We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bait and Switch” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Humphrey Hughes House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Humphrey Hughes House
Ranked #15 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bait and Switch”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

We made reservations online for 2 nights during the week at the end of July. We received our confirmation and thought we were all set. After making the rest of our travel plans and arrangements, we later received an e-mail from the manager saying that for the room we reserved it was required for us to stay 3 nights. This was not published anywhere on their website, nor on the confirmation page we received. Thinking this was in error, I called the B&B and spoke with a woman who claimed she was the manager. She said we could stay for the 2 nights only if we paid for a significantly more expensive room. In addition the manager was unapologetic, sharp and left such a bad impression with us that we will never consider staying at this facility. We understand that many people have had a nice experience staying at the Humphrey Hughes, but we just wanted to make people aware of the potential for a bait and switch here.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Shiningspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehumphreyhughes, Owner at Humphrey Hughes House, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
This reviewer did not stay at The Humphrey Hughes House. In addition, the facts are not correct. The person called on the phone and was told the particular room she wanted to book was available for three(3) nights. If she desired two (2) nights it would have to be a different accomodation which was more expensive. The reviewer than attempted to circumvent the minimum stay requirement for our smallest, least expensive room by booking on line. Immediately upon reciept of the online reservation she was emailed and told the reservation would not be honored for two (2) as it was explained in a previous phone call.

Our goal is to insure each and every person who visits The Humphrey Hughes House has a pleasant, relaxing and enjoyable experience. We do have minimum stay requirements because we are small lodging business with a limited number of rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
105
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

We didn't plan on staying overnight however called a few places and found a room here for one night. Everything was excellent and we couldn't have been happier. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Njwander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittston, PA, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

From the gorgeous rooms to the amazing breakfasts, this is the place to stay in Cape May! Terri and his wife are the ultimate innkeepers and their attention to detail and welcoming demeanor extend to the staff as well. We will be back... we don't even consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertandCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

My wife and I like to stay at B&Bs when go away for long weekends, as we like the personal nature of staying in someone else's home and love good food (especially breakfast and the occasionally afternoon treat). The Humphrey Hughes House was perfect for us. The owners were super friendly and even carried our luggage up to our third floor room for us when we arrived. Breakfast was outstanding and beautifully prepared (my wife took pictures each morning and posted them on her facebook page. The fudge and fresh cookies were also nice treats.

The location of the house was great, justa short block from teh beach and two blocks from the main walking street (Washington Street Mall). But the best thing about this B&B was the fabulous porch lined with rocking chairs. What a great place to start each day and end each night.

This was perfect for a 30-something couple looking for a romantic getaway. The B&B is very nice, filled with antiques, but it takes on the friendly persona of the owners, so it is not the least bit stuffy (like we were afraid of). We will definitely stay at the Humphreay Hughes House on our next trip to Cape May!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmeliker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester Pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights and loved it. Owners and staff were great. Relaxing and having breakfast on the huge porch made the weekend. We stayed in the Ocean View (blue room) and my wife said it was the best nights of sleep she's had in a while. Perfect location as well. We will definitly go back and tell friends.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briandoc3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

Walking up and down the streets of Cape May, it was hard to decide which B&B to stay at...until we saw this one. The front porch was so attractive with its' size, flowers, and colors. We were greeted and were offered to see two available rooms. We chose the Ocean View Room, and how spectacular it was! It had a large, very comfortable king sized bed, antique furniture, and a quaint bathroom. Very spacious! The entire house was also beautiful. Breakfast was nothing short of AMAZING. WHAT a presentation!! It was so lovely to eat on the porch, and the food was absolutely delicious. The husband came up to us and personally introduced himself, as we did not see him when we checked in. The owners were so pleasant and inviting. And what a deal... we stayed the night of 6/3/11, and I think it was still considered off season... with all those darn NJ taxes, it was only $100!!! It will be very difficult to go back to a hotel after this B&B experience... it was our first and definitely set the bar high!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bsbaumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Dragon Fly room and it exceeded our expectations. The bed was extremely comfortable and extra blankets and softer pillows were provided. The breakfasts were delicious on the huge wrap around porch, where seating is intimate at tables of 2. The owners and staff were friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back!!

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachlovers0626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Star
The Star
#19 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#6 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humphrey Hughes House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humphrey Hughes House

Property: Humphrey Hughes House
Address: 29 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2411
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing