We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cape May Bed and Breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Humphrey Hughes House
Ranked #16 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
new jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cape May Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I just got home from our first vacation in a Bed & Breakfast in Cape May, New Jersey. We have always stayed in hotels before. We stayed at the Humphrey Hughes House In Cape May after viewing it online. It was a truly delightful experience. The owner, Terry was so helpful and friendly. The Inn is simply beautiful and full of gorgeous antiques. It is also kept spotless and fresh. We had an awesome breakfast this morning on the porch. The location is perfect...just a short block to the beach and another block in the other direction to the town center with lots of shops and restaurants, yet it was quiet and peaceful at the Inn. We took a trolley tour that took us past the beautiful historic Inns of Cape May while the tour guide gave information on each of them. The HHH is the best of the best!!! We look forward to returning!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Velvet Room...The king bed was heavenly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piney98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
108
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Holly, New Jersey, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We will gladly return to HH B&B. Friendly gracious owners and staff, excellent breakfast, and you can't beat that porch on a summer day. Within walking distance of resturants, beach, and shops. We loved staying in the doctor's office suite with it's spacious rooms, very comfortable bed, and in-suite refreshment area.

Room Tip: The doctor's suite is ideal if you need to avoid stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This was our fourth stay at HHH, a true gem among the B&Bs we have visited. The owners, Lorraine and Terry, are gracious and welcoming. The inn is charming, spotless, and well appointed. The outstanding breakfast, both in presentation and flavor, was thoroughly enjoyed on the porch kissed by ocean breezes and fragranced by exquisite fica blossoms. We will be back! ~ Connie & Kent

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I travel often for business & was in Maryland for a long day, so instead of driving home late after the last ferry, I booked the HHH and was I happy I did. I normally stay at The Grand (on the beach) but took a chance with the B & B and felt like I was coming home. The front foyer was warm & inviting....as I found my way to the 2nd floor "Dragon Fly Room", I let myslef in & felt immediatly comfortable. The bed was comfortable & I slept undisturbed. Though I neeeded to work the next day, I stayed long enough to enjoy the pancake breakfast on the front porch. The innkeepers knew I was working & offered to feed me earlier than the normal 9am..which I took them up on. I had been up early & already walked the boardwalk, so I was ready to eat. The tables were set beautifully & I enjoyed fruit, juice, coffee, pancakes, sausage & a sweet roll.

I highly recommend the HHH and do stay for breakfast...you will not regret it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

My wife and I spent a weekend in May here and absolutely loved it. Terry & Lorraine were wonderful hosts. The house is beautiful and amazingly well kept, snacks and chocolate chip cookies were always available on the porch and the location is great. When the weather cooperates, breakfast is served on the porch, which is quite nice. What else could you ask? It is a short walk to the beach and to shopping. We stayed in the Dragonfly room, which was very well appointed and comfortable, but I am sure all rooms are equally nice. The only negative is you are on your own to find on-street parking, which can be a hassle. However, I didn't hold it against the HHH and gave it 5 stars because this is common problem for B&Bs in Cape May. They do give you a map of where you can park for free, which is probably all they can do. This is a wonderful B&B and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorvairTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Since we first visited Cape May in 1997 we have made it there 13 out of the past 15 summers, and of those 13 summers 11 have been spent at HHH (and our very first Cape May visit was spent across the street, wishing we had picked HHH!). Terry & Lorraine are fantastic hosts and the long-time staff (especially Kathy) are just super! Quiet, well-appointed, air-conditioned rooms; first-rate showers; ample closet & drawer space; free towels & beach chairs; a sun porch with GREAT chocolate-chip cookies, fudge, tea, coffee and sherry - what's not to like? Be warned, however, that Lorraine's breakfasts can be diet-killers,so be prepared to "walk it off" because you won't be able to *NOT* eat! ;-) The location is simply the best with an easy walk to the center of town or to the beach, great views, etc. Definitely first-rate, and highy recommended!

Room Tip: Second floor is less stair-climbing - we like the Velvet Room - but the Brass Room on the 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulB38661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We make a point of going back to the HHH each year right after Labor Day and it is the most perfect week. The innkeepers are gracious and have running an inn down to a science! They are there if you need them but mostly out of sight. I cannot think of a more relaxing time than sitting on the big wraparound porch having a magnificent breakfast, then reading a book, then lazily making our way to the beach. It is in a perfect location and within walking distance of everything. We try a different room every year and this year look forward to staying in the "doctor's suite".... This inn is immaculately clean with a very hospitable staff. I cannot think of a single improvement needed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolleone24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,183 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
290 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 39 in Cape May
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humphrey Hughes House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humphrey Hughes House

Property: Humphrey Hughes House
Address: 29 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2411
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing