We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Joan and Fred are wonderful”
Review of Gingerbread House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gingerbread House
Ranked #5 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Philadelphia, PA
1
Reviewed May 15, 2006

Our stay at the gingerbread house was really great. This was my first stay at a B&B and I was a little apprehensive at first, but it was so much more pleasant than a hotel. We stayed in the room with the balcony which had a beautiful view of the rising sun. The attention to detail and care was over the top, they were very accomodating to every need. Everything was clean and felt very comfortable. Fred and Joan have done amazing things with the place and they are very sincere and wonderful people. Everything we had for breakfast was homemade and tasted absolutely delicious. We couldn't recommend a better place to stay for a trip to Cape May.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
There are newer reviews for Gingerbread House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 539 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2006

first, the location of gingerbread house is excellent: a block to the shore and a pleasant walk to the shops and restaurants. the place itself is really nice and gorgeous to look at. fred greeted us and was extremely nice and helpful with restaurant information. without even asking or expecting it, he upgraded us to a gorgeous room with a huge balcony and beautiful bathroom (built by fred himself).

some people wrote that the breakfast wasn't very good b/c it didn't have eggs or anything, but i disagree. joan makes homemade granola, casseroles and pastries. it was absolutely delicious. fred and joan sat and shared with us their experience with the gingerbread house which they've owned for over 20 years, which is gracious if you think about how many times they've been askd about it.

thank you for a great little getaway to cape may!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dougfromnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Shippensburg, PA
11
Reviewed May 10, 2006

My sister Sal and our cousins, Linda and Rita, had a very enjoyable two night stay at the Gingerbread House this past week. Fred and Joan were warm and friendly and their home is lovely. They gave us lots of information about the area and gave terrific recommendations on places to see and restaurants to try. Visiting Cape May was a relaxing experience because of Fred and Joan's hospitality, I would recommend it to any of our friends.
Marylou- Shippensburg, PA

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Ashland, PA
11
Reviewed March 9, 2006

Thank You Joan and Fred for another great stay at your B&B. We love staying with you and eating your wonderful snacks at tea and your breakfasts. This is the first time that we have stayed in Cape May in December and it was very nice. We loved seeing all the Christmas decorations and the Gingerbread House was decorated beautifully. We just had a baby and will certainly miss staying at the Gingerbread House for the next five years until we can go back with our son. We will definetly stop in and say Hi to our good freinds at the Gingerbread House!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Vineland, NJ
13
Reviewed March 3, 2006

The most tranquil, lovely place! Fred and Joan are wonderful. They have done fabulous things with this property and have truly found their calling in the bed and breakfast business. We will go back again and again.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2006

The Gingerbread House was wonderful. One of the proprietars, Joan met us at the door and was wonderful showing us around the place. The victorian mansion was beautifully appointed. Our room was on the second floor and easily accessible. My fiance and I wanted to celebrate our one year anniversary of our engagement and it was great. The next morning there was a healthy breakfast set up with cantaloupe, yogurt, granola, etc.

Thank Viv W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Randolph, NJ
1
Reviewed December 28, 2005

Date: Dec. 26 - Dec 28, 2005
Reviewers: Newlyweds
We got married in June and finally got around to our honeymoon. The atmosphere at The Gingerbread House was so warm and welcoming, we felt very special. Fred and Joan treated each guest like old friends and everyday there was a special homemade breakfast treat.The afternoon tea had something for every taste. We liked our stay so much we got a gift certificate for his daughter and son in law. The rooms are beautifully decorated and extremely clean with extra pillows and blankets. Joan puts in great little extra touches, so that we felt as if we were staying with family. Thanks again, Joan & Fred for a memorable experience.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.2 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
410 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
706 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#3 of 40 in Cape May
306 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Wilbraham Mansion
Wilbraham Mansion
#10 of 40 in Cape May
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gingerbread House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gingerbread House

Address: 28 Gurney St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2408
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: $110 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A meticulously and elegantly restored 1869 Victorian Bed and Breakfast Inn situated in the historical district and 1/2 block to beach. Period antiques, original watercolors, classical music, Fred's photographs and exquisite woodwork combine with friendly service and attention to detail. Delightful breezes and the sounds of the sea create a comfortable setting amidst the wonderful furnishing of a golden age. Breakfast, fireplace, private baths and guest veranda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gingerbread House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gingerbread House Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing