We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gets Better Every Year” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Humphrey Hughes House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Humphrey Hughes House
Ranked #15 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gets Better Every Year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

This was the 8th time we've stayed at the Humphrey Hughes House; we first came in 1996. Terry and Lorraine are gracious hosts, and they attentive and caring about their guests' needs. The staff have been there for years, and remember that you've been there before.

The B&B is spotless. Breakfasts are wonderful, beautifully presented and pleasing to the taste buds. When you make reservations, you are asked for dietary preferences/concerns, and these are remembered.

We cannot recommend the Humphrey Hughes House highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDhereandthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
105
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
binghamton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was a return trip for us! A beautiful room, excellent service and a gourmet breakfast every morning served on the porch...the Humphrey Hughes House is a wonderful place to relax. Close to the beach and the "downtown" area of Cape May Enjoy the porch....make new friends and leave your worries at the door step!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doctormom07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This B&B is in the heart of everything. It's on the ocean block (5 houses down from beach) and is a 1 block walk (5 min) to the Washington Street Mall, which is full of cute boutiques, restaurants, and mom and pop stores. The breakfast was amazing all 3 days...see pic. The front porch of this B&B is HUGE allowing you plenty of privacy if you want it as you relax. Breakfast was served at little tables for 2 on the porch at one seating (9am) so this is perfect for a romantic getaway as you can spend all your time together without having to socialize with other guests. We took a trolley tour and they mentioned our B&B as we passed by. We also got to see the location of dozens of other B&B's and HH House is by far in the best location at a fair price. Internet access signal was very strong in our room, not so strong on the porch. We stayed in a small room and paid less than the larger rooms. I would definitely stay here again. It was the best of both worlds...the comfort of a B&B and the ease and come and go feel of a hotel right in the heart of Cape May.

Room Tip: If you want a deal choose a smaller room. The Dr's Suite has its own outside entrance. Very cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeachingAimee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittston, PA, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have been to the HHH several times and would not consider staying anywhere else. Gorgeous rooms and hosts who anticipate your every need make this THE place to stay in Cape May. Breakfast is a feast for the eyes as well as the palate and the location makes walking to the beach, shopping or dining effortless. Worth a trip!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertandCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

For our first experience at a B&B, we were very pleased with our stay at the Humphrey Hughes House. We were pleasantly surprised by the charming accomodations, including Victorian decor and elegant bedroom suite. The professional staff went above and beyond to ensure that our stay was enjoyable. The manager, Tiffany, did a great job of giving us a quick and comprehensive orientation of the inn. The breakfast on the porch was lovely each morning, and their exceptional service made us feel very special. Every detail of the breakfast was beyond our expectations. We also enjoyed the porch in the evening, when we could relax and mingle with the other guests. Overall, we were delighted with our stay and we are already planning our return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Excellent all the way around. Immaculate, wonderful breakfasts on the huge front porch, and comfortable bed. Highly recommend this great bed and breakfast. One block to the beach and short walk to town. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aranieri_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had the pleasure to stay at the Humphrey Hughes House over the 4th of July. We were surprised each morning with a beautifully orchestrated breakfast. Not only was it delicious but the presentation was amazing. We also met delightful people. According to most of them this is there 10th or 15th year in a row staying at the Humphrey Hughes House. That says a lot for the place. My husband & I are looking forward to our next visit.
T& L

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loretta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#10 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Star
The Star
#19 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humphrey Hughes House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humphrey Hughes House

Property: Humphrey Hughes House
Address: 29 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2411
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing