We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“wonderful hosts make for a great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 44 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“wonderful hosts make for a great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was my second time staying at the B&B. My boyfriend and I stayed here for a night, since we ran the Ocean Drive Marathon, which starts just a few blocks from the B&B. Elan and Susie are really great hosts that make their guests feel at home. They were incredibly accommodating since we needed to eat breakfast earlier than their usual time and also required a late checkout to shower after the race. The location is great, as it's just steps away from the beach, and close to a number of great restaurants :) Afternoon tea and breakfast were lovely. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    29
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
14
67
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Leith Hall is beautifully and lovingly restored to Victorian splender by an expert...the owner is also the curator for the Physick Estate in Cape May. Their B&B is a stones throw from the beach and has a wonderful front porch, where breakfast is served in the morning and tea in the afternoon in good weather. The reasons my husband and I keep coming back, however, are charming owners, Susan and Elan. They are almost always around during breakfast and tea to "chew the fat", as we used to say in the good ole days!

Room Tip: Pictures of each room are available on their Website with room descriptions that are very accurate
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have stayed at this B&B 5 times after staying elsewhere. It has a wonderful location, a block off the beach on Ocean Ave and within casual walking distance of the Pedestrian Mall (Washington St). One can sit on the porch and see the beach -- and, even better, can look out the window of either of the front suites and see the ocean. The hosts are friendly and courteous and Elan is an excellent cook who produces wonderful breakfasts and luscious tea time sweets. it also helps that Elan is a master of Victorain history in general and Cape May history in particular and he loves to talk about it. We are headed back next year as well.

Room Tip: Take one of the two front suites -- 2nd floor or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverpanzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

The couple really knows their Victoriana. Elan is curator at the Physick House (site worth seeing). The interior of the B&B reflects it. And also shows a sense of humor. So much to notice. We've stayed in different rooms. Each room has a name that indicates a theme which is then carried out within the room. Very cleverly done. (I learned some lines from Robert Burns in one. In a different room I was able to identify Rasputin.) Our rooms and beds have been comfortable and when air conditioning is needed, it works very well. Sleep is never a problem.
The cooking, by Elan the master of the house, is excellent including breakfast. Freshly cooked muffins...super. It's quite easy to overeat the treats that are prepared for tea. The mistress of the house makes sure that everything runs smoothly...and it does. Location, location, location few B&B are closer to the beach. Unobstructed views to the ocean. A short walk to Washington Street Mall and the beautiful streets of Historic Cape May.
Both of the couple are charming, can talk on a very large variety of topics, and like to laugh a lot. It's contagious. We look forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: The entry steps and ceilings are typically high. Make sure you understand the number of steps to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retired-to-Manhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed one summer night and were very pleased with the location, the ambiance, and the hospitality. We enjoyed afternoon tea and goodies on the large front porch while chatting with innkeeper Elon about the history of the region (this is the place to stay if you are a history and/or restoration enthusiast). The porch was also the location for our delicious breakfast, which we enjoyed after a short walk to the beach. Beach chairs and towels are provided, making our morning absolutely lovely. We stayed in the Maple Suite on the 3rd floor, which is decorated with charming antiques and furnishings and include views of the ocean from bed and bathroom! We could walk everywhere we wanted to be easily - a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

My wife and I just returned from three days at Leith Hall B&B. It was my first time in Cape May. We had such a great time. The Leith Hall location is superb - half a block from the ocean and a few blocks from the center of town. But what really made the visit special were our hosts, Susan and Elon. They are warm, welcoming, and just interesting folks. My wife and I highly recommend Leith Hall.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ripandread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I happened across Leith Hall when searching for an in near the beach and near the Washington Mall. We stayed for only one night, and I was very sad to leave as early as I did. Susan checked us in much earlier than the stated check-in time, giving us a thorough description of the inn, the town, and the meals. In conversation, it came up that Elon had been involved in the renovation and administration of the Physick house, which added another great experience to the trip.

We stayed in the Celebrity room. All in all, our room was small but well appointed. The air conditioning was sufficient to keep the room cool during 100 degree heat. The location was within walking distance to most of the town. Afternoon tea was a refreshing treat that we did not expect (Elon's homemade baked goods were brilliant!). The challah french toast in the morning was fluffy and flavorful. I was stunned by the decor, thrilled with the food, and charmed by the innkeepers. I would absolutely return.

Room Tip: Pay attention to the parking spot that comes with your room. Many rooms come with a spot a few bloc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.0 mi away
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
#31 of 38 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Macomber
Hotel Macomber
#29 of 38 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#10 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.9 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#8 of 44 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast

Property: Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast
Address: 22 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2412
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast is an elegantly restored inn that is nestled in the heart of the Karen Akers Victorian Historic District. This ornate Victorian style bed and breakfast is only a half of a block away from the beach and offers breathtaking ocean views, full gourmet breakfasts, antiques, and afternoon tea. Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast also offers modern day amenities such as air conditioning, wireless internet, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and free parking. Our bed and breakfast is ideally located for a vacation where you can relax and enjoy the warmth and hospitality of Cape May. Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast is the only professionally restored bed and breakfast in Cape May. While visiting Cape May you will step back into by being surrounded by the elegant Victorian style but, this town carries an atmosphere that is casual and relaxed. Our guests at Leith Hall will help themselves to a hearty full breakfast partnered with a lounge on the porch while enjoying a nice conversation with hosts and other guests. The aroma of freshly brewed coffee and home baked breads flows through the inn and is the most delightful way to wake up. Our breakfast’s that include decadent quiches, crepes, and egg entrees grant you the energy that you need for a day at the beach. Enjoy a relaxing afternoon tea time that includes fresh, homemade cakes and pastries served with hot English tea during the winter and iced tea or lemonade during the summer. Come stay at Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast and experience this elegant Victorian inn that offers a casual and relaxed atmosphere with breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing