We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow-you won't be disapponited”
Review of The Mission Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mission Inn
Ranked #1 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
rmf10990
1 review
“Wow-you won't be disapponited”
Reviewed June 8, 2009

5-years ago my wife and I stayed at the Mission Inn at Cape May, NJ. We both left being totally impressed. Good firends of ours asked for a recommendation and we recommended the Mission. Asked if we and another couple would like to go along. Well it is hard to believe that you could improve on perfection, but that was the case with the Mission. When we returned home we sat around disccuing the weekend trip and everyone felt exactly the same way - it was great. Susan and Ray, the Inn owners are just great. Feel like I've known them for many years. I would never hesitate to recommend the Mission.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmf10990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
461
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Jersey
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2009

We were at the Inn last May for our Honeymoon and back again this year for our 1 year anniversary/Babymoon! It is absolute heaven! The rooms are incredible the atmosphere is so friendly and the breakfast in the morning is something to talk about! We love it and are already looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kranz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2009

The Mission Inn was an excellent bed and breakfast with a modern touch and character to every room, creatively tasty breakfast, wonderfully filling afternoon snacks and family friendly hosts that make this place a very unique experience. I would highly recommend the Mission Inn for couples, individuals or a small group to retreat and get away with the comfort of home. This was one of the best bed and breakfast experiences I had. It is truly a must go place particularly if you live in the DE, NJ, PHL, MD, and NY areas. I would definitely go again!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnice06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington, de
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2009

The Mission Inn is the place to stay in Cape May.

My wife and I "got away" at the Mission Inn in Cape May during the last week in April. You would never know that it was midweek or preseason. There was not a single detail missed.

Susan was fantastic! Her establishment was impeccable. It is a clean, well done Mexican themed mini resort. No amenity was missed.
A classy environment complete with multiple fire places, up to date electronics, nice homey rooms, and wonderful bathrooms and showers.

Hors d'oeuvres, wine, port, cookies, fruit... You name it. They didn’t miss a beat.

We were greeted on arrival as if Susan had known us for years and we were old friends. A full tour was given so that instant comfort was established. We were shown to our room, which was fantastic. We freshened up in their one of a kind state of the art dual head showers. We then stepped out to a delicious dinner at Peter Shields Inn up the road. Stopped by a club for a drink then headed back to our room for a night cap and a movie. We wrapped up our evening with some good sleep on a firm comfortable king size bed with a nice ocean breeze though the multiple windows.

Woke up in the morning and came down to hot coffee, ice cold juice, a newspaper and a fantastic 3 course authentic Mexican breakfast, followed up with some great conversation.

I will return to The Mission Inn in the future and I would not hesitate a firm recommendation to anyone I know.

I was very impressed.
5 Star

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmajewskijr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying at The Mission Inn. From the moment we walked inside, Susan and Raymond made us feel at home. The Inn is decorated tastefully, and murals relating to California Missions adorn the walls. The details are impeccable! Susan and Raymond are extremely thoughtful and dedicated innkeepers. They have thought of every possible detail to make their guests feel comfortable and pampered. The Inn is immaculately clean, and the breakfasts are first-rate. I would highly recommend The Mission Inn to anyone who is looking for a dynamic, yet relaxing getaway in Cape May!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmns1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2009

My wife and I have visited The Mission Inn for the past six years. As a matter of fact, we rented the whole Inn for our wedding in 2005. Susan and Ray are the friendliest and accommodating Innkeepers we have known. The attention to detail in the Inn and in each room keeps you constantly amazed as you look around and find touches that add to the experience. The gourmet breakfasts are creative, varied and a divine experience as are the home-created Hors D'oeuvres that are brought out every day at 4:00. Accommodations are outstanding. It’s like escaping from reality for a day or two. There is a sign in the solarium that says "Come as strangers, leave as friends". That could not be truer at this B&B

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2008

I was very impressed with this Inn (B&B). The owners are very friendly and interested in making you welcome and comfortable. The breakfasts were some of the best ever for a B&B that I have been to. Real gourmet. We had breakfast outdoors on a lovely veranda. The rooms are uniquely designed with hand painted murals in keeping with the Mission Inn theme. Ours had a two person jacuzzi (nice) and flat screen TV with DVD player. The common areas are also very attractive and well designed. We looked forward, each day, to returning to the Inn to share some afternoon wine and delicious Hors d'oeuvres. The AC was quiet and adjustable with a remote. The amenities included bicycles, fluffy beach towels, beach chairs with straps that let you carry them like a backpack, and beach umbrellas. They are located one block from the beach. There is an outside shower at the Inn to clean off when you return. This is a clean, high class, uniquely designed Inn that met every expectation we had.

  • Liked — Unique design and friendliness/attnetiveness of staff and owners
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank zheeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
0.9 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#4 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mission Inn

Property: The Mission Inn
Address: 1117 New Jersey Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2638
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded the 2017 Travelers Choice Award for B&B's & Inns by Trip Advisor as the #1 bed and breakfast in Cape May, NJ (5 years in a row), #3 in the USA, and #11 in the world, The Mission Inn Bed and Breakfast is not your typical Cape May B&B. We invite you to experience the charm of a California Spanish Mission Style Bed and Breakfast just one block from the beach. You will find The Mission Inn guest rooms to be bright, airy, tastefully decorated, creative and restful places for the weary traveler as was the purpose of the original California missions. Each guest room is themed after one of the missions, with artistic murals and accents designed to resemble the original mission. The common areas were themed to reflect the warmth of the missions. Each year additional improvements are planned and implemented. Return guests are always finding the "little changes" that reflect the attention to detail so noticeable at the Inn. Book one of our 8 Rooms before they fill up! We are an Inn for all seasons and open all year round. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing