We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Humphrey Hughes House
Ranked #17 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our first trip to Cape May, and we were so glad to have found the Humphrey Hughes House.
It's a beautiful bed and breakfast, just a block from the beach and two from the center of town.
The room and bathroom were clean and spacious and recently updated. The bed was amazingly comfortable.
Breakfasts on the porch are delicious and sitting with the beach/water in view and the sea breeze is glorious. AND to top it off, there are always freshly baked chocolate chip cookies (fudge and pretzels,) tea, coffee and water on the sun porch.
We would absolutely stay again at the Humphrey Hughes House and are so happy to have found it.

Room Tip: Brass room on the third floor was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
105
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My Wife and I spent the last 3 nights at this beautiful B&B. The Humphrey Hughes House is just gorgeous. The owners (Terry and Lorraine) and staff make you feel at home. Lorraine is an excellent cook----Breakfast each day was very special. We came to celebrate my birthday and our wedding anniversary. Somehow Terry and Lorraine found out and sent chocolate covered strawberries to our room and when we went to dinner at the Merion Inn our waitress brought us a hot hors d' oeuvre with the compliments of the Humphrey Hughes House---Blew us away---How did they know we were having dinner there? Very Special Place and Very Special People. I am sure we will revisit them.

Room Tip: all the rooms are spotless and are filled with beautiful antiques.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We loved our first experience here last year on our anniversary so we decided to do it again this year. We just got home yesterday from our stay at the Humphrey Hughes House. It was another AWESOME trip! The house is so beautiful and immaculate. The owners Terry and Lorraine are wonderful and so friendly. Lorraine can cook the best breakfasts in the world! She also knows how to present them so beautifully! The bed/ & sheets were excellent! It has the biggest porch in town! The other guests were so nice, too. It is a very relaxing and romantic place to stay. We love it there!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a king size bed and a large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piney98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunmore, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is the friendliest place to stay in Cape May. Breakfasts are the BEST!!! Very clean and neat old Victorian home with a beatiful wrap around porch. Location is close to everything (beach, shops, restaurants). Owners are there if you need anything, but leave you alone to enjoy your own quiet time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul2924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

They allowed me a one night stay on a weekend during season (as they had one room free). It is a very beautiful and homey place, with great owners and staff. There is plenty of space on their beautiful porch and common areas where one does not feel as if intruding in someone's home. Large private bedroom with a large clean bathroom. Best B&B yet in my experience at Cape May. Oh, and the crystal bottle of sherry in the bedroom was a nice touch. As were the beverages, snacks, fresh ice, and crystal glasses available for guests in the sunroom! Check it out. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Just returned from a long weekend. The location is perfect, one block to beach and a couple of short blocks to town. The owners are available but not intrusive. We had a lovely room which was offered at a great price. Nice ammenities and beauftiful breakfast presentation. My only complaint (if you want to spend your last day on the beach) is there is no outdoor shower/changing area. The other B&B's we've stayed in either offered us a later checkout, or had a private hot shower available behind the home.

Room Tip: The home is in a very convenient but busy area. We left the windows open to enjoy the breeze, howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet1057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Spent Memorial Day weekend here. This was my first stay in town and The Humphrey Hughes was great! My boyfriend and I booked the Le Petit room. Upon arrival they upgraded us to a much larger room free of charge.
Really impressive breakfast. Clean rooms and nice ambiance. The large porch was really nice in the afternoon. Ideal location and wonderful owner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelseaa412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,175 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Queen Victoria
The Queen Victoria
#3 of 39 in Cape May
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humphrey Hughes House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humphrey Hughes House

Property: Humphrey Hughes House
Address: 29 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2411
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing