couples sharing when we were there. Breakfast was always something extraordinary and done to perfection, with plenty of variety, and surprise. Prepare for your taste buds to be filled with flavor.

It's the little things that this B&B offers that make it stand out above the others, such as the expensive coffee mugs that they offer with coffee 24 hours in the main room, the refrigerator that is available to store your cold drinks, wine or any food, wine glasses to use any time, a huge pool table, location of the house is right across from the entrance to the beach.

Menus with this B&B's favorite places, which they recommend, are in the living room as well. I have never seen that at any other B&B. This B&B's taste of restaurants is extremely reliable and accurate. Trust them when they recommend any restaurants, they know what they are talking about.

There is also a beautiful side room/deck on the north side of the front "open" porch room which a swinging love couch that my partner and I basked in glory as we viewed the ocean when we arrive...I thought I was in heaven...I found myself getting coffee and just sitting in the open front porch with open doors, breathing in the fresh clean air from the ocean quite often, with one of their coffee mugs in hand...tranquility at its best...

The air in this B&B is always flowing, clean and full of positive energy. The lounge chairs in the front porch must be expensive and are extremely fluffy and comfortable.

Julie and Robyn are very accommodating and extremely thoughtful. They know what they are doing. Julie is very easy to talk to, kind, and professional in every way. You will not find a better hostess.

Every penny spent is worth it because of everything they offer.

I hesitated to write a review because I wanted to keep such a gem a secret...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theprofessionalnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Rhythm of the Sea, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
We were thrilled you found us to be your perfect getaway place! We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    22
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
78
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
baltimore
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed at Rhythm of the Sea for 2 days......It was absolutely beautiful!!!! convenient to nearby attractions....Washington Street Mall.....restaurants....and other shops!!! The best part...you are 10 steps away from the beach!!
The Innkeeper, Robyn was awesome!!!!! Sooooooo kind... helpful and most accommodating!!!
The breakfast the next morning was simply divine!!!!
We had terrible weather that weekend....but our stay was still AMAZING!!!! We look forward to going back in the "near" future!!!

Room Tip: Its all about the view!!!! The website offers pictures of all of the rooms and a detailed descriptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpax5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We could not have asked for a more pleasant stay. Julie, our hostess, was extremely helpful and gracious. She helped us find good eats and interesting sites. The room itself was lovely and offered a fireplace and view of the ocean. Breakfast was a gourmet treat. What sets this B & B apart is its laid back attitude and contemporary ambiance. We're not the Victorian B & B types so this was a perfect fit. Another great feature of this place is that bikes are offered free of charge if you wish. We will be adding this to our list of places to return!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halliecat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We recently stayed at the Rhythm of the Sea in Cape May. First, the Inn is gorgeous, great location and tastefully decorated. Everything was spotless and well maintained. We did not have one complaint! Our host Julie was fantastic. She did everything to make us feel welcome and right at home. She offered a lot of local suggestions regarding dinner and site seeing. Breakfast, WOW this was amazing. Everything was homemade! The homemade Granola and and yogurt was out of this world. There was so much to say about how great our breakfast was each day that I would sum it up as GOURMET! We visited the Inn during the winter and it was quiet and relaxing which we actually loved. We enjoyed ourselves relaxing with a bottle of wine by the fireplace in the main living room downstairs. We were able to enjoy each others company without distractions from others which was priceless. Our room was nice with a gas fireplace. The room was nicely decorated with a very nice bathroom, and NEAT and CLEAN! If your looking for a B&B in Cape May (Rhythm of the Sea is the only one on beach front) this place will not disappoint you. We are hoping to get back here soon. Thank you Julie for your professionalism and welcoming demeanor made our first trip to a B & B in Cape May enjoyable.

Room Tip: If Traveling in Winter I recommend the rooms with a fireplace it just adds to the ambiance. Though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
189 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed in the sleeping room porch (think that's what it's called - room 4). very spacious room with terrific views from the side of the house of the ocean. can sit in the comfortable chairs or relax on the bed and see the ocean, waves coming to shore. bathroom was clean and fully functional. arts and crafts decor throughout - really nice, well done space. downstairs common area is huge - plenty of space on front porch and inside to relax and enjoy. breakfast was great. robyn (host) was a joy. no complaints except that it's pricey - but not unfortunately out of whack with other prices in cape may. we used the inn's bikes - complete with locks and baskets. so easy to get around cape may!

Room Tip: When you call to book a room, staff will help you pick the right room or the best available room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citysuburb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Amazing! Our room had a stunning view of the ocean and you could hear the waves through the open windows! The food was outstanding and they had anything you could need. Bikes to ride, chairs for the beach, beach towels and the most inviting sun porch ever! We spent time napping, and just listening to the ocean. Just a short walk to downtown Cape May - for dining or shopping. We highly recommend the stay to get yourself back into the rhythm of life! Wine in the evening on the sun porch and coffee in the morning - what more can you ask for?!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffandDeeNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed at Rhythm of the Sea early this summer and truly had a wonderful time. It was a fantastic little getaway. Our room (Stone Harbor) was very comfortable and clean, and our hostess (Julie) was more than accomodating. The breakfast was fabulous and the home was beautiful. We really enjoyed ourselves and look forward to returning!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pancake313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 39 in Cape May
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Peter Shields Inn
The Peter Shields Inn
#9 of 39 in Cape May
242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buckingham Motel
Buckingham Motel
#33 of 37 in Cape May
106 reviews
0.8 mi away
Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhythm of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhythm of the Sea

Property: Rhythm of the Sea
Address: 1123 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2628
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rhythm of the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only thing we overlook is the Atlantic Ocean! We are the perfect blend of convenience, comfort and romance. Architecturally inspiring and in keeping with the Arts and Crafts Movement the simplicity is refreshing and therefore relaxing. We invite you to savor our sumptuous meals, peaceful privacy and 'gemuetlichkeit' any time of the year. You were drawn to the Rhythm of the Sea and will be mesmerized by the tranquility. Looking forward to greeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rhythm of the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhythm Of The Sea Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing