We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hosts”
Review of Gingerbread House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gingerbread House
Ranked #7 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2006

my wife and i always wanted to stay in a bed and breakfast and I'm glad we picked this one. joan and fred were wonderful. They made you feel at home like it was your house. The house and room were spotless and everthing else was perfect, from the breakfasts to the afternoon tea. Joan always cooked some unique dish to make the day special. Both fred and joan were a pleasure to spend time with. We even had fen with penny.
We will be going back in the future to the gingerbread house for sure.


curt & maryanne

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank funtime10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 544 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2006

I cannot say enough about The Gingerbread House! I brought my mother to Cape May for her 60th birthday and our stay was perfect. Joan and Fred are absolutely wonderful! We had a little trrouble with the transmission on our car and Fred was so helpful with telling us which gas stations to go to and offered to drive us anywhere we needed to go. Since we were so close to the beach and to the "mall", our car trouble didn't damper our visit at all. The accomodations are so homey with delicious breakfasts to start your day and tea and cookies in the afternoon. The decor of the house is beautiful and the rooms are spotless! I will definitely be staying at the Gingerbread House when I head back down to Cape May!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tess913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2006

It was a girl weekend that I was looking very forward to. The moment we walked in the door and met Joan and Fred, I felt like I was with family. This place is like a dollhouse made big and everything is immaculate! Our great room and private porch were a lot larger in person than the pictures. All the furniture and decorations were beautiful, yet I felt comfortable and at home. I could tell that all the other guests felt the same way. The breakfast was very fresh with a new special treat every morning. I would like to visit at X-mas and also in the summer and wish Cape May was closer to Florida! The location of the Gingerbread house is perfect. The beach and promenade are right out the door, yet you are not on the main drag. I can't wait to return to this wonderful place with my husband. Thanks again for the hospitality!!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2006

We had the best time. 4 girlfriends traveled from Florida to stay in Cape May during Victorian Week. Our room was so beautiful and we also had a porch that we really enjoyed as part of our room package. The weather could not have been any better. The Antiques were so beautiful and plentiful and Joan and Fred (owners) were just alot of fun and the nicest people that you could hope to meet . Cape May is a wonderful place to visit and I would love to go back again sometime and stay at the Gingerbread House. I can't say enough great things about the Gingerbread House. The breakfasts were all very tastie business and the other guests staying at the house were all very friendly and fun to talk with. I would highly recommend the Gingerbread House as the best place to stay in Cape May.

Sandy Good, Port Orange, Florida

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bgood8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2006

Our trip to the Gingerbread House was wonderful! We were a group of 4 girlfriends from Florida and it was the first time for 3 of our group to visit beautiful Cape May, NJ. I am so happy we chose the Gingerbread House for our stay during Victorian Week! Joan and Fred are so warm and friendly and they made us feel like family during our visit. We stayed in the luxury suite on the second floor since it slept 4 very comfortably. We had a gorgeous private porch that overlooked quaint Gurney Street and our room was amazingy! It came complete with beautiful furnishings and was very very Victorian! Everything was immaculate, clean and comfortable. Our breakfasts were absolutely delicious and the other guests became our friends during our stay! The atmosphere was so comfortable and relaxing. I have stayed at other lovely B&B's in Cape May, but I will never go anywhere else now but the Gingerbread House! Joan & Fred's dedication to their guests is what separates them from everyone else for they are truly wonderful people!

Stayed: October 2006
1  Thank MRitzinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2006

In a row of similar houses the Gingerbread definitely stands out. The painting and and refurbishing has been metculously restored. It is fun just to admire the details. Then to meet and get to know Fred and Joan is a true delight. You can tell they pour their heart and soul into their B&B. Joan cooks a wonderful breakfast to get the day started out right. Then she has several choices of cakes to go along with the afternoon tea. We have definitely enjoyed our stay and look forward to the next one.

Stayed: September 2006
Thank beatitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2006

Fred and Joan run a lovely B&B, less than half a block from the beach. Their B&B has loads of charm, yes, as many do, but their breakfasts, the service and the attention they pay to their guests will be hard to match. Our five-year old (and we) had a great (and restful even) holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank UMSUTOJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,186 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
568 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 40 in Cape May
713 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#3 of 40 in Cape May
324 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queen Victoria
The Queen Victoria
#4 of 40 in Cape May
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gingerbread House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gingerbread House

Address: 28 Gurney St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2408
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: $110 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A meticulously and elegantly restored 1869 Victorian Bed and Breakfast Inn situated in the historical district and 1/2 block to beach. Period antiques, original watercolors, classical music, Fred's photographs and exquisite woodwork combine with friendly service and attention to detail. Delightful breezes and the sounds of the sea create a comfortable setting amidst the wonderful furnishing of a golden age. Breakfast, fireplace, private baths and guest veranda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gingerbread House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gingerbread House Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing