We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Cape May
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveler rating
202
58
20
22
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
202
58
20
22
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews my husband and i french toast b bs breakfast was delicious fresh fruit afternoon tea wedding coordinator common areas bed and breakfast cocktail hour second floor pedestrian mall few blocks no elevator washington street each morning front porch
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 308 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2019 via mobile

We have stayed 6 times now at the Southern Mansion and every time is wonderful. For such a big Mansion somehow it keeps a warm elegant feel and is always meticulously landscaped and decorated. Breakfast offers numerous choices off a menu and daily specials. If we could give breakfast 7 stars we would. We have stayed at many inns but breakfast here is by far the most choices and best executed. We can’t say enough about the wonderful staff that checks us in, to our favorite breakfast server. Everyone is friendly, accommodating, kind! This time we enjoyed room 12 which has the most amazing private sunporch. Its a Premium room two story suite with a living room and spiral stairs to a loft style mbr with another tv. Just sitting reading in this room was so relaxing. Bedding - the linens are so soft and again high end. Every room has its own wonderful feel.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank warrentravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2019

Had a great stay thanks to the wonderful staff, and our clean, comfortable room. This inn is located in a charming upscale community that is very walkable. Love the vibes here. Great people, nice beaches, close to Wildwood too.. if you crave more excitement.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Amonsterinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2019

Elegant!!! Rooms are beautiful!!! it will take you back to a different era!!!
beautiful grounds and the front porch is lovely!!!
Close to fine dining at The Washington Inn...right across the street
ample parking and afternoon tea also offers complimentary champagne
Romantic getaway for our anniversary!!!
Only drawback Is it is not within walking distance to the beach

Room tip: the newer wing has elegant rooms!!!
Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Excursion659054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019

We just hosted our wedding celebration over Labor Day weekend at The Southern Mansion and we couldn't be more pleased! From the moment we first visited back in February, when looking for a venue for our destination wedding, we knew this was the place for us. The Southern Mansion has history and character, but at the same time is clean and updated, allowing for a comfortable stay.

Ken, the on-site wedding coordinator, was phenomenal, from our first tour all the way through the wedding and checkout. I didn't hire a coordinator and planned the wedding myself, which I was a bit nervous about, but Ken really came through for us on flawlessly executing all details laid out for him. He’s clearly very experienced in service and also incredibly knowledgeable about the property.

The food was fantastic, from the breakfast every morning to the cocktail hour appetizers and plated dinner. The bar staff even accommodated us by mixing our favorite signature cocktails perfectly. We enjoyed the convenience of having everything in one location, and while many wedding venues that offer that lack character, we are so happy we went for this package deal. It was a truly unique experience that brought our friends and family together in a beautiful location, just blocks from the beach and downtown Cape May.

The weather was in our favor, but if it hadn't been, the indoor ceremony site would have been just as lovely. The bridal suite (room 2) was perfect to host hair and makeup for the mothers and bridesmaids and room 12 was the ultimate groomsmen quarters. Housekeeping, waitstaff, and front desk staff were all friendly and efficient. All of our friends and family were very pleased with their stays there, each one in a truly unique and comfortable room – several of whom said this is the best wedding they’ve ever attended. We cannot wait to see our wedding pictures at this gorgeous location and look forward to visiting for future anniversary trips.

Room tip: They are all so unique. Check out their website to find the one that's best for you.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lnh824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2019

The Southern Mansion is a lovely place to stay. The rooms were very comfortable and the reception staff were very helpful. Breakfast was great too. The decor is interesting and not your regular hotel. The place was really clean which is very important. The garden is glorious. All in all we can really recommend the Southern Mansion.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank waiatoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews