We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gingerbread House
Nearby Hotels
Jetty Motel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$272
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avondale by the Sea(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$350
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Inn(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angel of the Sea(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capri Motor Lodge(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Club Hotel(Cape May)
$499
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Cape May)
$338
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carroll Villa Hotel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Mer Beachfront Inn(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$404
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Congress Hall(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$529
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (550)
Filter reviews
550 results
Traveler rating
502
38
5
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
502
38
5
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsginger bread househomemade snacksbed and breakfastmy husband and ifront porchshared bathroomother guestsgreat hostsevery morningprivate bathoutdoor showerhalf block from the beachfeel like familyyogurtcoffee cakewithin walking distancethird floor
Filter
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 550 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This was a perfect B&B. The location was the best, a block from the ocean. We had a fabulous private porch which we could see the ocean. Nice area to park our bikes. This was a trip with my friend and the only B&B with 2 double beds so we could share a room and expenses. Fred and Joan were terrific and made us feel very at home. Homemade granola was the best. I cannot wait to come back.
Thanks Fred and Joan,
MaryEllen

Room Tip: good for friends wanting to share a room with separate beds
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmybelair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We have stayed at the Gingerbread House with Fred and Joan for several years now. The stay is always a pleasure, we like to say " Our Home away from home". There is much anticipation in our ride to Cape May from the warm hello and hug received from Fred and Joan upon our arrival, the smell of gingerbread as we check-in, the cleanliness of our room and private bath, to the magnificent gourmet breakfast prepared by Joan, to the greetings that Fred and Joan share with each of the guests as we sit around the breakfast table getting to know each other and the activities we have planned for the day. Although we have stayed at other B&B's in the over 20 years we have been vacationing in Cape May, the gingerbread house is special to us because the innkeepers truly enjoy hosting and entertaining their guest, they make all guest feel special and welcome. The location is great.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed at the Gingerbread House recently with my mother- what a great trip! The Gingerbread House has got to be the best B & B in Cape May, in all categories. The location is outstanding, the property is beautiful and Joan is a wonderful hostess (not to mention a great chef- breakfasts were fantastic and we skipped lunch both days we were there!) We were in room 1 upstairs with the porch- huge room with everything we could possibly want. We can't wait to go back, which hopefully will be sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank family1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have stayed with Fred and Joan many times, and as always, everything was wonderful- the room was immaculate, the food (breakfast) was incredible, and the area restaurants were awesome! (The weather was fantastic, too! and the beach was all ours!)

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms shared the bathroom, however, in the fall, generally only one couple is on 3rd floor, so we had the bathroom all to ourselves.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandradep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This Bed and Breakfast was absolutely fantastic. It was conveniently located so that walking to both the beach and the shops was both enjoyable and hassle-free. But most importantly, the service and customer care we received was exceptional. The owners are such pleasant people that genuinely care about your comfort and are very willing to share restaurant and activity recommendations. The rooms themselves were accurately decorated to the house's time period which was a joy to experience, plus the rooms are adequately supplied with everything you should need during your stay. The Gingerbread House definitely made my visit to Cape May more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews