We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We feel spoiled...”
Review of The Mission Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mission Inn
Ranked #1 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2010

How do I explain what a great experience my wife and I had here? We came here because of the great reviews, and they were all totally true. Susan and Ray ( and Leslie-amazing breakfasts) anticipated everything and made our stay feel like home. Thanks guys, we look forward to seeing you again. S and J

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJD2010-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

552 - 558 of 621 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2010

What can we say that hasn't been said already? First time to a B&B, and surely not our last to the Mission Inn in Cape May. Susan and Ray have created a spot where all guests are welcome, comfortable, and seriously pampered. They know to create a special comaraderie amongst the guests, so that it feels as if you are amongst old friends. Many repeat guests were in house, so that speaks for itself.
The inn is fresh and meticulous with everything you need. It's beautifully decorated with extreme attention to every small detail and true to its California mission design with artistic flair through out. And the delicious hors d'ouevres and breakfasts were gourmet in taste and presentation (can't believe my husband now wants "baked brie" !). Thank you for letting us enjoy the beach cruisers, even after we checked out, so we were able to enjoy a few extra hours in a very special place.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GottaGetAway2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Best B & B we have ever stayed in. Innkeepers and staff bent over backwards to help us enjoy our stay. Room was great. Bed was comfortable. Food was excellent. The grounds were very well manicured and maintained. All the rooms throughout the Inn were very tastefully decorated. We would recommend this B & B to anyone and we will back the next chance we get. I really can't say enough good things about our stay--go here--we are suggesting it to our friends and family..

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cavreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

What can I possibly say about "The Mission Inn" that hasn't already been said?
They are simply... the best!! Vacationing in Cape May for the past ten years, sadly, we've only discovered our "home, away from home" 4 years ago. We've stayed in 3 of the inn's 8 rooms with each room being a vacation in itself!
From the delicious breakfast to the afternoon hor d'oeuvres, bicycles, beach chairs and umbrellas, to the serene rear patio, a short walk to some of the best restaurants and shopping and the close proximity to the beach. (1 block) The owners and staff anticipate and fill every want and need! If they can make your stay more enjoyable... they will! At the end of your stay, you'll wonder where the time went!
To say that "The Mission Inn" is a great place to stay is an understatement!
It is simply... the best place to stay!
So good-bye my friends... Susan, Ray, Janet, Leslie and all the staff... good-bye, until we come back home again! Chris and Johnna

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtraveler4838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

This is an excellent bed and breakfast ; not only are the rooms magnificent and romantic, but the common rooms are comfortable and cozy. Breakfast is outstanding and the service was excellent. Everyone is friendly and helpful. The inn is within 2 blocks or less from a beautiful beach and a short walk to the main part of town. Bikes, beach chairs, towels, umbrellas, and even boogie boards are available. This is one of the best bed and breakfasts we have ever visited and we have visited several. Congratulations to Susan and Ray for creating a most memorable weekend for all who are lucky enough to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berry17_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

This was our first stay at a B&B and to Cape May. It was fabulous! The Innkeepers Ray and Susan were out of this world and made us feel most comfortable during our stay. They pay close attention to detail. I recommend The Mission Inn to anyone who wants an incredible, romantic weekend stay. We made memories that will last a lifetime!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RondaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We stayed at the beautifully decorated Mission Inn for three nights over Memorial Day weekend, to celebrate our belated 12th wedding anniversary. We fell in love with the place - Susan and Raymond are the friendliest, warmest innkeepers you'd ever want to meet. We felt pampered, be we also felt right at home - so much so that we joked about barricading ourselves in our room at check-out time. We stayed in the Santa Clara. Loved the jetted tub, the luxury shower, the flat screen TV and all the thoughtful little touches that really made us feel taken care of. That's what we love about B&Bs - all the little details and extra touches. Susan and Raymond are experts at making guests feel comfortable and welcome. It was cool at night and I hadn't brought a jacket so Susan lent me one of hers! Fantastic and creative breakfasts every morning and tasty appetizers and snacks in the afternoon. The housekeepers were like ninjas - we'd come back from breakfast and our room was perfectly made up again! Perfect , quiet location - the inn is a short walk from the beach and a short bike ride from the shopping area. The inn has a garage full of bikes, beach chairs, and umbrellas for guests to use. Beach tags are also provided. Thank you Susan and Raymond for a memorable stay - The Mission Inn will be our home away from home in Cape May!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WellsAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
270 reviews
0.9 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,205 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Southern Mansion
The Southern Mansion
#15 of 37 in Cape May
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#3 of 40 in Cape May
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 40 in Cape May
723 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Queen Victoria
The Queen Victoria
#4 of 40 in Cape May
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mission Inn

Address: 1117 New Jersey Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2638
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: $215 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded the 2017 Travelers Choice Award for B&B's & Inns by Trip Advisor as the #1 bed and breakfast in Cape May, NJ (5 years in a row), #3 in the USA, and #11 in the world, The Mission Inn Bed and Breakfast is not your typical Cape May B&B. We invite you to experience the charm of a California Spanish Mission Style Bed and Breakfast just one block from the beach. You will find The Mission Inn guest rooms to be bright, airy, tastefully decorated, creative and restful places for the weary traveler as was the purpose of the original California missions. Each guest room is themed after one of the missions, with artistic murals and accents designed to resemble the original mission. The common areas were themed to reflect the warmth of the missions. Each year additional improvements are planned and implemented. Return guests are always finding the "little changes" that reflect the attention to detail so noticeable at the Inn. Book one of our 8 Rooms before they fill up! We are an Inn for all seasons and open all year round. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing