We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A beautiful place for a romantic weekend!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Southern Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Southern Mansion
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A beautiful place for a romantic weekend!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have wanted to bring my girlfriend (now actually fiance) to The Southern Mansion for years. It was exquisite. The room was spacious, romantic and had everything we needed for the entire weekend. The full breakfast that was included was better than I ever expected. Everything at least seemed to be made to order along with a continental bar. During the day there were light refreshments in that same area. The staff was very helpful and even was nice enough to take a picture of us out front before we left.

Being the critic I am here are the thing I wish were a tiny bit different.

I wish there would have been a mini fridge of some sort in the room. I am usually OK with an ice bucket but, the ice machine was in the basement.

We used to think that this would be where we wanted to get married but, after seeing a wedding in action, I think it would not work out. We were very active all weekend going in and out as we pleased. I honestly felt bad for the wedding because we literally walked through their party twice just to get to the front door. Also, we walked out the front door and bam! they were taking their wedding pictures (we were actually in them I think).

The price, even in November we paid a pretty penny for two nights. Please let me say, it was completely worth it. But, in the future I may be more likely inclined to try different B&Bs before spending that much again.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a romantic room, get #3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EamonKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    50
    15
    19
    4
See reviews for
18
167
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Got a great deal on our 3 day 2 night stay at this B&B through AAA. We had a WONDERFUL time. The Southern Mansion hospitality was OUTSTANDING. The service was great and the breakfast was amazing (wish it was a little bit longer). Our room (#20) was absolutly BEAUTIFUL I felt like we had stepped back in time, the furniture and outlay of the room is just breath taking. We will definitly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brnsugar45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have been coming here since it first opened since the early 90s. Our daughter grew up coming here with us and it is still a magical place. We do however miss the afternoon tea and the dinners they use to have back in the day. Breakfast is still amazing. We recently stayed this past Thursday to Friday. Stayed in room 25 with private balcony as we have many times. We have stayed in many of the other rooms throughout the years and have never had a complaint about any. The place is immaculate with cleanliness. Barb and Denise are great and very pleasant and welcoming. The double parlor is so beautiful with lots of detail in keeping with the Italianate features of the mansion. Its in walking distance to everything such as the Washington St. mall and other various sites to see. Cannot wait to get back.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RFosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeville, Delaware
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Working through our bucket list, it was time to visit Cape May. There were so many choices of places to stay. We were lucky to pick the perfect one. The Southern Mansion was a wonderful choice. Our room was beautiful, the staff was excellent & breakfast was delicious. It is very well located (unless you want time at the beach). If there are ghosts, they are very friendly. We enjoyed every moment. Forgot to mention we also had great weather & a pleasant ferry ride from Lewes to Cape May & back.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor in the new wing which was very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rulade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at the Southern Mansion this past weekend and had an AWESOME time! Everything was perfect!!! The staff was super friendly and helpful, the room was phenomenal and SPOTLESS, the gourmet breakfast was delicious and the location was within walking distance of many restaurants, shops, beach, etc....We had a wonderful time and are def looking forward to coming back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building on the third floor and it was great. The room was very spacious, had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvz2travel_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The staff were helpful and eager to share information about the historic property. I felt like I was back in time when details really mattered. The decor was amazing. Very elegant. I really enjoyed my time at the mansion. It was a nice getaway to be alone with my husband and no kids. Nice, quiet and relaxing. The breakfast was delicious. The walk into Cape May town was very close. A walk to beach and all the cute gift shops and restaurants. I would definately return.

Room Tip: Depending on your price range, there are different sizes of rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjali P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We enjoyed the long Labor Day weekend at the Southern Mansion. Our room on the third floor was spacious and comfortable. This is a very old house, so the furniture fits that period, but is comfortable. The bathroom was a little small with the sink out in the actual room, but this is also normal in older buildings like Southern Mansion. We were impressed with the cleanliness of the entire B&B. Breakfast was included and was quite delicious! We found our stay to be the relaxing respite that we desired. I would recommend this for couples who are looking for a quiet and relaxing getaway. The B&B is located a number of blocks from the beach, but it's walkable. There's also a great restaurant (Washington Inn) across the street from the Southern Mansion that is wonderful.

Room Tip: Our third floor room in the main house was very quiet. Some rooms have an outdoor entry, so be aware...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahaddaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.4 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 1,028 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#7 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#12 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 619 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#16 of 38 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 stars 1,142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Southern Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southern Mansion

Property: The Southern Mansion
Address: 720 Washington St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2331
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#11 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Southern Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Southern Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Southern Mansion Hotel Cape May
Southern Mansion Cape May
Southern Mansion Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing