We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look no further!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mission Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mission Inn
Ranked #1 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Look no further!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

My hubby and I had never stayed at a B& B and I was unsure if we would enjoy the experience. This B&B blew our minds from the moment you check in to check out you enjoy exceptional service, a beautiful home and unbelievable hospitality. Susan & Ray the innkeepers treated us like a part of their family. They truly love what they do and want you to have the most enjoyable stay- they cared about every person that entered their B&B and you can tell. The snacks, wine and especially the breakfast were delicious! I almost forgot the oatmeal cookies- OMG. Our room was spotless and I watched the staff cleaning and caring for the Inn all throughout the day. We enjoyed riding the provided bikes to the beach and just relaxing in our room with the fireplace on :) We cannot wait to go back!!!! Thank you Susan & Ray- Jen & Tony

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
455
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westminster
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have stayed at the Mission Inn twice and none other even compares! Ray and Susan are so attentive and by far the best innkeepers! I wouldnt stay anywhere else when visiting Cape May. The breakfasts are amazing as well! The rooms are extremely clean and beautifully decorated.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janjul0622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived to a warm welcome at The Mission Inn, we enjoyed hospitality second to none. The public areas invite guests to meet each other if they wish and enjoy tea, coffee, wine and nibbles at any time of the day or night. The bedrooms are spotlessly clean, cozy, and comfortable. The desk in the room and free, fast wifi were very welcome.
Last, but certainly not least, the breakfast was certainly the best we have enjoyed at a B and B. The food was freshly prepared, healthy and delicious, and exactly as we requested.
Overall, I can simply say that this was the best B and B experience we have had - here or abroad.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristinemart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Holly, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We will always remember our stay at The Mission Inn. Everyone was so warm and welcoming. You felt like family. The breakfast was delicious and they cater to your every need.I am so glad we chose to stay here. My husband and i will make plans to stay again, but for a longer stay. Such a relaxing place to rejuvenate. I would recommend The Mission Inn to anyone. The oatmeal cookies are to die for!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We just celebrated our 20th anniversary at the Mission Inn and had the best weekend ever! From the moment we stepped inside Susan & Ray were the most amazing, friendly, informative hosts! The breakfast was prepared by their talented chef Leslie, not only was the presentation stunning the meal was delicious as well as the afternoon hors d'oeuvres. The refrigerator was stocked and there wasn't anything that was overlooked, everything we needed was already there. It was such a pleasure, from being treated like we were part of their family to the friendly conversation on the front porch. We stayed in the San Francisco de Asis, it was beautiful and we loved the sunken tub. We would definitely go back again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had the good fortune of not finding a room right on Beach Avenue and instead booking the last room available at The Mission Inn--one block from the beach. We thought we would miss the ocean view, but instead we melted into the atmosphere at this most beautiful and comfortable B&B hosted by the loveliest couple, Susan and Raymond, who anticipated our every need. From the delicious gourmet breakfasts on the patio to the substantial and equally delicious hors d'oeuvres served at 4 pm to the cookies, cake and beverages available throughout the day--we literally had to squeeze in time for dinner. The atmosphere of the inn is relaxing and peaceful--especially on the patio in the back, where we enjoyed the warm afternoon sunshine. We would recommend The Mission Inn to anyone visiting Cape May--it was truly an awesome B&B experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We just spent our 15th wedding anniversary at the Mission Inn and we can't say enough about the Inn and it's owners. Susan and Ray were the most gracious of hosts and genuinely lovely people. Everything they recommended was perfect, from the restaurants to the wine tasting. The room was extremely comfortable and romantic, complete with spa tub and multiple headed shower. Breakfast on the veranda was light, delicious and unique. We are planning on making a return trip and telling all of our friends about the Inn.

Room Tip: You can't make a wrong decision.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferGub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.9 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#4 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mission Inn

Property: The Mission Inn
Address: 1117 New Jersey Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2638
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded the 2017 Travelers Choice Award for B&B's & Inns by Trip Advisor as the #1 bed and breakfast in Cape May, NJ (5 years in a row), #3 in the USA, and #11 in the world, The Mission Inn Bed and Breakfast is not your typical Cape May B&B. We invite you to experience the charm of a California Spanish Mission Style Bed and Breakfast just one block from the beach. You will find The Mission Inn guest rooms to be bright, airy, tastefully decorated, creative and restful places for the weary traveler as was the purpose of the original California missions. Each guest room is themed after one of the missions, with artistic murals and accents designed to resemble the original mission. The common areas were themed to reflect the warmth of the missions. Each year additional improvements are planned and implemented. Return guests are always finding the "little changes" that reflect the attention to detail so noticeable at the Inn. Book one of our 8 Rooms before they fill up! We are an Inn for all seasons and open all year round. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing