We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean”
Review of Mooring B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mooring B&B
Ranked #19 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Clean. No fuss. No must. Lovely decorations -- not too cloying or fluffy. Appreciated parking space. Great location. Good breakfasts. Note: there is no bathroom on the ground floor so if you have a room on the 3rd floor, that's where you will have to go. It's definitely a business. Do not expect too much coddling. But the hosts can provide helpful information.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oonadwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 135 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2010

You know that feeling when you have spent hours trawling the internet, doing your research, trying to decide what constitutes value for money, you finally pick a place to stay out of dozens and dozens of possibilities, you travel for hours and hours and when you finally get there you walk in the door and feel like you won the Bed and Breakfast Lottery...well that's the feeling we got when we walked in the door of The Mooring!!!

This trip was a combination of a family reunion (my four sisters and their husbands/partners, my daughter and my two neices) and a celebration of my pending 60th birthday so I was into really wanting it to be "perfect". My definition: welcoming, clean, comfortable, relaxed atmosphere, centrally located, in-house amenities that give you a bit of that "home away from home feeling" and really good food...Leslie and Vince tick all the boxes.

Even before we ever set foot in the door Leslie was offering a level of "customer care" that can be hard to find these days. Because of the number of family joining me there were a significant number of changes to the rooms I wanted/required. Over the couple of weeks it took to get things sorted, Leslie advised me well and showed a remarkable level of patience!

Once we arrived, jet lag meant waking up at 4am so really appreciated being able to go down to the kitchen and make a cup of tea. We also had booked rooms 10 and 8 so the family were able to have full use of the balcony and Leslie and Vince made sure we had the extra chairs we needed. The ceiling fans are not only lovely to look at; they are also an efficient and blissfully quiet alternative to air conditioning. (We Brits can find sleeping in a refrigerated room a bit of a challenge). We had five rooms in total and they were all superb; attractive, scrupulous clean and comfortable.

Nothing was ever too much trouble. If Leslie and Vince can do it, they will. I am at risk of running out of superlatives, but can't finish without lauding and applauding the brilliant breakfasts. Delicious and worth every single calorie!

Thank you Vince and Leslie for making a very important event everything I hoped it would be.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank byrninrubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

We stayed in Room 2 at the Mooring - a large room on the first floor with its own entrance and small kitchen. A little more expensive than the other rooms, but worth it, especially for an extended stay. The room is light and bright with very high ceilings and cheerful yellow paint. There is a sitting area in front of the bedroom area, a small kitchen with a sink, counter, fridge and breakfast table, and a private bathroom. The bathroom was nice - on the small side, but with a nice claw-foot tub/shower. (Beware though, it's a big step up to get into the shower, you need to be a little limber!) The king bed was incredible - tough to get out of it in the mornings, and ideal for a mid afternoon nap. And I should not forget to mention, everything was really clean!!

The location of the B&B can't be beat - one block from the beach and just 4-5 blocks from all the action on the Mall. There's a large front porch with rockers which just beckons you with cool breezes and relaxation. For breakfast, there are basically 3 courses: fruit, bread and muffins to choose from, then yogurt or oatmeal, followed by a special french toast or egg creation. The food was good, the right amount to fill you up without being stuffed. In the afternoons they have iced tea and cookies or brownies.

Vince the innkeeper was around pretty much all day - made sure to greet us and give us all the info we would ever need about the house. Overall, very accommodating and pleasant. We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Only a short block to the beach. We kept the windows open all day to enjoy the comfortable ocean breeze in our room. No need to drive anywhere. Just park you car at the house and walk to the beach, restaurants, shopping, etc. There are multiple places to rent bikes if you want to get around a little quicker and explore the Victorian neighborhoods and coastline. The home is an amazingly well kept Victorian. Beautiful dining and parlor rooms and a gorgeous grand staircase. Every afternoon they have tea and a sweet (cookies, brownies, etc.). The last afternoon we stayed a brief but strong rain and thunderstorm came through and we enjoyed it sitting drinking tea and socializing on rocking chairs and the large covered porch. Vince is welcoming and a wealth of information for things to do and places to go. We really enjoyed our stay and look forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveannapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

My husband and I stayed at The Mooring over 4th of July weekend. It was wonderful right from the start! Vince was so welcoming and even went out of his way to get us some treats since we arrived a little late for the afternoon tea. He was always available for recommendations and even helped us find an ice cream shop we were looking for. Our room was great! It was roomy and had a small kitchenette, which we always appreciate. It was a little noisy being right next to the door to the main house, but it would not keep us from staying in it again. We also had our own parking spot, which is a real luxury on a holiday weekend in Cape May. Breakfasts were awesome too! Unlike a lot of other B&B's, there were 5 different options everyday, as well as fruit and pastries - a very good thing for my notoriously picky husband. Even he was able to find food he enjoyed! We would totally recommend to others!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jammish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Went there for our 1 year anniversay, fist time there we enjoyed our stay, Vince and Leslie were great host.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Cnjmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

This year for our annual girlfriend getaway to Cape May, we opted to stay at The Mooring. I heartily agree with everything written in a previous review - the owners, Vince and Leslie, could not be more accomodating. On arrival you get a nice tour of the inn, so you know where everything is, including a little kitchen for the guests to use on the ground floor, and than another refrigerator up on the 3rd floor, which was terrific so we didn't have to fiddle around with coolers/ice for our cocktails. All of the rooms are super clean, roomy and have surprising large bathrooms. There is a bike rack out back if you bring a bike or rent one down there. Breakfast each morning offers a nice choice of eggs, pancackes etc, and then around 4pm they served tea and something sweet. It is within walking distance to all the shops, restaurants etc, and about a block from the beach. There was a nice front porch with rockers, we didn't get to use too much since it was still April, but I'd imagine they are delightful in the summer. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harleysvillesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
569 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
719 reviews
0.4 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 40 in Cape May
718 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queen Victoria
The Queen Victoria
#4 of 40 in Cape May
1,086 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mooring B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mooring B&B

Address: 801 Stockton Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2446
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: $300 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable elegance in a classic Second Empire inn ... originally built as a guesthouse in 1882. Nine uncluttered guest rooms and two suites, each with private bath, a few with ocean view. Gourmet breakfast served at individual tables for two. One building back from the beach; easy walking distance to town center with shops & restaurants. On-premise parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mooring B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing