We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B in Cape May” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Humphrey Hughes House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Humphrey Hughes House
Ranked #15 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best B&B in Cape May”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

My husband and I have been staying at the Humphrey Hughes House for over 20 years. The home and rooms are perfect, well maintained property, exceptional service and the best breakfast you'll find anywhere. We have stayed at many B&B's across the country and none is better than the HHH. The innkeepers are fabulous people and care very much for their home, their guests and their community.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbirdanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
105
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

Beautiful B&B in great location. Walk to everything you need (restaurants, beach, shopping). Cozy rooms, GREAT breakfasts, friendly staff, very hospitable hosts, wonderful front porch. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eck3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2010

A spacious B and B four (4) doors from the beach in the historic district of Cape May . The 10 air conditioned bedrooms are on the second and third floors and are tastefully appointed with soap, shampoo and everything you would find in a hotel room. The innkeepers maintain the property in an impeccable condition, serve a gourmet breakfast every morning at 9 am and provide recommendations on restaurants and tourist attractions. My favorite feature of this large mansion is the wraparound porch with rocking chairs and awnings to read, drink a glass of wine and watch the horse and buggies go by.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Humphrey Hughes during our recent trip to Cape May. The inn keepers were wonderful and gave us a warm welcome over the phone when we told them that we wouldn't be in town until late that night. The breakfasts were delicious and served to us individually - no buffet!

We stayed in "Le Petit," and true to its name, it was quite small (but very charming). The only disappointment was the tiny TV, mounted in a strange position high up on the wall. The rest of the room was lovely, and it was very clean.

The inn keepers really go out of their way to keep guests happy; fresh cookies were available throughout the day, and they also provided beach chairs and towels. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkNyc85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2009

The HH is a beautiful well maintained B&B. The owners have been there about 20 years and are very pleasant and helpful with all of your needs. We have been coming to Cape May for the last 6 years, visiting 4-5 times a year for long weekends. We have tried 5-6 other B&B's throughout the years but none compare to the HH. We have stayed here 25-30 times and no longer look elsewhere. The breakfasts are very well prepared, as well as delicious and plentiful. Breakfast is served on a wraparound porch with table settings for two. We have stayed in 5 different rooms, and all of them are very lovely and clean. Each room has its own character. The staff are all very pleasant and helpful in all ways.The HH has a sitting/Sun room. Provided in this room is a small assortment of snacks and a decanter of Port, as well as menus from the local restaurants. The inn is only one block from the beach, and less than a 5 minute walk to the shops. The inn also provides beach chairs and beach towels.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meisterNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

There are many B&B's to choose from in Cape may. We've stayed in B&B's before and this place is among our favorites. It excels in the below which I consider vital for any B&B:

The breakfast: It was gourmet and delicious. I expect a B&B to have an excellent breakfast (or else why stay at a B&B and not just a B). Most important for us, dining is on 10 tables for two for the summer. It's not that we're anti-social, but we don't want our romantic breakfast with random strangers. I usually consider communal dining a deal breaker, not to mention buffet breakfasts as some places do. To give you an idea of the breakfast quality, the owner provides you a free cookbook she authored with her favorite meals.

Location: Like most places in Cape May, it was centrally located near the promenade. One small inconvenience is that you may have to park a few blocks away on Columbia, but parking is free.

The House: It's beautifully put together with great antiques. This is not as critical to us but I think expected by most people staying at a Victorian Cape May house.

The Room: Our room was great (Annie's room), and featured separate wings for sleeping and watching TV. Nice touches included some complimentary Sherry, toothbrushes, different types of soap, and a sewing kit. The pillows may be a bit hard for some people but I think they have softer ones available if asked (?).

Service: We interacted with the innkeeper and he was a sweet older gentleman. Many B&B's have nice hosts but this is not a given. He made us feel at home and welcome, and treated us as adults (we're mid twenties, and some places I hear treat anyone under 35 as kids).

Overall, a great experience and worthy of the Cape May premium price tag. One final note, the hotel advertises itself as a member of "Select Registry". I'd never heard of this before but apparently it's an exclusive club of the best Inns in the country which features various quality control measures like secret shoppers, along the lines of Michelin stars for restaurants. The only other members of the "select registry" in Cape May are: The Fairthorne, The Mainstay Inn, Peter Shields Inn, The Queen Victoria

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Obespalov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2008

Humphrey Hughes House is a wonderful place to relax. I stayed in the Doctor's suite and it was just beautiful. Plenty of space and wonderfully decorated. Very clean. The services both of the owners and other service staff was very personal and full of attention to the detail. The only bad thing is that small children are not allowed.

  • Liked — Personal service and wonderful decoration
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewJerseyChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#10 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Star
The Star
#19 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humphrey Hughes House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humphrey Hughes House

Property: Humphrey Hughes House
Address: 29 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2411
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing