We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best weekends we have ever had!”
Review of The Chalfonte

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chalfonte
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Reviewed July 16, 2014

My wife and I have been going to Cape May for the last twenty-five+ yrs and we stayed at the Chalfonte about twenty years ago. This time was better than last. The weather was perfect and the hotel looked fantastic. We love the porch and enjoyed it every night for cocktails. Our room was fantastic (had AC) but really didn't need it. This hotel attracts a different crowd. If you want amenities and new-it may not be your cup of tea, BUT if you want an exceptional experience and like a hotel with history, tradition, class, charm and character, this IS your place. The staff is attentive, attractive, well spoken and extremely friendly and helpful. We loved Jack, Peter, Kim, Megan, Dylan and all the others. There was a wedding there also and there was some mingling with the wedding party but the hotel accommodated both flawlessly. We STRONGLY recommend the Chalfonte for people in search of the Cape May experience.

Room Tip: We were on third floor, rm 72. It had two rooms, king bed and queen bed with full bath shared betwee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 203 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

The Chalfonte has been my beach house for quick getaways to the shore 3 times so far this summer. My wife and I have stayed in all levels of rooms here, from the basic 'full bed, no A/C, bath down the hall' to the 'queen with ensuite bath and air'. I like 'em all.

Be aware, this is NOT a modern hotel. It is an antique. There is much you may not like: Towels are not plush. Beds and bedding are not overly cushy. You may be leaving your door cracked for the seabreeze ventilation (there are wooden louvered outer doors to allow cross breezes). An 11 year old might zip into the bathroom ahead of you. There is one bartender who can't/won't make a cocktail (don't know what his problem is). Rooms are small.

But the good outweighs these things for me. I don't like 'lux at the beach. The staff is great, everything that needs to work works, if you don't confine yourself to your room the entire place awaits your discovery. The fried chicken is good. Wifi. Close to beach and in town. There are a couple bartenders that make a mean cocktail to close out a fun day at the beach, rocking on the veranda and meeting folks. I'll be back down there soon…maybe room #35 again, or #44 is nice…or maybe #81. I can't wait!

Room Tip: Stairs are steepish, no elevators, be aware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mytsigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We spent 1 night over the weekend. Stayed in a queen room with ensuite bathrm - sink in rm. They had a ceiling fan - said there was ac but didn't really feel it in rm. It is a basic room - a bed ,bureau, table & an armchair. Would have liked more room. It would be nice to have more towels 1 set each- no place to hang them - towels were damp the next day. The quilt and blanket needed to be washed - stains.
The hotel offered complimentary beach chairs & umbrellas @ beach. Also there were refreshments in afternoon - ice water,punch and chocolate chip cookies and a platter of cheeses & crackers out on porch.
Spoke with Dillon when making arrangements & @ checkin. Staff was a pleasure @ checkin but the woman @ checkout was brusque & harried. Asked to see another rm was told they weren't made up. Pushed to see anyways and did but wasn't asked if I wanted to make a future reserve or what I thought of room.
Next time I'll call & speak with Dillon again.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor with private bathrm further down hall - but no elevator in bldg
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

WE have a two night reservation and left before even staying one night. There was no lock on our room, there was a nearby door leading out to the street that had no lock. There was no air conditioning and the room was infected with sugar ants. The parking was impossible, the staff did nothing to alleviate our discomfort. We were not offered or given any kind of refund or compensation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sapphire522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

You can't go wrong!! If you absolutely need TV or Wifi then perhaps look elsewhere (we had neither here) but if you actually go for vacation then this hotel is a beautiful gem right in the heart of Cape May. The Chalfonte is only a few minutes walk from the beach, the bus station and the town mall! You could not ask for a better location! This place is close enough to everything you want to see and visit without compromising the peace! The room was on the small side but it was neat and tidy. We stayed in a room that had a shared bathroom in the hall and it worked out very well. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was kept very clean and well ventilated and the shower worked great. The Front desk was so helpful and friendly and the accommodations as a whole were just lovely and really comfortable. There is no TV/Wifi/Pool at this hotel and honestly, we did not need it. It was refreshing to come back to the hotel, have a drink from the bar on the wrap around porch and then go to sleep without that interference. The hotel atmosphere was active and lively thanks to a number of beautiful weddings being hosted by this historic property, in addition to a bar crawl and a jazz festival, but the celebratory mood enhanced our experience. It is possible that on an average weekend or evening it is usually quieter but it was enjoyable all the same. I definitely recommend staying in this budget friendly, beautiful, special place and should I return this is the place I hope to be!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShanaRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for an event over the weekind. It is located very close to the beach but just far enough away that the summer crowds won't bother you. The hotel is old so the rooms are a lot smaller than modern hotels but that is part of the charm. I would definitely go back. The one drawback I would say is it looked like there was no ac which could be a problem in the summer heat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The Chalfonte hosted my daughter's wedding reception this past weekend, and I cannot imagine a more perfect or beautiful place for a wedding. Terry Carr, the wedding coordinator at the Chalfonte, was wonderful during every step of the planning process, and she made sure that every detail was perfect. The food was outstanding! Her service staff is exceptional. Terry Carr and the Chalfonte understand true hospitality and are entirely gracious and welcoming in every way. Thank you, Terry and staff at the Chalfonte, for giving my daughter a beautiful wedding reception and memories that we will treasure in our hearts forever.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harlowas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.2 mi away
The Southern Mansion
The Southern Mansion
#17 of 37 in Cape May
272 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alcott
Hotel Alcott
#22 of 37 in Cape May
230 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Macomber
Hotel Macomber
#29 of 37 in Cape May
235 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,339 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chalfonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalfonte

Address: 301 Howard St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2430
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cape May
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: $75 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Chalfonte 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1876, The Historic Chalfonte Hotel is recognized as the oldest continuously operating hotel in Cape May, America's Original Seaside Resort. Situated just two blocks from the beach, The Chalfonte offers a unique seashore experience defined by warm, Southern-style hospitality and simplistic traditions. We cater to every budget with spacious suites, guest rooms with premium and European style baths, and traditional rooms with shared baths down the hall. Guest rooms feature crisp linens and cool seaside colors, and are free of televisions, telephones, and clock radios. Our nationally acclaimed Magnolia Room restaurant serves Southern-style fare with lovingly prepared family recipes and our King Edward Bar is famous for its classic cocktails and casual ambiance. Our guests continuously return from around the world to enjoy this very special destination. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Chalfonte Hotel Cape May
Chalfonte Cape May
Chalfonte Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing