We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay wish we could have stayed another night.”
Review of Gingerbread House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gingerbread House
Ranked #5 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I'd like to say that we stayed at the Gingerbread house on the 23rd of Dec. The house was decorated really nice for Christmas and Joan made us feel like family. The breakfast Joan made was great, felt bad that she had to cook just for my wife and I. Wish we could have stayed another night, but will definately stay there again.

Kurt and Kiara Bergen County

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
There are newer reviews for Gingerbread House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 539 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

This was a perfect B&B. The location was the best, a block from the ocean. We had a fabulous private porch which we could see the ocean. Nice area to park our bikes. This was a trip with my friend and the only B&B with 2 double beds so we could share a room and expenses. Fred and Joan were terrific and made us feel very at home. Homemade granola was the best. I cannot wait to come back.
Thanks Fred and Joan,
MaryEllen

Room Tip: good for friends wanting to share a room with separate beds
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmybelair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We have stayed at the Gingerbread House with Fred and Joan for several years now. The stay is always a pleasure, we like to say " Our Home away from home". There is much anticipation in our ride to Cape May from the warm hello and hug received from Fred and Joan upon our arrival, the smell of gingerbread as we check-in, the cleanliness of our room and private bath, to the magnificent gourmet breakfast prepared by Joan, to the greetings that Fred and Joan share with each of the guests as we sit around the breakfast table getting to know each other and the activities we have planned for the day. Although we have stayed at other B&B's in the over 20 years we have been vacationing in Cape May, the gingerbread house is special to us because the innkeepers truly enjoy hosting and entertaining their guest, they make all guest feel special and welcome. The location is great.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed at the Gingerbread House recently with my mother- what a great trip! The Gingerbread House has got to be the best B & B in Cape May, in all categories. The location is outstanding, the property is beautiful and Joan is a wonderful hostess (not to mention a great chef- breakfasts were fantastic and we skipped lunch both days we were there!) We were in room 1 upstairs with the porch- huge room with everything we could possibly want. We can't wait to go back, which hopefully will be sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank family1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have stayed with Fred and Joan many times, and as always, everything was wonderful- the room was immaculate, the food (breakfast) was incredible, and the area restaurants were awesome! (The weather was fantastic, too! and the beach was all ours!)

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms shared the bathroom, however, in the fall, generally only one couple is on 3rd floor...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandradep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This Bed and Breakfast was absolutely fantastic. It was conveniently located so that walking to both the beach and the shops was both enjoyable and hassle-free. But most importantly, the service and customer care we received was exceptional. The owners are such pleasant people that genuinely care about your comfort and are very willing to share restaurant and activity recommendations. The rooms themselves were accurately decorated to the house's time period which was a joy to experience, plus the rooms are adequately supplied with everything you should need during your stay. The Gingerbread House definitely made my visit to Cape May more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My girlfriend and myself decided to treat ourselves to a Girlfriend Getaway and we stayed at The Gingerbread House. What a delightful experience! We were warmly welcomed by McKinley who carried our luggage to our beautifully appointed and very large suite. There were two, extremely comfortable double, wrought iron beds each complete with the most adorable little bunny rabbits crafted from towels. Some of the amenities included very plush beach towels, beach chairs, a very spacious outdoor shower complete with soaps, shampoos, conditioners and many towels. We relaxed and rocked away the evening on our private porch. The sound of the horse-drawn carriages added to the charm of this wonderful bed and breakfast. All our desires were fulfilled even down to the wine glasses complete with ice in the evening along with the breakfast menu for the following morning. There were always cookies/brownies and coffee available. We were within walking distance of restaurants, shops, Churches, and, of course, the beach. Joan and Fred you have certainly created a true, liveable fantasy in your extraordinary Gingerbread House complete with the warm, inviting scent of gingerbread. And did I say how wonderfully delicious the breakfasts were! We are looking forward to next year's Girlfriend Getaway!

Room Tip: The luxury suite is perfect with the private front porch.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.2 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
412 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
706 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#3 of 40 in Cape May
306 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Wilbraham Mansion
Wilbraham Mansion
#10 of 40 in Cape May
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gingerbread House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gingerbread House

Address: 28 Gurney St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2408
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: $110 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A meticulously and elegantly restored 1869 Victorian Bed and Breakfast Inn situated in the historical district and 1/2 block to beach. Period antiques, original watercolors, classical music, Fred's photographs and exquisite woodwork combine with friendly service and attention to detail. Delightful breezes and the sounds of the sea create a comfortable setting amidst the wonderful furnishing of a golden age. Breakfast, fireplace, private baths and guest veranda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gingerbread House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gingerbread House Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing