We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll Be Back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mission Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mission Inn
Ranked #1 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We'll Be Back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

My wife and I decided on a last minute trip to Cape May and found availability at The Mission Inn. I was impressed from the start, when, during the reservation call Inn Keeper Ray asked for anniversary and birthday dates, along with food restrictions. We arrived early and were greeted graciously by Ray and Susan, who took plenty of time to show us the Inn and all the amenities, including bikes, beach chairs and umbrellas, wine, cookies, the list goes on.

Our room was one of the smaller rooms but still very large for Cape May. This is not a Victorian B&B, but rather an expansive house that you might find on the Monterey Peninsula (that's where we are going next, so it was a good warm-up). The room was beautifully hand-painted with an electric fireplace, flat screen, TV, iPod dock radio, and jacuzzi tub. There was plenty of closet space and an iron and robes were in the room. Linens were clean and attractive, plenty of towels, and the room included a new, clean bathroom. The king bed was comfy and sleeping was peaceful with the convenient HVAC unit just for that room (and with a remote!). The public spaces were large and attractively furnished. A refrigerator was available to us, as well.

We enjoyed our own lunch on the tiled large front porch and then hit the beach with the wonderful backpack beach chairs the Inn provided. Back from the beach, the staff helped us choose a restaurant and then made the reservation for us. The next morning we were served a wonderful healthy breakfast that included gluten-free muffins for my wife (this was exceptional in our travels).

We had no complaints about the Inn and only compliments. We loved our short stay, not because it is a beautifully maintained facility, but because the Inn Keepers are devoted to their calling and made it an unforgettable experience.

We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyGunpowder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
445
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2009

This is where we stay in Cape May. The owners/inn keepers, Susan & Ray Roberts make you feel like you're one of the family, in a very relaxed manner. The rooms are spectacular, with each one representing a specific mission. The newley renovated showers are amazing. We've stayed in 4 different rooms and each one has its own special charm. The rooms have King beds, which is a big plus, and we love the high quality linens and flat screen TV's. Breakfast is served on the patio (weather permitting) which is as pleasing to the eye as it is to the palate. The inn also celebrates happy hour with an assortment of hors d'oeuvres, wine and soft drinks. Another plus is the location: 1 1/2 blocks from the beach and away from the crowds in town. We highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank havhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

The Mission Inn is spectacular! From the detail of each room, to the special decor and the heavenly breakfast you can't go wrong. We are not frequent patron of B& B's but we are already planning our next trip to the Mission Inn. I will definitely return to enjoy the comforts of the Mission Inn. The innkeepers are wonderful, caring people who make every moment of your stay a memory. They make sure to recommend activities, restaurants to your liking, make note of your preferences (so important!) and make sure they meet your needs every day. From the breakfast to the afternoon treats they don't miss a beat at the Mission Inn. Our special thanks to Susan & Raymond

Please note, someone wrote a concern about recycling for a green environment. Let me assure you this inn does recycle, all the behind the scenes. The inn is spotless and is a major contributor to the well being of the environment and the community.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJP12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Shade, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

I would definitely recommend this B&B for a girlfriend get-away or for a romantic anniversary celebration. The innkeepers, Susan and Ray, are warm and welcoming. They gave informative suggestions as to where the hotspots in town were and they would make dinner reservations for you if needed. The whole inn is lovely and in pristine condition. We dined on gourmet breakfasts on the patio. We had tasty appetizers at 4pm along with wine. We were always welcome to help ourselves to a cold drink at any time of the day. Our room had many wonderful modern amenities, including a jacuzzi and a spa shower. Our beds were so comfortable. They also provide bicycles, beach chairs, beach towels, and beach umbrellas. The beach is only a few blocks away from the inn.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piketfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2009

This B & B is located in a quiet area of Cape May, only 1 block from the beach, and in easy (20-minute) walking distance from the heart of town. It offers an alternative to those who don't like Victorian furnishings common to Cape May B & Bs and want to be away from the bustle. Our room was large and airy with a new bathroom and flat panel TV to watch one of the limited DVDs the hosts provide (best to bring your own). The hosts are pleasant and aim to be helpful (e.g., with restaurant recommendations). There is a nice outdoor porch for breakfast, and sturdy bikes for exploring the town. The walls and ceilings are covered with murals of the California missions. Certainly this is an interesting attempt to make a rather plain house more attractive, but it backfired for us. We found it too busy. All in all, we were pleased and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VacanceBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, NY
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2009

The Mission Inn is a lovely B&B one block from the beach in Cape May. The Inn is beautiful, the owners are wonderful and the service is impeccable. The breakfasts are a treat every morning, lovingly prepared and presented by a great cook. It was an exceptional vacation and we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidronnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

Staying at the Mission Inn is truly an experience to encounter first-hand. This was our second visit and our time there was just perfect. Susan and Raymond have thought of every possible detail to make your visit ideal and they welcome suggestions too. The food is divine and the rooms are immaculate. There are also limitless possibilities for things to do at The Mission Inn and around Cape May: bikes, beach gear, boardgames, dvds, and a plethora of information for area activities, entertainment and restaurants.

We never visit the same place twice, but this was our second visit and we plan to make our stay at The Mission Inn an annual affair!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.9 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#10 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#6 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mission Inn

Property: The Mission Inn
Address: 1117 New Jersey Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2638
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded the 2016 Travelers Choice Award for B&B's & Inns by Trip Advisor as the #1 B&B in Cape May, NJ (4 years in a row), # 6 in the USA. In 2013, 2014 and 2015 The Mission Inn Ranked as high as #3 Bed and Breakfasts in the USA according to TripAdvisor's #travelersChoice awards, as well as a top 17th ranking globally for Inns worldwide in 2015. The Mission Inn Bed and Breakfast is not your typical Cape May B&B. Susan Babineau-Roberts and her husband Raymond Roberts cordially invite you to experience the charm of their California Spanish Mission Style Bed and Breakfast. You will find The Mission Inn guest rooms to be bright, airy, tastefully decorated, creative restful place for the weary traveler as was the purpose of the original twenty-one (21) California missions.Each guest room was themed after one of the missions, using colors and designs Susan had observed on her trip. The common areas were themed to reflect the warmth of the missions. Each year additional improvements are planned and implemented. Return guests are always finding the "little changes" that reflect the attention to detail so noticeable at the Inn.Book one of our 8 Rooms before they fill up! We are an Inn for all seasons and open all year round. Call today to experience the Mission Inn today! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing