We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Welcoming”
Review of The Queen Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Queen Victoria
Ranked #3 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
81 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Warm and Welcoming”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Enjoyed a lovely overnight visit to the Queen Victoria. We stayed in the Queen Beatrice, which was a small but very comfortable room in a house across from the main building. The decor was lovely, and I loved that there was coffee, tea, drinks, and refreshments in each of the buildings 24/7.

The innkeepers and all the staff we met were truly delightful - very helpful, friendly, and enthusiastic. Everyone was eager to make sure we had a nice visit to Cape May.

Breakfast was filling and delicious. I would absolutely stay here again - it seemed that many of the other guests were repeat visitors.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trompetista89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QV-Doug, Owner at The Queen Victoria, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thanks for the great review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at The Queen Victoria. I'm really pleased that you appreciated the complimentary beverages we provide in our pantries. We want our guests to feel a sense of generosity when they are here, whether it be the complimentary beverage pantries, Afternoon Tea, our breakfast, the complimentary bikes & beach chairs, or the invitation to enjoy our property on the day of their departure.

Yes, many (over 50%) of our guests are repeat visitors. I hope that you'll be one soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    967
    58
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
71
717
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Despite being a large B&B (three houses!) it was still a personalized experience. Picking a room was probably the hardest part. The room we chose was nice, had a partial ocean view and was very clean (with turn down service). You can get breakfast in a few buildings, ours being one. Breakfast was OK, nothing special.
The staff was all excellent, VERY professional, friendly, and helpful. We will be back if we're in Cape May again.

Room Tip: Ask ahead, they'll tell you what fits your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QV-Doug, Owner at The Queen Victoria, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post this review Michael. We really appreciate it. I'm glad that you enjoyed your visit to Cape May, even though it was a short one. Hopefully you were able stretch your stay out on the day of your departure and enjoy our facilities then as well.

I'm sorry that your dining experience at breakfast wasn't what I would have hoped for. We're always looking for feedback, as we try very hard to make breakfast special for everyone. I'd be thrilled if you could drop us an email or call us with any suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just recently returned from spending our 7 year anniversary with Doug and Anna Marie at the Queen Victoria. I can't say enough on how much of a wonderful time we had at this little jewel of a B&B, we truly didn't want to leave. We actually have already reserved our next trip for our next anniversary. Doug and Anna not only run a top notch B&B, but they make you feel like part of the family from the moment you come thru the door. We had the pleasure of staying in the crown jewel and it was worth every bit of it. We highly recommend you pay the Queen Victoria a visit, I assure you will not be dissappointed. Thank you Doug and Anna Marie for an unbelievable experience and we look forward to returning soon....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 994michaelw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QV-Doug, Owner at The Queen Victoria, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
HI Michael. Thanks so much for posting this review. I'm really glad you guys enjoyed your anniversary celebration at The Queen Victoria so much. It was truly a pleasure getting to know you and Carolyn. We're honored that you chose The Queen Victoria for your anniversary celebration. I'm looking forward to seeing you guys again next year! Here is to a great 8th year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Cheerfully run, immaculately kept, excellent food, centrally located, beautiful premises, totally accommodating and very comfortable. The Innkeepers were born for this life. Their friendliness is contagious - in the space of a three day visit we felt we had made new friends with every other guest at the inn. The Queen Victoria is a find. We WILL return. Thank you Doug and Anna Marie!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellorNot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QV-Doug, Owner at The Queen Victoria, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to post this wonderful review. We really appreciate you choosing The Queen Victoria for your stay in Cape May. I'm so glad that you enjoyed yourselves so much and felt so comfortable at the inn. Our goal is that you'll view The Queen Victoria as your "shore house" in Cape May (the one you don't have to worry about, pay the mortgage on, or mow the lawn at). I'm also really happy to hear that we'll be seeing you again (hopefully soon!).

Thanks,

Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
135 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stay number three at the QV and I can't say enough about this B&B! This time, we had the great fortune of staying in the Gilbert & Sullivan room - a small, but quaint room equipped with a fireplace and lots of windows for natural light and cross breezes! This room is on the second floor in the Queen Victoria (main) building. We stayed as part of a package, which included a wine tasting and tour at Cape May Winery (I'll be reviewing that later!) and a cheese and fruit platter. Checking in was a breeze (as it always is) and we are always met by what seem to be very happy employees! Breakfast is included with your stay and is always super delicious! Over the course of three days, Saturday, Sunday and Monday, we started our days with hearty breakfasts such as "Eggs in a Nest" with country ham, "Apple Stuffed French Toast" (HELLO!!!) and a wide array of muffins and breads, bagels and English Muffins - I mean it goes on and on! Tea is at 4:00 pm and is served with more delectable sweets! You just can't lose staying here! If you're stuck on what to do or where to go while in Cape May, just see Anna Marie or Doug and they will provide you with enough ideas to fill your day (and stomach!) - I've never come across more knowledgeable people and you can tell that they LOVE what they do. It's reflected in their smiles, conversation and the way you're treated when staying there. Please, please, please - if you've heard about the QV and always wanted to go but just haven't done so, DO IT! Take the hubby or wife for a romantic getaway, take a friend for a girls weekend, Mother's Day is coming up - what a gift idea - just go! You will not regret it, you'll thank me and I'll be reading YOUR reviews on your wonderful stay at the Queen Victoria!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have fireplaces, but some do! If that's a requirement of yours, make sure you ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RealPegster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QV-Doug, Owner at The Queen Victoria, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Wow Peg, this review leaves me speechless (which is quite a feat). Thanks so much for the glowing review. I'm so happy that you and Catherine had such a great time on your 3rd "girls getaway" to The Queen Victoria. It was truly a pleasure seeing you both again.

Cape May really is the perfect girls getaway destination. As you point out, though, you can't beat it for a romantic getaway either.

Thanks again for enthusiastic review. I hope that you'll be able to return for another visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is our fourth time staying at the Queen Victoria and every time we go we don't want to leave! We are welcomed by the staff, and felt right at home. The innkeepers are so friendly--and had planned a great event at the Cape May winery. We stayed on their Winer Escape package and recieved free wine tasting, a beautiful room, and some other special amenities! We love our stays there, and cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: Each and every room has a special quality to it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QV-Doug, Owner at The Queen Victoria, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
It was great seeing you both again last weekend. I'm glad you enjoyed our Wine Lover's Weekend event. It really is one of our most enjoyable events of the year.

We really appreciate you making The Queen Victoria your home away from home in Cape May. Thanks so much. I hope we have the pleasure of your company again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Our second annual trip to Cape May and The Queen Victoria was wonderful! We were welcomed warmly by the staff and shown to our beautiful room. The room was decorated beautifully and was warm and inviting. The attention to detail and decoration in every room you visit is amazing. The innkeeper's love of their property is more than apparent. The staff is more than willing to help you plan events such as day trips or help in making dinner reservations. We love the "royal" treatment the Queen Victoria gives to every guest.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nyc580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QV-Doug, Owner at The Queen Victoria, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to post this review. I'm so happy that you enjoyed your second visit to The Queen Victoria so much. We do love our property, but to be honest, we love our guests more. One of the great pleasures of this business is sharing our home with our guests who truly appreciate it. Thanks so much for coming back to stay with us again. I hope we'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,176 reviews
0.7 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#17 of 37 in Cape May
668 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,282 reviews
0.5 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Victoria

Property: The Queen Victoria
Address: 102 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Queen Victoria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queen Victoria is Cape May's Premier bed and breakfast, located one block from the beach and just steps from dining, shops and entertainment. We are open every day of the year and offer special holiday packages and seasonal specials. The Queen Victoria is truly the ultimate Cape May experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Queen Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queen Victoria Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing