We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very best stay!”
Review of The Mission Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mission Inn
Ranked #1 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
nyc
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The very best stay!”
Reviewed September 6, 2010

I read very positive reviews before but never expected it to be way beyond my expectations.
I love the B & B! Last time I was in Cape May I passed the home & the owner invited me in to view the rooms. Then I said I would return here since it was just so lovely. This is not your typical Victorian B&B in Cape May. It is very unique! All the walls throughout the Inn are painted by a very talented muralist. We love our modern double shower Breakfast was excellent. The Host were very accommodating. There are so many TLC details put into the Inn. Even the common kitchen was such a convenience. Thanks for a great stay & looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjanvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
485
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
2 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We used the Mission Inn as a gathering place for a 90th birthday party. Rooms, location, and the proprietors (Ray and Susan) were exceptional. They helped us with restaurant reservations, and allowed us to use their outside balcony for some family get-togethers. Location is just a short block from the beach; they supply chairs, towels, and umbrellas. Altogether an outstanding experience.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank svale_sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We just returned from a wonderful weekend in Cape May at the Mission Inn. I made our reservations over the phone with Susan - she helped me with my stay as I only had two nights to go away b/c of work. We had never been to a B&B in Cape May before. Originally, I was looking for a Victorian one, but checked out the Mission and read many great reviews. We loved it! It's incredibly clean - from the moment you walk in it smells awesome. It's decorated beautifully with hand painted walls and warm and inviting decor and furniture. We checked in at 3 and got a brief tour of the inn. We loved our room - especially our king-sized bed, which was very comfortable. The food is amazing - the afternoon appetizers were such a treat. Breakfast outside on the veranda was a welcome change to our usual hectic mornings. They really think of everything - including bicycles to ride into town with, beach chairs, towels, umbrellas, an outside shower, a plasma tv/dvd, an Ipod dock, and a kitchen fully stocked with soda, coffees, etc. We hope to be able to visit again and will stay at the Mission Inn for sure.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoppergirlnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenafly, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2010

The service is excellent; the hosts (Susan & Ray) make everyone feel like part of their family & take pains to introduce their guests to each other.
The location is terrific, one block from the beach. The Inn is designed as a California style mission & has a 100 year history; it is unique in Cape May.
Gourmet breakfasts every day. The room was large & airy, high ceilings, jacuzzi, etc.
No wonder this was our 7th visit!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tenaflysid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepper Pike
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We have stayed in many B and B's in our travels but this without a doubt was the most enjoyable experience. Susan is a wonderful hostess, always making sure everything is to your satisfaction. She suggested and make reservations for dinner each night and even has a basket of menus from many places in Cape May. The Inn supplies beach towels, chairs and umbrellas and bicycles which makes traveling so much easier. The breakfasts were to die for and we looked forward to each morning to see what Leslie made. Snack at 4:00 were also delicious. This was a wonderful week and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monroe township
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Well, after having grown up vacationing in Cape May, NJ I can honestly say that The Mission Inn is by far the best Bed & Breakfast I have ever stayed in (and after 30 years, I have stayed in many). You are spoiled and pampered from the moment you walk in the door until the moment you leave. Their attention to detail is unmatched. Not only is the inn itself breathtakingly beautiful but the warmth of the owners makes you feel right at home. After only a half hour in our beautiful room, my husband and I were already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlelanesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

This was our 4th visit to The Mission Inn, and Ray and Susan continue to make the experience even better than the last time. The Inn is so comfortable, so beautifully maintained, fantastic location, and everything you could want is right there. We are very picky travelers who happen to love Cape May, and The Mission Inn is absolutely perfect in every way. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunlover55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
192 reviews
0.9 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 37 in Cape May
1,312 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,202 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mission Inn

Property: The Mission Inn
Address: 1117 New Jersey Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2638
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded the 2017 Travelers Choice Award for B&B's & Inns by Trip Advisor as the #1 bed and breakfast in Cape May, NJ (5 years in a row), #3 in the USA, and #11 in the world, The Mission Inn Bed and Breakfast is not your typical Cape May B&B. We invite you to experience the charm of a California Spanish Mission Style Bed and Breakfast just one block from the beach. You will find The Mission Inn guest rooms to be bright, airy, tastefully decorated, creative and restful places for the weary traveler as was the purpose of the original California missions. Each guest room is themed after one of the missions, with artistic murals and accents designed to resemble the original mission. The common areas were themed to reflect the warmth of the missions. Each year additional improvements are planned and implemented. Return guests are always finding the "little changes" that reflect the attention to detail so noticeable at the Inn. Book one of our 8 Rooms before they fill up! We are an Inn for all seasons and open all year round. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing