We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than home”
Review of Gingerbread House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gingerbread House
Ranked #5 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

It's a beautiful Victorian home near the beach. Every detail is addressed with great attention. A truly perfect experience. I can easily recommend fully without hesitation. It is close to the beach but seems far from noise and traffic.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
There are newer reviews for Gingerbread House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 539 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

A wonderful experience. The Gingerbread House B&B is great place to stay in Cape May, NJ. It is clean, comfortable, friendly and is beautifully decorated. It is in a great location near the beach and the center of Cape May's attractions, shops and restaurants. The hospitality of the owners Joan and Fred and their staff is first rate. The breakfast provided each morning and the snacks andcoffee available all the time are very good and enjoyable. We will definitely return to the Gingerbread House.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely. The third floor rooms share a bathroom. The second floor rooms have p...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Gingerbread House and our time in Cape May. The Gingerbread House is cute, clean and hospitable. The staff on site was very courteous and friendly and we were well taken care of. Tasty snacks were readily available throughout the day and breakfast was quite good. We stayed in the largest room with its own private balcony (which we would highly recommend). Additionally, the Gingerbread House is conveniently located very close to the beach, the center of town, bike rentals and restaurants.

Finally, the owners clearly take pride in their establishment, were responsive to questions we had before our arrival, and made us feel like cherished guests while we were there.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbenrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We are longtime visitors to Cape May, but this was our first time staying at the Gingerbread House. Suffice it to say that this place represents everything that made us fall in love with Cape May B&Bs in the first place. Our hosts, Joan and Fred, were wonderful and accommodating, and their entire staff was pleasant and friendly at every turn. Even beyond that, this is the kind of place where it's really worth your while to appreciate the B&B itself. The establishment is absolutely spotless. It has all of the lovely Victorian charm that you would expect, with numerous functional updates and stylistic touches that make your stay all the more comfortable, thanks largely to Fred (whose skills as a craftsman show how much work he has put into the Gingerbread House, and what a labor of love it must be for both of them). We stayed for three nights in Room 1, which includes a wonderful and spacious private balcony overlooking Gurney Street that also has views of the beach, as well as the many charming horse-drawn carriages that go by throughout the day and evening. Our breakfasts by Joan were substantial and delicious (the baked eggs and banana bread French toast were to die for). There are also homemade cookies and other treats available for munching. Whether you are planning a first-time visit to Cape May, or have been coming here for many years, you will not be disappointed at the Gingerbread House. We look forward to many future stays here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Gingerbread House last week. Our room was perfect...clean, comfortable and charming. Décor is beautiful throughout the Inn. Breakfast was delicious and the hospitality was wonderful. The location is excellent, a short walk to beach, shops and restaurants. Great front porch to relax. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAM1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was my first stay at the Gingerbread house and I am going back again this weekend! It is a cute, clean, friendly place to stay! The balcony was beautiful! I had a great stay! I would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca7696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Gingerbread House is a great place to stay if you find yourself in Cape May, NJ! Fred and Joan were extremely accommodating and helpful in helping me put together a very last minute weekend away. Everyone was very friendly, the food was delicious and our room was extremely comfortable and clean. I highly recommend The Gingerbread House if you're looking for a great B&B!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler_KEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.2 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
410 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
706 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#3 of 40 in Cape May
306 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Wilbraham Mansion
Wilbraham Mansion
#10 of 40 in Cape May
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gingerbread House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gingerbread House

Address: 28 Gurney St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2408
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: $110 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A meticulously and elegantly restored 1869 Victorian Bed and Breakfast Inn situated in the historical district and 1/2 block to beach. Period antiques, original watercolors, classical music, Fred's photographs and exquisite woodwork combine with friendly service and attention to detail. Delightful breezes and the sounds of the sea create a comfortable setting amidst the wonderful furnishing of a golden age. Breakfast, fireplace, private baths and guest veranda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gingerbread House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gingerbread House Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing