We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely The Best”
Review of The Queen Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Queen Victoria
Ranked #4 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Absolutely The Best”
Reviewed April 2, 2006

We stayed at the Queen Victoria B&B for 3 days and 2 nights. We were celebrating our 38th wedding anniversary. It was absolutely the nicest place we have ever stayed at. Everything was exceptionally clean and the innkeepers, Doug and Anna Marie, along with all their staff, were attentive to our every need. The breakfast each morning was very delicious and inviting and there was also a choice of different fares to suit anyones culinary tastes. We especially enjoyed the 4:00PM afternoon teas, where we had the opportunity to relax and spend time with the other guests. We all felt like one big family. We were actually able to leave the car parked all weekend and walk to all the sites we were interested in seeing. There are quite a few lovely restaurants very close to the QV. At our request they made dinner reservations for us, at Cucina Rosa's, and it capped off a perfect stay. Thank you Doug and Anna Marie for a very memorable weekend and we look forward to staying with you again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    983
    61
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
74
732
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2006

Attention to detail is an understatement when describing The Queen Victoria Inn, a luxurious Victorian B&B located in the heart of charming Cape May, New Jersey. Innkeepers Doug and Anna Marie McMain have not missed a beat since taking the reins from founder-innkeepers Dane and Joan Wells, who over a period of 20 years lovingly restored this inn to its present-day Select Registry status. To qualify as a Select Registry member, an inn must meet strict hospitality standards, judged periodically by independent inspectors who arrive unannounced, stay the night, and ensure the highest quality is being maintained. We are not surprised that The Queen Victoria is among the most distinguished inns in North America.

The Queen Victoria is beautifully appointed with period antiques from the Victorian era. Some rooms feature designs popular during the Arts and Crafts movement. Everything about this inn, inside and outside, is tasteful--the authentic wallpapers, the lighting fixtures, the luscious bed and bath linens, the beautiful woodwork, the working fireplaces, the lovely gardens--all create charm, elegance, and warmth, especially for couples looking for a romantic getaway near the sea.

Doug and Anna Marie made certain our stay was as pleasant as possible. One or the other was always accessible. We never felt like strangers, rather we felt as though we were visiting old friends for the weekend, which was the consensus, by the way, of the other guests during our stay. Each of us regretted having to leave.

As previously mentioned, attention to detail was evident everywhere, details that make The Queen Victoria the quintessential country inn that it is. For example, in the evening our housekeeper turned down our bed and left foil-wrapped chocolates on our pillows. On our last day, while we had our breakfast in the dining room, our housekeeper made up our room, even though we would be checking out by 11 AM. We treated ourselves to a well-stocked pantry available 24/7, filled with bottled waters, juices, sodas, teas, hot cocoa, and gourmet coffee. Ample reading material was thoughtfully placed in the sitting area of our room and also in the common areas of the inn. One night we looked through the DVD library and found the perfect movie to view in our room. Talk about detail, even the postcards in our room had postage already affixed to them so that we could mail them immediately and not have to bother finding a post office!

Our room, which had its own private entrance, had a mini-refrigerator camouflaged in oak veneer so as to be unobtrusive. An iron and small ironing board were lovingly tucked inside the huge free-standing wardrobe, as were two portable luggage racks.

Breakfast was truly a sumptuous affair, served to us by Doug, who was the perfect host. We savored freshly squeezed juices, Wolferman's gourmet English muffins, homemade preserves and baked goods, wonderful teas and coffee, fresh fruit, and a delicious egg casserole served with breakfast sausage. Afternoon tea, served by Anna Marie, was also special, including sweets and savories that were expertly prepared. A carafe of sherry was available for those who chose to imbibe while looking though the numerous menus from all the local restaurants and deciding where to have dinner.

The Queen Victoria is nicely situated, within walking distance to the beach and also to the Washington Mall, with its quaint shops and eateries. We can't wait to return during the warmer weather to take advantage of free access to the inn's bicycles, beach chairs, and beach towels, as well as to enjoy afternoon tea on the wraparound porch. We have stayed at other lovely inns in Cape May and elsewhere, but for our money The Queen Victoria reigns supreme (no pun intended).

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kyle4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 24, 2006

This inn is without parallel in our experience. The staff is so very attentive to needs of guests. They also have a wonderful attention to little things and details which add greatly to the ambience. Background classical music, chocolates in the room, towels, sheets, soaps are just some of the lovely touches.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 21, 2006

My fiance and I stayed at the Queen Victoria last weekend. The location of the QV could not be any better--we were a block from the beach and a few minutes from the Washington Square shops.
We stayed in the Knightsbridge room, which had a roof deck off the back. The room was very clean and had a great whirlpool bathtub.
The people at the QV were very pleasant and accomodating, made dinner recommendations and very helpful with directions.
We ate at the Black Duck on Sunset--15 minute walk and very good. Also the Blue Pig Tavern at Congress Hall, had good food.
I would recommend the Queen Victoria to anyone and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 21, 2006

beautiful Victorian Inn, very comfortable with wonderful beds. Innkeepers quite hospitable without over-doing it. Appreciated the use of bicycles to see cape may as well as the 24 hour beverage center next to the dining room.Enjoy!

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2006

My fiancee and I were looking for a place in Cape May to call our own. While in Wildwood for the weekend, we stopped in Cape May for the day and took a tour of the Beautiful Queen Victoria. We feel in love with it immediatley!! We booked the AMAZING Crown Jewel for a long weekend. Everything was WONDERFUL!! Anna Marie and Doug were so pleasant, and very helpful. Their recommendations for restaurants were outstanding!! The service was wonderful, the room was immaculate and very comfortable. I have been coming to Cape May for years and this was by far the BEST experience I have had. We plan to return for many years to come!! Anna Marie was kind enough to give us a tour of the property and we have several rooms we want to stay in. We are already looking into a weekend in September!!! We can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veryhappy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2006

We like the beach in winter. We found The Queen Victoria on the internet. Then we had to change our weekend, due to unforseen circumstances. The Innkeepers were wonderful about everything. When we FINALLY went away, looking for a quiet weekend, we found a beautiful, clean inn, with a great location to walking the beach and shopping. The innkeepers, Doug and Anna, couldn't be more perfect. The inn is actually three buildings, you have the use of all three, breakfast (which is yummy) and tea (ditto) is included. The rooms are pristine, the bed is comfy. I can't say anything more but we'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charlieswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,159 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 37 in Cape May
1,313 reviews
0.7 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Victoria

Property: The Queen Victoria
Address: 102 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Queen Victoria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queen Victoria is Cape May's Premier bed and breakfast, located one block from the beach and just steps from dining, shops and entertainment. We are open every day of the year and offer special holiday packages and seasonal specials. The Queen Victoria is truly the ultimate Cape May experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Queen Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queen Victoria Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing